Deposit Issues and Complaints (10 reviews)

Deposits for natural gas in Georgia can be a hassle and usually range from $100 to $500. Some companies handle them well with lower deposit amounts or lower credit thresholds while others turn you upside down and shake the lunch money out of your pocket. If deposits are causing you issues, you can read deposit related reviews from other customers before you sign up for an energy company.



The Dynamic Duo!

(5 / 5)

  I decided to switch from GA Natural Gas so I called and spoke with a nice gentleman by the name of Elias. Elias was so patient and kind and explained all of the different programs I was eligible for and how they worked. He even told me he would call me back to ensure I locked in my new rate. I called back and got Alan. Alan told me I didn't need a deposit now because the requirements had changed since speaking with Elias. He was also patient, knowledgeable (just like Elias), and kind. I am feeling very happy that I made the switch. I feel like I am in good hands.

Waller Family from Atlanta
January 12th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scana Service Report

(5 / 5)

  I have had Scana for 4 years. Overall their service is of normal quality. My bill is always right. I have no complaints on average, however, the one time I missed a payment they cut me off and forced me to pay the bill in full and do another deposit. Other than that one experience I usually never talk to them or have any issues from them.

D. K. from Atlanta
February 22nd, 2017



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.8 / 5)

  I have had Gassouth for 2 years and it's been great. The rates are affordable. There is no deposit at sign up. The Best part is the yearly perks. Disney on Ice was great!!

Lauren from Acworth
December 28th, 2016



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My over outcome

(4.2 / 5)

  I love the fact that I didn't have a deposit and everything was.so easy to set up service. But 3days later I received a email saying that I have a $150 deposit and I really wasn't happy with the email because before the text I was under the impression that I didn't have a deposit and I felt like that was very mislea on Scana energy behalf.

Aquasha Green from Stone Mountain
October 19th, 2019

Aquasha-A credit score is performed to determine deposit requirement. You submitted your order with Georgia Gas Savings who would have advised that SCANA Energy would perform the credit score, if you submitted online, you would have had to accept the Terms and Conditions that include a credit check. If we can review your account further, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday- Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds November 19th, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GNG during COVID19

(3.2 / 5)

  Why is Georgia Natural Gas disconnecting people at this time and charging additional deposits to reconnect gas for those who can barely pay the bill. This is not helping hard working citizens who are trying their best to stay afloat during a Global crisis that is not their fault. Im am shocked and appalled as well very disappointed with GNG to find this out when it recently happen to me. I am left in a bad financial position now but will be able to find a way to adjust and recover. But for those who simply do not have the money to pay the bill in the first place due to COVID circumstances and will also be required to pay a hefty deposit fee ($150.00) + $60 reconnection fee along with the full past due and current charge well that is really unreasonable and contributes to the problems that have been exposed in 2020 in regards to the United States of America and the treatment of it's American citizens.

Disappointed from Atlanta
December 10th, 2020

Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 5956666 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.

Responds December 10th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Discontinued Services

(3 / 5)

  I did not have a problem with my gas when I had an account. The apartment I was living in had a fire so I had to cancel my service. I was suppose to get my deposit back but for about 2 months they have been telling lie after lie about my deposit the Reps wont let me speak to a supervisor. It's not a lot of money but like they want the monies for their services I want my deposit back. I Rep told me 3 weeks when the 3 weeks came i called back now they tell me it was applied to my account what account? Another told me they sent it to the bank.what bank.i never gave them any bank info. Why is it so hard to get my monies or even get the truth from this company. Hopefully someone will get in touch with me about this matter

Tonettej from Stone Mountain
January 22nd, 2019



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should be called Scam ya and not Scana

(1.8 / 5)

  While this company will soon be called Dominion Energy, it is the biggest scam. This company disconnected my services in below freezing weather in February without being 30 days behind. The bill was for $90. Yes; it was an oversight on my part and I admit. However, I remitted the $90 payment immediately, but I was told that I not only had to pay the $90, but the new bill of $90 had to be paid, plus $75 reconnect fee and because I was NOT initially equired to pay a deposit based on credit, I now had to pay $150 deposit BEFORE I could get my services restored. So, for $90, I am required to pay $405 in freezing temperatures and the earliest that my services can/could be turned on is in 3 BUSINESS days. NO company should turn off services in the dead of winter. This is inhumane and poor customer service. IF you are seeking a gas company...LOOK somewhere else. I certainly have.

Scam ya not Scana from Norcross
March 5th, 2019

We are sorry to hear you had this experience. Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service. The charge for the use of their system appears on your bill as AGL Pass Through Charges and are responsible for processing service requests for all of the marketers. There are rules in place that prevent them from disconnecting service during cooler temperatures. The marketers also use their scheduling system to submit requests and are provided the first available appointment for each service area. We would be glad to review further if you want to call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262 or email direct at SCANAEnergyContactUs@scana.com.

Responds March 18th, 2019


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Constellation, FAILURE

(1.6 / 5)

  Due to the CORONA fiasco I was unable to lift the credit freeze on my credit (no fault of my own). Their solution was to charge me a deposit to continue the order process. When I protested, they pulled the plug on our conversation, Rep. told me to have a good day. I am credit worthy, however, they don't know that (again not my fault). My advice to anyone looking for a gas provider, look elsewhere, it may cost a little more, but, it will be cheaper in the long run.

Constellation FAILURE from Ellijay
March 26th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing is horrible

(1.4 / 5)

  We had automatic payment set up, every single month we had issues with them taking our payment. So we would have to go in on-line and submit our payment manually. Finally had it with them when they cut our gas for non payment, called them to after paying to reset my gas. They said it was my card that rejected payment, when infact it was directly from our bank account, they had no clue what they where talking about. And they still wanted to charger $75 plus a $150 deposit. Money was not the problem, it was their fault but some how it was our fault. After I told them I would change providers they didnt care. I would never go back with them.

Efren from Gainesville
September 1st, 2020

We are sorry you feel this way. Automatic credit card payments are processed through BillMatrix and appears the card was being declined and an email was sent by BillMatrix direct to you to advise. SCANA Energy continued to send your monthly statements, as well as payment and disconnect reminders. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds September 1st, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disconnected

(1 / 5)

  My service was disconnected for being two days late I forgot to pay lpaid my bill in full and then they said I had to pay a 150.00 dollar deposit and a70.00 reconnection fee .what a rip-off I talked to the service rep and he acted like he did not care I have been with this company for about 15 years but I am going to find another gas provider.Do not do business with this company or they will rip you off

Eugene Blackman from Atlanta
October 14th, 2018

Eugene-We are sorry to hear your service was disconnected and do see notices and an email reminder was sent prior to disconnection. We do appreciate you being a customer and if you'd like us to review further, please contact us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds October 29th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions