Reviews for Gas South

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Gas South are their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.6 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.6 stars.

Gas South logo
Georgia Gas Savings's Silver Tier providers are tremendous Georgia gas companies. They all combine great customer service, lots of different plan offerings, and great communication from their companies to their customers and communities. If you select a plan from one of these providers you can be confident that you're selecting a great company with a good track record.


Recent Good Review from Mark

Gas
Very easy to deal with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Brunswick, GA on February 22nd, 2024
Mark, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us!
— Gas South


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Gas
Very easy to deal with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Brunswick, GA on February 22nd, 2024
Mark, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us!
— Gas South
Excellent Service
Had to transfer service from old place to new place. Damairas was outstanding in his customer service. I have been with Gas South for years and I am very pleased about being a customer with this company. I did a follow up call as well to confirm on the day of and Thomas was great as well. Everything went as discussed. Great customer service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thomas from Marietta, GA on January 8th, 2024
Thomas, thank you for the great review! We are happy to be your natural gas provider and serve you as a customer!
— Gas South
Quick and easy
Setting up service was quick and easy. No long waiting time on phone.
The customer service is professional and courteous, unlike customer no service from other companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Augustus Philip from Roswell, GA on December 16th, 2023
Hi Augustus! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review about our Customer Care team. We are happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience, and we are grateful that you have chosen Gas South to be your natural gas provider.
— Gas South
Home owner
I have had service with Gas South for a month and I am very content
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ClaudiaMartinez from Dallas, GA on December 14th, 2023
Hello Claudia, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are grateful to be your natural gas provider.
— Gas South
Phenomenal Customer Care AGENT ( Ms. TES) Acworth, Ga.
I recently received notification to renew my one price service plan. Customer care agent Ms. TES went over the plan in an honest, respectful, and courteous manner. Her customer service was simply (5) FIVE star and above.
I am so satisfied that I will share my experience with all Family members, Co-workers, and Associates that GAS SOUTH is simply the BEST. This one price plan is truly a blessing, cost effective, and extremely efficient.
Ms. TES is truly a phenomenal human being, and an exceptional customer care professional.
(Thumbs UP) to GAS SOUTH & Customer Care Agent Ms. TES
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Watson from Locust Grove, GA on July 12th, 2023
Hi John! Thank you for leaving a review and mentioning Tess from our Customer Care team. Well be sure to share your praises with
them! We are happy to be your natural gas provider and serve you as a customer!

— Gas South
Seamless Experience
Signed up with their flat rate option and was immediately prompted to make an online account. Enrolled in autopay and have had no issues since.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Atlanta, GA on June 8th, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for trusting Gas South as your natural gas provider.
— Gas South
Chick-fil-A level customer service
Enrolling in service was easy, bills are straight forward and renewing is always easy. All of that is great, but their customer care team is superb. I called in about getting a new gas line for my grill and they let me know kindly that they do not do that but provided a great referral quickly in my area. Thanks Gas South!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Grace from Marietta, GA on April 27th, 2023
Hello Grace, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are grateful to be your natural gas provider.
— Gas South
MURIEL helped with my login
I had issues with my login and Muriel was just too awesome to help me out !!10 To her !! Gas south needs more representative like MURIEL!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Muriel Is The Best Representative from Norcross, GA on October 28th, 2022
Hi! Thank you for leaving a review and mentioning Muriel from our Customer Care team. Well be sure to share your praises with them!
— Gas South
Thank you Tanisha West!!!
I am so grateful for Tanisha West. I had a doctor's appointment today, and it took a lot longer than I expected. I was expecting gas south to come between 4-8. I got home around 715pm. Tanisha was still in the parking lot when I arrived because she was also scheduled at another apartment in the area. She had already been to my apartment and I had missed my appointment with gas south. Tanisha West was very understanding, and she told me to give her a few mins and she will call to see if she could still connect my service, and she was successful. She came in and turned on my gas. I was Super Excited because I was praying that everything would work out, and Tanishas patience and understanding was a blessing for me. She was very professional and I appreciate her. Thank you again Tanisha, I wish you much success
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Monica from Stone Mountain, GA on October 30th, 2019
Ms claire
I called in concerned about how high my bill was and ms claire was so amazing and calm and kind about helping me understand why and was extremely thorough when she offered explanations about my acct she was also very helpful with choosing a new rate plan to save as well by far the best customer servi e experience i have had allover stay blessed.ms claire and thank you so much for everything you made my day
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jamie Weber Paz from Savannah, GA on October 8th, 2019
Easy, Friendly, Fair
Moved to Georgia in May. Set up account over the phone in about 15-20 minutes. The first bill on pay-as-you-go plan comes within a week with a disconnect notice, but it helps you understand what this particular plan entails. You have plenty of time before the bill is due. I've had to make multiple payment arrangements after a rough patch in my finances, but the policies are fair and designed to help the customer as long as you honor the arrangements. Several other gas providers sent me offers, but when I inquired, they couldn't match or beat Gas South's rates - even when they raised a bit after my first 6 months. So glad I chose them first!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs. Jones from Decatur, GA on February 11th, 2017
Ive had no issues with Gas South
Unlike other companies, Gas South is very different and amazing to say the least. I love there customer service. It says everything about the company and I'm so glad I chose them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ebuka from Powder Springs, GA on February 3rd, 2017
Prices seem to be heading South.
My husband and I have had nothing but good things to say about Gas South since we got hooked up. Our previous services were lower rate and at times we felt unsafe even from the meter they installed on our house. Gas South was able to take those worries away with one phone call and they did a marvelous job not stepping in my garden even when they had to go out of their way to avoid it. Thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Edna Bottles from Atlanta on October 27th, 2016



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Gas South Sign Up
Sign up was quick and easy. Service has been good so far
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josh from Grovetown, GA on December 14th, 2023
Josh, thank you for the great review! We are happy to be your natural gas provider and serve you as a customer!
— Gas South
Great Customer Service
Im grateful that I had An Associate named Millicent on Gas South line that #1 was very professional
2 kind and patient
3 lastly, thorough
She answered all my questions even though I repeated myself.
I had 3 service references that she assisted me with. Thanks Ms. Millicent. I really Appreciated someone with great qualities assisting me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs.S. Holden from Macon, GA on January 15th, 2021
Different price than quoted
I renewed my budget billing monthly rate and have receipts/proof for a different lower amount than gas south is charging me and the will not honor what they initially told me (with proof) as of today 12/31/2020 and have they have no walk-in location open for me to show them proof and I had to fax and email them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This Is Not Fair/right from Decatur, GA on December 31st, 2020
Excellent
I called in today to push my bill date back by one day. Tamika was so extremely helpful and has exceptional customer service skills. She let me know options on getting a contract because I wasnt aware my contract expired . She was professional, courteous and even gave me words of encouragement.
I was very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B. Tolliver from Acworth, GA on October 21st, 2020
Easy Breezy
I signed up on line and it was as easy as 1,2,3!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Abdul from Snellville, GA on September 2nd, 2020
Good Service
I've always had a good experience with Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jenny from Atlanta, GA on March 29th, 2017
Gas South Review
My husband and I have been using Gas South for the last 5 years. We really never had any issues. Our plan expires this month and I did check other companies. However Gas South's prices seem to be competitive. We will continue with their fixed rate plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A. Richards from Dallas on December 28th, 2016
Satisfied Customer
I have had Gassouth for 2 years and it's been great. The rates are affordable. There is no deposit at sign up. The Best part is the yearly perks. Disney on Ice was great!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lauren from Acworth on December 28th, 2016
Good Service
This service really is great for a gas company. Although there are still unnecessary fees for late payments, customer service is always great and gas isn't terribly expensive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Katie from Kennesaw on December 15th, 2016
The Great Gas South!
My family and I have been living in our home for about 3 years, we just recently switched to gas south the beginning of this year and lets just say ill be bringing in the New Year with Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shan Sturgis from Conyers on December 14th, 2016
Decent
In my experience they were decent all the way around. There was nothing bad about them, but there was also no spark that set them apart from other companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teah from Atlanta on December 13th, 2016
Gas South review
I've been with them for years and I've never had a problem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MMitchell from Macon on November 16th, 2016
Easy set-up and fair price
We've only been with Gas South for a short time but are so very pleased with the experience so far. They're rates our great, customer service is fantastic, and signing up was quick and easy. Already we've save a LOT of money by switching over. So glad we did.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah Chapman from Auburn on October 31st, 2016
Gas South is A Pretty Decent Option
I don't believe gas south has any options for a payment plan for months that are hard but other than that the setup was pretty easy, the folks on the phone were very nice. The price is very decent. There are a ton of fees but I guess that is what comes with bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maya from Atlanta on October 3rd, 2016
Not a bad service
We ordered them when we moved into our home and they delivered our service very timely. We receive paperless billing which is quite a convenience for us. We also have the fixed rate service which we enjoy having because it allows us to budget well. The price is not high and we haven't had a problem yet.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jamyethan3 from Atlanta on September 19th, 2016



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Charged late fee on auto draft-will affect credit rating
We are on auto draft for payment purposes and get a paper copy for each month.so this month the enrollment incentive of 5.00 cr. dropped off. Then they charged a 10.00 LATE FEE. i expected bill to go up 5 not 15 dollars. will be calling on monday morning. customer svc fee is 9.95, agl pass through is 24.77 and we used 2.03 therms of gas at a cost of 0.96cents. i do hear reports that agl is asking for a rate increase, disgusted that they continue to get increases ,what with them charging each customer exorbitant pass through charges
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dnisperly from Hiram, GA on October 26th, 2019
Just Right for My Home
The price rates are affordable for my budget. Unfortunately, the customer service is not that great. Long hold times on phone and very rude representatives.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kieshah E. from Lithonia on January 5th, 2017
Good for Budget Conscious Consumers
Setting up my initial service was easy and the technician arrived on time. After receiving a few unusually high bills I decided to sign up for budget billing. The budget plan keeps my gas bill from fluctuating so I never have any unpleasant surprises when the bill is due. My only complaint is with customer service since not all of the representatives seem knowledgeable. When the gas connection to my stove broke and I needed to have the line checked it took me a while to convince the representative to send a technician from the gas company after they insisted I call an appliance repair person.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hornets Family from Hampton on December 13th, 2016
Just Average
Gas South is just average, which can be a good or bad thing depending on how you look at it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jjones4 from Atlanta on October 15th, 2016
Good Service
Just had the gas turned on. They told me when they was coming they also sent a email. The day they shows up to turn on the gas. The worker turn on the gas check the hot water heater and lit the water heater in a timely manner.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gofresh from Atlanta on September 17th, 2016
Gas South is Pretty Good
I ordered Gas South and had them for a year. Overall, the experience was OK, I guess. It was about the same as other Gas Providers I've had. They had a real good rate when I first signed up, but they weren't the cheapest guy on the market when I needed a new contract so I went elsewhere. I will say I had to call a couple times and I felt like I waited on the phone FOREVER.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David F. from Macon on August 25th, 2016



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Late Fee Late Fee Late fee
I pay my bills timely and am never late for any of them but with Gas South they have a great money making invention.. Just send the bill with a narrow margin of time to make the payment so we can assess a late fee and get $10 more for each bill.. The past 3 months I have paid within the first week of the month and on 2 of the three I have been assessed a late fee. I paid on the 3rd of Jan and got a fee. I paid on the 6th of Feb and got a fee. I have been receiving the bills the last week of the month and paying 4 or 5 days later and they are late. I pay online this is not going through postal mail. I have dropped Gas South like a hot potato and their should be an investigation by the PSC in Georgia for criminal behavior. Basically you can't pay your bill in time to avoid a late fee unless you pay it the day it hits your mailbox. CROOKS!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dean from Stockbridge, GA on February 22nd, 2024
Hello Dean, we apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Please contact us at customerfeedback@gassouth.com and we will work with you to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. Thank you for your feedback.
— Gas South
Horrible practices
We have been with Gas South for 4 years. Last year we tried the budget plan but it was never the same amount, nor would it be billed on the same dates. I put all my bills on the calendar to pay each month on their due dates and this company bills different every month. I got constant late notices after even a day, then our rated more than doubled without being notified and then comes the disconnect notices.
Everyone seems to complain about everything these days but I never do. In this case I have to complain. I may even look into the Georgie Public Service Commission to file a complaint.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony from Fairburn, GA on January 31st, 2024
Hello Tony, we apologize for any frustration this may have caused you. This is not something you should come to expect from our team as we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer care. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your trust back. In order to provide you with the best experience and resolve any issues, we will need to take a look at your account history. To do that, we ask that you please email us at CustomerFeedback@gassouth.com or call 866-762-6427 at your earliest convenience, so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Heartless
I apparently missed a bill and trying to call and figure out why we had no heat in our house, I wanted an explanation of the bill. I didn't know where this was coming from. As I waited for 30 minutes on the phone for the accountant to tell me that she couldn't tell me anything about the bill because it was in my husbands name. Well I was deployed and i have a child in my home so I am trying to understand why i do not have heat. I provided social and account number She simply said she can't help me. But when I asked if she would take my money to pay the bill she said yes. Interesting.... Whats crazy is that I've always paid the bill and now to provide heat for my family and I she won't help. There has to be another company better than this. I've never seen such a heartless person.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Previously Deployed Veteran from Marietta, GA on March 15th, 2022
Bad customer service
November 20, 2021



I truly hope that all is well and I prefer to contact a company in praise of their excellent customer service than with this insulting situation. I was transferred to your company from Infinite Energy and I feel very betrayed by Gas South due to the fact that I have put my trust in your company and that I have been paying my bill on time. My bill was due on November 9, 2021 and I pay it by phone on November 2, 2021. After paying my bill with Gas South I got another text saying that they did not received the payment and I pay again on November 13, 2021 and I have confirmation numbers for both payments.


I contacted my Bank and no payment was posted by Gas South to them even though I had money in the bank account and I have my bank statement to prove it. I also made other payments by phone that same day and they were posted to my account. I realized that Gas South is playing games with me to charge late fees that are fabricated.

I am please requesting to address this situation with your company to resolve this in an amicable fashion.


Respectfully,



Niki E. Nightingale
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Niki Nightingale from Stone Mountain, GA on December 1st, 2021
Charged
Both I and a friend moved out of our separate houses at the same time, we both cancelled our service, and were both billed for an extra month anyways. Once is a mistake, twice is a pattern. They are grifters.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Justin P. from Tucker, GA on October 7th, 2021
Billing Problem
I was on auto billing and it was suddenly stopped. I didn't realize a problem for a while and Gas South person on phone didn't know but said it was probably because they quit using my type of CC (Discover). I gave them another (MasterCard) and thought problem fixed. It wasn't. They then said that my bank would not take it for a monthly deduction. (There was no problem with my charging shopping items on it.) Then they wanted my checking acct. info and I told them I wasn't about to give them my checking info with the way this was being handled so far. Then they made me call each month to pay and included a cc fee on top of the gas charges. In the end, I wound up paying each month on the same cc I initially had listed for auto pay (Discover). A friend told me they probably changed computer systems and it kicked out my auto pay which started the whole problem but I feel they handled the remainder of the problem terribly. I vowed I would never use them again and would express my problems on social media. P.S. Discover card gives us a credit rating of 789!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Margaret Tritt from Gainesville, GA on February 8th, 2021
No help during covid-19 virus
I have a past due bill with gas South. I called to try and make arrangements to pay on the bill month. I was told that if I don't have the bill paid off by the end of July it will still be turned over to collections. I thought people were trying to help others out during the covid-19 situation. I will never use gas South nor will I ever recommend it to anyone ever again. They tell me I have to pay 272 each month or it will be turned over to collections I've been working hard to build my credit up and keep it there now because of this is going to be destroyed thanks for nothing Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Carruth from Dallas, GA on May 14th, 2020
No help during covid-19 virus
I have a past due bill with gas South. I called to try and make arrangements to pay on the bill month. I was told that if I don't have the bill paid off by the end of July it will still be turned over to collections. I thought people were trying to help others out during the covid-19 situation. I will never use gas South nor will I ever recommend it to anyone ever again. They tell me I have to pay 272 each month or it will be turned over to collections I've been working hard to build my credit up and keep it there now because of this is going to be destroyed thanks for nothing Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Carruth from Dallas, GA on May 14th, 2020
Gas South Billing is Unreliable
Gas South cannot be trusted to send out electronic bills timely. Last month, they sent the bill at 3:39 AM the day before it was due and then proceeded to screw up the online payment I made. My wife paid that as well as the February bill and zeroed out the account. Low and behold, on the bill recieved January 27 by e-mail, they showed there was an even higher bill sent 4 days before it was due to be paid with an inaccurate balance due. It did not show credit for the prior amounts paid and tried to charge me late fees.
I complained to Gas South directly, but they did nothing right. I'm going to see about switching to another gas service since it is obvious I can no longer trust gas souths billing process anymore. I've had the service for over a year, never had a billing problem until December 2019.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cnb from Dallas, GA on January 31st, 2020
Disappointing
I've been a gas south customer almost 4 years now. Last month gas south took it upon themselves to charge my card TWICE within a week. Didn't even bother to tell me, I had to find out when I checked my account balance. There was a lot of back and forth between me, my bank & gas south before I got my money back. I was upset to get a bill bc not only did they screw up, but have never even bothered to say they are sorry! Customer service is a JOKE all they want to do is try to switch me to a different rate plan everytime I call smh. Taking my business elsewhere!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Heather C from Atlanta, GA on April 5th, 2019
Dont do the pay as you go if you dont have to
My first customer rep made me feel like I was crazy for saying that the bill didnt add up. Once I spoke with the second rep the following month after because it was time to pay again and the price was over what I expected she told me that the first rep didnt explain the bill correctly nor did she charge me the right amount on my first bill which led to a past amount being due in the next months amount. Ive been in the brand new constructed home for less than a month now and have already had to pay $300. Also, please make sure you understand the payment arrangement program. Because you will not get off the pay as you go program if you have to make those arrangements and that should be our number one goal in order to take control of what we spend. I wasnt expecting to use the payment plan but because we wasnt bill correctly I had to in order to make sure my other bills were on time. My husband and I have been paying bills way before we got this home and say that this is the worst way to bill someone. I like to pay for what I use and not what they think Ill use based on others in my area and credited back an appropriate amount to our cards instead of the next months bill. I truly believe its a rip off.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon from Dallas, GA on March 1st, 2019
Historic payment ????
Ive only had gas south for about 5 months but instead of paying my actual bill on the pay as you go i am paying a "Predicticted historical payment" which means all of the prior tenants if their bills were outrageous then since my bill is based on the history my bill is outrageous. Even though i dont even use my heat hardly.!! Any suggestions
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian Gainesville Ga from Gainesville, GA on January 5th, 2019
Poor business model
I scheduled an appointment to have my services set up. I was prompted to pick the time-slot during which I was available (morning or afternoon). After scheduling the appointment for the morning I was told that they don't have time slots and that a technician would come by between 8am and 4pm. This required me to take a full day off work in order to meet them.
On the day of the appointment when I called to see if they could narrow down the time window, I was told they have no way of narrowing it down. I then asked if the technician could call on the way to my address and was told that they could only call when they had already arrived. This is a poor business model for a company that wants to start and maintain customer relationships.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie B. from Athens, GA on October 29th, 2018
High price for okay service
Never on time to fix anything if something goes wrong, once the problem is fixed the service is fine, but nothing special for the price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy Mack from Carrollton on December 24th, 2016
Nothing Special
I have used Gas South for a long time. While there is nothing particularly bad about them, they could use some better customer service. I have called a few times and received the run around with no specific answer ever given. After a while I just give up and move on. Service itself is adequate though.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A. Person from Suwanee on October 9th, 2016



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

49 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bad Costumer service.
Please do not use this company for Gas. The bills are going from $75 to $499, no explanation. The worst part. They don't reply to emails and put you on hold for a long time to speak to a manager, but that person can't decide to fix the accounts. This place is frustrating, and they take your money without any explanation. PLEASE GO WITH ANOTHER COMPANY. The reviews are accurate at Yelp on this website, they only show the positive. Gas South has Bad customer service, takes your money, and no one communicates. They disconnected my account, but I had a renewal sign. I am getting charged, and no service, email, or call, and no one answers to give me my money back. This is crazy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yaya from Marietta, GA on April 5th, 2024
Hello, we apologize for any frustration this may have caused you. This is not something you should come to expect from our team as we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer care. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your trust back. In order to provide you with the best experience and resolve any issues, we will need to take a look at your account history. To do that, we ask that you please email us at CustomerFeedback@gassouth.com or call 866-762-6427 at your earliest convenience, so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Do not use them
Gas was turned off for 63.00 and I never experienced this with constellation gas.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawanda from Union City, GA on September 25th, 2023
Hello Shawanda, we apologize for any frustration this may have caused you. This is not something you should come to expect from our team as we pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer care. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn your trust back. In order to provide you with the best experience and resolve any issues, we will need to take a look at your account history. To do that, we ask that you please email us at CustomerFeedback@gassouth.com or call 866-762-6427 at your earliest convenience, so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Gas South - still incompetent
I was placed with Gas South 20 years ago when the state of GA decided to destroy the cost efficient billing and force everyone to pay exorbitant prices with zero added benefit. We managed to get away from them then. I had expected they would have improved, after all, they are simply a billing company, but no. If it can be messed up, Gas South can do it. I had them for January and returned to my old provider. The only thing I have received from Gas South was a notice that there was an error in approving me. No bills, no email my credit score is 850 with Experian, 830 with TransUnion and 832 with Equifax. I am happy to be away from Gas South for a second time. Even though I only had them for 9 days before I decided to leave, there was zero communication from them, the rep. gave me incorrect information and when I called in to ask a question, the 2nd rep. was not pleasant and did not attempt to be friendly. It was during the course of this conversation I decided to end my association with Gas South for the 2nd and final time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gas South - No Improvement from Dawsonville, GA on April 27th, 2023
Hello, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer care and would love the opportunity
to earn your trust back, if you wish. At your earliest convenience, please give us a call at 866-762-6427, so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Used car dealers of natural gas
Switched plans with them, ended up with a $150 credit from left over balance from previous plan. Next billing cycle ended up with a $275 bill. Had monthly gas charges and tax added together. Also had $175 on a single line in bill labelled "bill adjustment". Spoke with customer service and was told it was owed for previous months service. Questioned how I have and credit on account balance month before and now it's turned to amount I owe now. Spoke to several rude supervisors, none cared, all explanations were different each one I spoke too. Smoke and mirrors and scam artists.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephen from Augusta, GA on February 21st, 2023
Hello Stephen, we apologize for any frustration this may have caused you. This is not
something you should come to expect from our team as we pride ourselves on
delivering outstanding customer care. We would appreciate the opportunity to earn
your trust back. In order to provide you with the best experience and resolve any issues,
we will need to take a look at your account history. To do that, we ask that you please
email us at CustomerFeedback@gassouth.com or call 866-762-6427 at your earliest
convenience, so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Horrible Price
I'm not home all day Im at work I want to know who is reading my meter and when. I went from having a 150.00 bill to 300.00 to 500.00 There is no way this is correct. Im not home enough too use this amount of gas.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chance from Conyers, GA on February 7th, 2023
Hello Chance, we apologize to hear you had a frustrating experience. We pride
ourselves on delivering outstanding customer care and would appreciate the
opportunity to review your account with you. We ask that you please email us at
CustomerFeedback@gassouth.com or call 866-762-6427 at your earliest convenience,
so that we may assist you further.
— Gas South
Billing system error
Gas south had a system error where the payment process never reached my bank and gs charged me twice for declined payments and late fees. My bank verified no such charges came thru. Yet gs charged me $70 of bogus fees. They are thieves and liars!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from Smyrna, GA on November 15th, 2022

Hello, We apologize for any inconvenience, and we would appreciate the opportunity to review your account to determine what caused your payment issue. We want to help you. Please call us at 866-762-6427 as soon as you are available.
— Gas South
Billing system error
I was charged for returned check for an online payment that my bank has no record of. My bank indicated a system error on Gas south end. Gas south will not remove $30 fee. They have a monopoly going.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from Smyrna, GA on October 26th, 2022

Hello, We apologize for any inconvenience. We would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and review your account to determine how we can help. Please call us at 866-762-6427 as soon as you are available.
— Gas South
Don't switch
We have AGL pipes. We have NOT moved for 10 years. Switched "service" from Xoom to Gas South. They charged a $60 connection fee on the first bill. Very scary. Sleepless night. Still don't know how this will end because service is in wife's name, she is at work, and they won't talk to me. Don't buy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tom from Cumming, GA on September 16th, 2022
Hello Tom, thank you for sharing your concerns. The $60 fee is a one-time fee to establish the account. We would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and review your account to determine how we may assist. Please call us at 866-762-6427 as soon as you are available.
— Gas South
What the heck
Subject: bill
I will pay this bill. But for the record there was a group that handled alot of my type account. I dealt with this man for a number of years. He would call in Sept and we would schedule a turn on and turn off. Which we did. Then I find that things have changed and that whole department was closed sometime this last February. I get a hold of someone in your commercial dept that says that dept never existed because I have been here 10 years or whatever time frame. No gas was used after late April. This woman would only get indigent with me.and said that they never existed. Bill me as you like - the service has been good until now. I will be using someone else as the time draws near. Customer service now is atrocious!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tom from Scottdale, GA on August 2nd, 2022
What a joke!
When hunting NEW customers they will call you 3 times a day. When you go to sign, they change the price. In fact....they wont honor their quote for ONE entire day!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stayed With Tiger from 32724 on March 29th, 2022
I was punished for going with another gas company
I changed from Gas South to GA natural gas. My bill almost tripled when Gas South realized I was leaving them because their rates were so high. They back charged me from Nov to Feb when I made the change. Called them to discuss and their rates were still much higher than GA gas. Told them I felt like I was be punished for the swap. Now I have an extra $600 bill I will pay over time. I own a lot of properties in the area and am changing EVERY account out of Gas South because of their penalizing me for finding a lower rate elsewhere. GOOD BYE GAS SOUTH!!! Im sure this will never be posted in your reviews for the world to see. I do have a voice though in the local biz world am I will share my experience locally.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Edward Shinstine from Fairburn, GA on March 28th, 2022
Do not choose gas south
Update 1/9: Was told repeatedly could not over me lower than $0.63 per therm for my contract expiring the 31st. After making me feel like I had no other options and renewing, now they're advertising $0.59 and $0.63 rates. STAY AWAY from this company.

Update 12/23: Have had over 10 emails with them. They will not price match other companies low rates, and they have higher service fees than other companies in area. Plus, my last email I asked a question and got a response saying they had renewed my plan!?

UPDATE: Emailed the email they said below on 23rd, no response..

We loved Infinite Energy and now it has clearly been bought out by money hungry individuals. Not looking forward to finding a new gas company when our current rate from Infinite Energy runs out in December. The prices from Gas South are outrageous. Shame on you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reviewer 2 from Marietta, GA on January 9th, 2022
It went south after Infinite
My service was turned off by someone who had a contract on my house but it fell through. So, I had to foot the bill for reconnection fees. No verification whatsoever needed for this individual to turn off service at a property they do not own or rent. Gas South needs to provide better protection for their customers. But, charging me new reconnections fees sure is nice for them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Macon from Macon, GA on November 10th, 2021
Charged for Months I didnt use
I moved out months ago and forgot to transfer service so got hit with a massive bill. Zero attempts to rectify this when I inquired about it. Most companies try to help their customer when theyve made a mistake
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Athens, GA on September 23rd, 2021
Form of Payment
AFTER working for four (4) Ga. Companies in 30 years, I'm embarrassed that this group will take American Express over the phone but NOT as the main form of payment via Bill Pay. This is a joke plus NEVER did I know that they BOUGHT out another Gas Company too. kk
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin Kennedy from Augusta, GA on September 11th, 2021
Horrible Servive
I have been a customer for 10 months and have never missed a payment. I am enrolled in auto-pay so I generally dismiss the billing statements. Without notice, the company cancelled my auto-pay due to a merger they had done. I received no notice of re-enrolling in auto-pay. While I was on vacation, I received an e-mail that my gas was going to be shut off and did not see it until 2 days later, when I returned and there was a notice on my door that my gas had been shut off. Obviously I was very frustrated with this, so I called the company. They made claims that I was notified via phone, however I have never received a call or a voicemail from them. Prior to that day, there was only 1 e-mail and no snail mail sent my way. My service is shut off for 2 days and I was charged an additional $60 to turn the service back on. I told them I am going to use another company and they threatened me with a cancellation fee or $150. When my contract is up I will be switching to another provider guaranteed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Marietta, GA on September 8th, 2021
Greedy
I have worked with the infinite energy, and I was satisfied with them. But when it comes to renewal, my agent changed to different company because I have better rate. However, gas south cancelled transferring, and they charged me three times more than I used to pay. My agent asked for credit because it is gas south was involved, but they rejected it. I will pay for what gas south charged, and I will never work with gas south in my life.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

GasSouthSucks from Atlanta, GA on August 4th, 2021
Predator company
I had never had issues with utility companies until I had trouble with gas south. After leaving them I swore I would never do business with them again. Then Gas South bought my existing energy company and the underhanded tactics were started. I had a season plan with bills around 130. My final bill jumped 400 dollars. When I did not pay immediately, my gas was disconnected (it was scheduled to be turn off at this time) and I was charged additional fees. I was told by there legal department I had a final amount. I paid the inflated final amount. two days later I was sent an additional bill and I am still being billed. Gas South is a terrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George from Atlanta, GA on June 30th, 2021
Set to cheat
Our gas bill dramatically increased, we called to find out why, they said we hadn't returned a post card. we had however. we paid hundreds of dollars additional, they said they would adjust the rate. they didn't. we called, they wouldn't adjust and demanded an additional $600 to terminate their service or they would ruin our credit. thief's? you make the call, those are the facts.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frankly Disappointed from Canton, GA on May 22nd, 2021
No gas
I just moved to Georgia and after a few weeks they cut my gas off without any notice at 7 oclock at night. I have kids in my home and we didnt have any hot water or gas. When I called the emergency they telling me they cant turn it back on because I dont have an account but when I moved in they came and turned it on
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T. from Atlanta, GA on May 20th, 2021
Save yourself the headache and go elsewhere
Due to an error in their system, my gas was never turned on even though they had all my information and payment details for over 2 months. Now dealing with some of the most flippant and rude customer service supervisors to try to get it turned on. Please, please, please DO NOT use them as a provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dee from Atlanta, GA on April 24th, 2021
Bait and Switch
Watch out for this company......very low introductory rate that goes sky high after 1 month. Avoid them. Bad customer service and no ethics.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jerry from Lawrenceville, GA on April 4th, 2021
5 days no hot water because of one guy
Turned my Gas off the day I payed the bill , had to wait 2 days for them to have availability only for the day of I get a text saying they have arrived I open my door and see no one , 20 minutes later I get a text saying they left and cant come back , no knock no anything and my ears are good Im fairly young and was watching no TV , I called Gas South and they reached out to Atlanta Gas And was told the worker said he knocked 3 times loudly smh !!! I dont understand what would make people lie for ...DO YOUR JOB! , so now it is Friday & I have to wait til Tuesday in 40 degree weather until someone comes again because they refuse to make it right and come back smh
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Labrentae Frost from Smyrna, GA on March 19th, 2021
I was charged $500+ in my 20 days final bill for a vacant house
I was charged $500+ in my 20 days final bill for a vacant house. In 3 years with the service I never had a bill that high and the response I have is that "it is normal", even if the previous month, when the house was also vacant, the bill was $200+. They mentioned I was going to receive a call but that never happened neither. It is a shame that 3 years of service finish this way
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JV from Marietta, GA on February 25th, 2021
High prices no loyalty to customers
At the end of the contract they doubled my rate per therm. I did not receive notification of the rate increase until I received my bill. I found a new gas provider today. Gas south is the worst!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike Healan from Augusta, GA on February 22nd, 2021
No help
Unfortunately I'm stuck with them my experiences have been mixed I'm a single father with 3 children living in my home and living in this pandemic has been tough on everybody, during this time gas south has disconnected my service 3 times forcing me to pay the entire balance which forces me to not be able to pay either part of my rent or buy less food, I have had only one experience when they actually helped, just got off the phone with customer service and she put me on hold so long I had to hang up, I think they know that you can't live without so they don't really care. I pray that none of my children get sick before I can get my service restored
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

W.Mccullough from Atlanta, GA on February 10th, 2021
Avoid working using this company
I suggest that you avoid using Gas South my experience with them has been costly and unpleasant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Avoid This Company from Suwanee, GA on January 29th, 2021
Don't Do It!!
All I have to say is, they don't honor their words nor do they honor their contract. DON'T DO IT!! As a customer you mean nothing to them.....don't do it.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melissa from Fayetteville, GA on January 23rd, 2021
Seriously- go elsewhere!
After 4 years of service I moved to a new location and that's when the nightmare began. I spend three months trying to get the company to stop billing my account. I had letter and all the facts I needed to get the service ended. Three months later- I lost track of how many hours- I finally got my deduction stopped. Unless you have hte pateinfe of Job go elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

How Patient Are You? from Alpharetta, GA on December 28th, 2020
Unscrupulous
IN December of 2019, my wife had emergency surgery leaving me to handle our domestic bills. Reviewing the Gas South history, I learned they had been charging her the highest possible rate for over TWENTY (20) YEARS. They offered a $700.00 credit. I advised them to keep the $700.00 for it was worth that to never hear from them again. Just finished our first year with Scanna, no complaint at this point.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry Goldman from Marietta, GA on December 12th, 2020
Don't be duped
I renew my gas plan at the end of November. On Nov. 3, 2020, Gas South gave me a rate of 44 cents/therm for a fixed rate plan. I compared prices using the PSC rate publication and called various companies. When I decided to remain with Gas South, after many years as a customer, they refused to honor the rate they gave me. They do not contest that they gave me the rate. They simply said that they can change their offers at any time.
They did not tell me that the rate was only good for the duration of the phone call.
This is an abhorrent business practice, and I urge all consumers to beware of Gas South. This company did not disclose relevant information to customers about its rates.
I live in Stone Mountain, GA. I was a customer of Gas South for at least 16 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Does Not Disclose Relevant Price Info from Stone Mountain, GA on November 26th, 2020
Be careful if you auto pay and lose your credit card
I lost my credit card and contacted Gas South to change the payment method through my Bank Account. On May 15 I got an email confirming that payments would now be coming straight out of my bank account. Then I got a letter (not an email) dated May 22 advising that they couldn't process the $33.41 check payment received on May 15, 2020, and that my new balance would include a $30 returned check fee. They advised I'd have to pay immediately to avoid being disconnected. I went into their Manage.GasSouth.com site immediately and paid $120 to cover the supposed overdue payment, returned check fee and anything other fee you might decide to add on. And again I signed up for auto payment through my bank account. The overdue matter was a mistake made by Gas South, but, do you know what, I didn't feel like arguing, but instead will change to another company and tell all my friends how how handle business. The lost card had also been used for other auto monthly payments, but those companies emailed me and were paid immediately with no fine or made up fee. Your Customer Service sucks. You can keep the $30. Maybe give it to some poor soul who lost their job through the Pandemic - fat chance. Your acting like a dictatorship, you thoughtless people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie Sharman from Dallas, GA on June 2nd, 2020
Very bad company. A lot of hidden fees.
I would like to give a "0" zero stars. Unfortunately there is no zero option. This company is so bad. This company put all their fingers and toes in their mouth for money. They have a lot of hidden fees they don't tell you. I would not recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kozim from Cumming, GA on April 1st, 2020
Expensive
Been a customer for a few years, when I started getting notices about better rates, they wouldn't budge on their price which was 30% higher per therm. For convenience, I stayed an additional year but was prepared the next year and left at the next renewal. When when I did leave, they stuck me for an extra $10 which I paid, and then another $10 dollars because it wasn't on time. They don't respect or appreciate their customers and seem to be vindictive if you leave.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tyler Smith from Kennesaw, GA on February 18th, 2020
Sorry Customer service and company
So they cut of my gas with out disconnection notice on yesterday and want be able to reconnect until Tuesday. Please please stay far away from this company they don't care about their customers. I wish I could give them the lowest grade possible because they are just that pathetic of a company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanda from Decatur, GA on January 24th, 2020
High Rates and No Customer Service
A faithfully customer with Gas South for over 10 years, living in the same house. In December 2019, Gas South sent a bill to me for $300.00. When contacting Gas South, I explain that the property is empty and has been empty for 6 months. The property has been on the market to sale. Prior to leaving the property, I turned water heater pile light off, the oven pile light is turned off, the heater unit in the artic is turned off, and the control on the wall is off. Please explain to me how the bill is $300.00 for one month in a empty house. Gas South Customer Service stated that they still charge for gas transferring into the unit. I told them to cut the Gas Off. The Customer Service Representative stated they would be GLAD discontinue the service immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Trina Taylor from Lithonia, GA on January 13th, 2020
Worst customer service
6 hours waiting for technician with no phone call. Could only light one furnace because they didnt bring a ladder. Called to ask for a return visit to relight the other one and was told lighting the furnace is a courtesy. So why the heck did I sit there for 6 hours waiting on a bozo with a lighter. Absolutely ridiculous
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Clos from Ball Ground, GA on October 30th, 2019
Bad company
They will try to get you to sign up with a good price. But their system requires you to over pay by hundreds of dollars over the course of your term that they will "send back" once you've finished using their services. They never send the money back. Whatever "rate" they give you, their little program will get about 2.00 a therm out of you. Which is double what you should be paying. This company is predatory and deceitful, please seek gas services elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A Wolf from Macon, GA on June 28th, 2019
Total bait and switch
I moved here from VA (no gas there in our neighborhood only electric...) for an executive transfer & while waiting for my family to join have a small apt less than 1,000 sq ft with only gas heat. Was signed up for .49 term promotion which has now TRIPLED TO $1.29 A therm and a $40 a month pass through rate!! Bill went from $13.06 to new avg of $79!! With less usage!! I run a space heater and keep it at 68 in rest of the aptwhat sort of lie is this rate plan?? My gas is MORE than my electric. Hope I find my house with an electric furnace like I had up northIll never do this again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So Pissed In Sandy Springs from Atlanta, GA on March 30th, 2019
Customer Gouging
EXTREMELY sleezy company. No warning that our fix rate was about to expire, and when it did they jacked out gas up from .51/therm to $1.22/therm, over $100 more on our monthly bill. We WERE loyal
Customers, never missed a payment, and have been with them for over a year, but they let our fixed rate expire and then inflated our gas prices by almost 3X. This is a complete Scam used to take as much money from their customers in a short period of time as possible, until you physically call them and ask them to put you back on the fixed rate plan. No one should do business like this. We will be cancelling our service through Gas South as soon as this 12month period is up. Very shady, very slimy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DO NOT GET SCAMMED from Atlanta, GA on March 25th, 2019