Gas South Logo
PSC# :

We currently recommend natural gas plans from Constellation, SCANA Energy and Infinite Energy

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  They will try to get you to sign up with a good price. But their system requires you to over pay by hundreds of dollars over the course of your term that they will "send back" once you've finished using their services. They never send the money back. Whatever "rate" they give you, their little program will get about 2.00 a therm out of you. Which is double what you should be paying. This company is predatory and deceitful, please seek gas services elsewhere.

A Wolf from Macon
June 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing

(2 / 5)

  I've been a gas south customer almost 4 years now. Last month gas south took it upon themselves to charge my card TWICE within a week. Didn't even bother to tell me, I had to find out when I checked my account balance. There was a lot of back and forth between me, my bank & gas south before I got my money back. I was upset to get a bill bc not only did they screw up, but have never even bothered to say they are sorry! Customer service is a JOKE all they want to do is try to switch me to a different rate plan everytime I call smh. Taking my business elsewhere!

Heather C from Atlanta
April 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total bait and switch

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved here from VA (no gas there in our neighborhood only electric...) for an executive transfer & while waiting for my family to join have a small apt less than 1,000 sq ft with only gas heat. Was signed up for .49 term promotion which has now TRIPLED TO $1.29 A therm and a $40 a month pass through rate!! Bill went from $13.06 to new avg of $79!! With less usage!! I run a space heater and keep it at 68 in rest of the aptwhat sort of lie is this rate plan?? My gas is MORE than my electric. Hope I find my house with an electric furnace like I had up northIll never do this again.

So Pissed In Sandy Springs from Atlanta
March 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Gouging

(1 / 5)

  EXTREMELY sleezy company. No warning that our fix rate was about to expire, and when it did they jacked out gas up from .51/therm to $1.22/therm, over $100 more on our monthly bill. We WERE loyal
Customers, never missed a payment, and have been with them for over a year, but they let our fixed rate expire and then inflated our gas prices by almost 3X. This is a complete Scam used to take as much money from their customers in a short period of time as possible, until you physically call them and ask them to put you back on the fixed rate plan. No one should do business like this. We will be cancelling our service through Gas South as soon as this 12month period is up. Very shady, very slimy.

DO NOT GET SCAMMED from Atlanta
March 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do the pay as you go if you dont have to

(2.6 / 5)

  My first customer rep made me feel like I was crazy for saying that the bill didnt add up. Once I spoke with the second rep the following month after because it was time to pay again and the price was over what I expected she told me that the first rep didnt explain the bill correctly nor did she charge me the right amount on my first bill which led to a past amount being due in the next months amount. Ive been in the brand new constructed home for less than a month now and have already had to pay $300. Also, please make sure you understand the payment arrangement program. Because you will not get off the pay as you go program if you have to make those arrangements and that should be our number one goal in order to take control of what we spend. I wasnt expecting to use the payment plan but because we wasnt bill correctly I had to in order to make sure my other bills were on time. My husband and I have been paying bills way before we got this home and say that this is the worst way to bill someone. I like to pay for what I use and not what they think Ill use based on others in my area and credited back an appropriate amount to our cards instead of the next months bill. I truly believe its a rip off.

Sharon from Dallas
March 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off pricing!!! variable rate !!!! Right!!

(1 / 5)

  Never had gas service before. Within 60 days of service with GAS SOUTH will never deal with them again!! NOT Happy with the pricing Variable rate. Advertising of 55c per Them. Right!!! 1.20 therm NEXT month. 70$ to 189$. PLUS $40 in "FEES". Called to talk to them. Oh they would "lock me in" at 55c per therm but monthly "fees "would be the same ... I said CANCEL. I would rather FREEZE than pay highway robbery. This is just for HEAT for us. ( two disabled over 60 yrs old adults keeping temp at 69 degrees). The rep that I talked to could CARE LESS that we are seniors, disabled and on a fixed income.

Modern Highway men from Rome
February 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER use gas south

(1.4 / 5)

  Worst rates and service

Rip off from Dallas
February 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service, charging me when i shouldnt be charged

(1 / 5)

  HORRIBLE!! I signed for a year contract and they automatically renewed me when I thought the year was over! Charged me for 4 months of gas that I didnt use! I am not paying that. Customer service was rude as can be on the phone. Never use them. Says they sent letters to my previous address and I inquired with the current tenant (who has been paying for the gas there mind you!) and she said she never received any mail for me. Scammers!

AngryCustomer from Atlanta
January 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Historic payment ????

(2 / 5)

  Ive only had gas south for about 5 months but instead of paying my actual bill on the pay as you go i am paying a "Predicticted historical payment" which means all of the prior tenants if their bills were outrageous then since my bill is based on the history my bill is outrageous. Even though i dont even use my heat hardly.!! Any suggestions

Brian Gainesville Ga from Gainesville
January 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

new homeowner treated like a deadbeat

(1.2 / 5)

  I was really excited to be a new homeowner until the gas company shut off my gas with no warning 3 days after I closed On the house. I called To get the guy hooked up on a Wednesday and they said they wouldn't be out until Tuesday. 6 days with the nightly temp in the 30s with a baby in the house who ended up getting sick and going to the hospital. Happy holidays to you too. What kind of asshole turns off the gas to a quarter million dollar house with never any late bills right before a holiday weekend? I had to step out to visit my daughter at the hospital and missed the guy on Tuesday during your 9 hour window so guess what a few more days with no gas! How about a courtesy call or something. It's 2018 get with the times! I signed a 2 year contract and this is how a new customer is treated? Unbelievable. Any other company would be out of business if they kept up these practices.

Pneumonia2018 from Jonesboro
November 28th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor business model

(2 / 5)

  I scheduled an appointment to have my services set up. I was prompted to pick the time-slot during which I was available (morning or afternoon). After scheduling the appointment for the morning I was told that they don't have time slots and that a technician would come by between 8am and 4pm. This required me to take a full day off work in order to meet them.
On the day of the appointment when I called to see if they could narrow down the time window, I was told they have no way of narrowing it down. I then asked if the technician could call on the way to my address and was told that they could only call when they had already arrived. This is a poor business model for a company that wants to start and maintain customer relationships.

Julie B. from Athens
October 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The technicians of reconnection

(1.6 / 5)

  I had an appointment today for reconnection. The appointment was from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. it is now 4:06pm and I have to pick onr of my children up from an school function and I've been sitting in the same position all day long and no one has showen up for the appointment to reconnect my gas. I am NOT having a good experience at this moment because, I took off my whole day to accommodate your technicians and now they're telling me that there's no telling when he will be here today .I have done an 8-hour shift waiting on your technician to show and do a reconnection. I do not understand why it takes all day and then some for technicians to come out to reconnect something they cut off so quickly, if that is the case you people need to hire more technicians. I am very dissatisfied today I will not wait all weekend for gas I will not reschedule for another appointment I do not have another day to waste from work waiting on your technicians and like I said I took off of work but you expect your payment if I cannot work how can I make your payment so my experience today is super extremely poor piss-poor... to be exact..

Alma Andrews from Decatur
October 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas South Hates Their Customers

(1 / 5)

  After 18 years as a very good Gas South customer their "customer service" employees decide sarcastic comments and attempted intimidating comments are the best way to deal with a longtime customer for ONE late payment! Even after I promised the full balance would be paid in 4 days Gas South continued the harassing contacts. Their low customer''s rating on this website is well deserved. Should be no problem to find another gas company.

Steve from Acworth
April 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.8 / 5)

  The simple truth is that I opted for the pay as you go plan I'm a state employee who is paid semi monthly which is twice a month. informed that to the marketer gas south the representative who set me up stated this plan is ideal for you lied. I received the bill and paid the bill on 12/18/17 The service was disconnected on 01/11/18 called to see what could be done for reconnection to occur paid 232.75 on 01/12/18 was informed service order would be completed 01/17/18 between 8am-4pm no one called to update to show courtesy or came. I called gas south to hold the phone line for 2 hours to be told the next available date is Monday 01/22/18 and I'm not over looking the weather. The coldest days on record single digits this is outrageous on both parties gas south and Atlanta gas and light shame on both and I hope your family's don't have to rely on your service because they would be without. I have been without heat, hot water and the inability to cook food. I have had to buy heaters to try and heat the home which keep tripping the breaker box which blew the microwave had to purchase another microwave so I able to heat water for my family and to top it off microwave food for the duration of this horrible experience just to be told I have to wait and additional 5 days for service to be restored and sorry for the inconvenience this is a reflection on not only the marketer but the distributor as well . Lastly the marketer gas south decides to send me an email to soften the blow yet again failed they couldn't even get my name right they addressed me as Sabrina and my name is Sonya that showed me truly the level of concern so whomever has a opportunity to read this review be mindful of your zip code it might not be a priority to expedite the process in a timely manner.

Sonya from Atlanta
January 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad experience

(1.4 / 5)

  Very upsetting when the temperature is below freezing, no show up from the gas company on the day scheduled to connect the gas, and (ice on the cake) have gas connection reescheduled two days later. Terrible experience!!

Michele from Villa Rica
January 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Service

(4.2 / 5)

  I've always had a good experience with Gas South.

Jenny from Atlanta
March 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy, Friendly, Fair

(5 / 5)

  Moved to Georgia in May. Set up account over the phone in about 15-20 minutes. The first bill on pay-as-you-go plan comes within a week with a disconnect notice, but it helps you understand what this particular plan entails. You have plenty of time before the bill is due. I've had to make multiple payment arrangements after a rough patch in my finances, but the policies are fair and designed to help the customer as long as you honor the arrangements. Several other gas providers sent me offers, but when I inquired, they couldn't match or beat Gas South's rates - even when they raised a bit after my first 6 months. So glad I chose them first!

Mrs. Jones from Decatur
February 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ive had no issues with Gas South

(5 / 5)

  Unlike other companies, Gas South is very different and amazing to say the least. I love there customer service. It says everything about the company and I'm so glad I chose them.

Ebuka from Powder Springs
February 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Right for My Home

(3.6 / 5)

  The price rates are affordable for my budget. Unfortunately, the customer service is not that great. Long hold times on phone and very rude representatives.

Kieshah E. from Lithonia
January 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas South Review

(4.4 / 5)

  My husband and I have been using Gas South for the last 5 years. We really never had any issues. Our plan expires this month and I did check other companies. However Gas South's prices seem to be competitive. We will continue with their fixed rate plan.

A. Richards from Dallas
December 28th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions