Reviews for XOOM Energy

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.5 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.9 stars.

XOOM Energy logo
Georgia Gas Savings's Bronze Tier providers are solid retail natural gas providers that have a lot to offer customers. These companies represent good options for discerning shoppers and have lots to offer customers. There are plenty of good companies offering good plans that can fit what consumers are looking for in their company.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Nonexistent customer support
They seem to intentionally make it difficult to get details on your bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vw04 from Atlanta, GA on January 22nd, 2024
The worst company to do business with!
Ive had Xoom Natural gas for 6 months, no problem. Then I moved to another town, I asked them to switch it over to my new address, they never did! Their online service is terrible, its hard to log in, it wont accept your password, so I had to call costumer service to help me, they told me I could not get service at my new location because I never gave them $150.00 deposit for their service. I have never heard of such a thing. They didnt ask for that when I first got natural gas from them at my previous address, now they want $150.00 deposit? Sounds like a scam to me. Im going to contact the BBB about this. Well see if I get the natural gas that I ordered from Xoom. Customer service is nice but they dont know the answers to the questions I ask. Do not use this company, terrible service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Edie from Calhoun, GA on November 2nd, 2022
No detailed bill and payment posted 10 days after receipt
New customer here and not very impressed. Their prices may be competitive, but is it worth the hassle of going back 20 years in how you pay bills?

1. Detailed bills are ONLY available if you have a paper copy mailed to you. You can see the balance in an email that they will send or on their payment portal but not a detailed bill.

2. My first payment was sent by the bank as an check (apparently Xoom can't receive a e-payment) and arrived prior to the due date, but it was not posted until 10 days after the due date and marked late. I was informed that the only way to ensure that payment is marked as received on time is to call, make a payment on their portal, or set up auto pay. I only use auto pay with trusted companies and Xoom had not earned my trust.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

New Customer from Marietta, GA on October 3rd, 2022
Billing issues
Every month the billing department receives my check and deposits it but doesnt credit my account for weeks later.
I receive disconnect letters even though I call customer service and email them copies of my cancelled checks.
I have requested a call from the billing department numerous times only to be told they dont return calls.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RC from Marietta, GA on June 3rd, 2022
Not really a deal at all
I used Infinite Energy until they were bought out. My rate with IE was $0.549 and my rate with Xoom Energy was $0.399. Yet my monthly bills arrived $20-40 more expensive than the corresponding month from IE despite having a lower rate. There must have been some added fees in there. I'm not sure, because the bill is very difficult to understand and the website is awful. I do not recommend Xoom.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DMcW from Marietta, GA on May 5th, 2022
Lost payment
I was approved for LIHEAP this winter, the check ($1000) was sent on 12/13/21 deposited on 1/14/2022 and never credited to my account.A copy of the processed check was emailed to the address they provided but when my casemanagercalled they said it was the wrong one. He has gotten nothing but a runaround after several calls, they can't find the check record in their system, or the acccount even though the previous bills have all been paid. So there is a large sum of money they can not find that came from a federal source, I do not understand why the finance deptartment cannot track it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stolen Funds from Stone Mountain, GA on April 21st, 2022
Offered 50 dollar reward card-never sent it
Offered a 50 dollar reward after 2 mos of paid service. We called customer service twice and promised it twice as an Amazon card. Never received. After multiple tries gave up. So dont change because of any promotion from them. You will not get it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Promotion Gift Card Never Received! from Augusta, GA on October 30th, 2021
I should have listened to the negative reviews
I am a new customer to Xoom. I contacted the company about my first bill I received that was for only 2 service days. Starting 9/1 ending 9/3. They charged me the full AGL base passthrough fee of $28 dollars for only 2 service days. When I inquired why my first bill would only be for 2 days or why they could not prorate/credit my bill they said Sorry. Our system automatically starts new service dates on 1st of each month. Okay no problem, but if they know new service starts on the first why would they have their billing system setup to end statements on the 3rd of each month? This means each new customer gets charged the full AGL passthrough fee for only an initial 2 day service period. Seems like a scam and a rip off too me. They tried to tell me it all had to do with the day the meter was read. Okay fine too, but charging people a full base fee for only a 2 day service bill is unethical at best.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Woodstock, GA on September 14th, 2021
Nightmare when switching to Xoom!
Their system when switching is full of pitfalls and errors. I had to call 4x and finally ask to speak to a supervisor to get my service switched when the upcoming deadline was approaching before my rate with my previous provider went up dramatically. Xoom said they were having technical issues switching customers, and even though the customer service reps were friendly, I might as well have been talking to a tree because nothing ever happened to fix the problem until I escalated. Xoom jeopardized my switchover and potentially was about to cost me major amounts of money. Its one thing to advertise lower pricing, but there must be the technical and service abilities to support customers who want to switch. Very bad experienc.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Atlanta, GA on August 15th, 2021
Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal
First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Winston, GA on July 3rd, 2020


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Accounting nightmare
Horrible experience. Sent payment thru bill pay, XOOM claimed they did not receive payment. We provided proof from the bank via copy of check showing their bank/name. Weeks later they sent a disconnect notice, we called again provided copy of checks, they said thats not good enough, we need copy of bank statement...we blacked out info they did not need sent in, weeks later after many calls still not resolved, finally 2.5 months in we received a notice in the mail the account was finally credited, but demanding $30 in late fees!!! Still fighting this with them. DO NOT USE THESE FRAUDS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Craig from Alpharetta, GA on April 9th, 2024
Pay attention to your bill
Xoom energy has been ripping me off of my senior discount for a year. They told me my discount was included in my bill. It was not, because I called Atlanta gas light, they told me what my true bill should be. They lied to me as a senior customer! Dont trust them! Ill never choose them as my gas provider again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Edie from Calhoun, GA on March 14th, 2024
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
I was billed for 14 days of gas service because of my transfer date. But was charged a full month of Atlantic Gas Light Company service. I have been on hold for 28 minutes waiting for a supervisor because the representative she that was the way it was. I finally hung up after waiting 30 minutes. Shouldn't have foreign customer service agents!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KH from Watkinsville, GA on February 26th, 2024
Surprise $150 deposit, even with exceptional credit history
I wasted a lot of time signing up for service today, before I decided to cancel and hopefully never encounter this company again. I gave them info for a credit check. I have been at the same address for 24 years, and have a long term exceptional credit rating of 830-845, with no late payments EVER with anyone, including utilities. I was told that my credit had been reviewed and they needed a security deposit of $150. I asked for a manual review, because I thought surely this must be a mistake. I was still declined and they asked me to send proof of payment with my current provider for 3 months. I sent 6 months and quickly got an email that stated "after review", I needed to pay a security deposit of $150. Such a scam. No other gas provider in GA behaves this way with customers transfering in good standing from another gas provider. Steer clear.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julia Wasted Her Time from Atlanta, GA on February 20th, 2024
Couldn't even get past the terrible customer service to sign up
I tried to switch from my current provider to XOOM Energy to save some extra money on my gas bills. The sign up process was lengthy and required a $150 deposit. They said you could waive the deposit with proof of payment of last 3 utility bills. After sending my payment history (perfect) with my current provider, this proof was declined and I still had to pay the deposit. After calling to customer service, they could not explain what was wrong with my proof of payment history and said they could not do anything further. I have a near perfect credit score and pay all my bills. It may sound trivial but there is no reason they should have me put up a deposit. It just showed me what I was getting into with XOOM for the next 12 months... not worth the savings to deal with these people. I'm going back to my current provider and happy to pay more.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kman from Atlanta, GA on February 19th, 2024
Disconnection notice after they apparently applied my payment to the wrong account
I received a late notice about a week after my bill was due in January 2024. I checked my bank and it showed an EFT in the full amount of the bill cleared the bank and was paid to XOOm on the day it was due. I figured it was just a hiccup in their system and disregarded it. This week I received a disconnection notice, saying the bill had not been paid. I called customer service and was told I had not paid the bill even though I had a reference number from the bank showing the bill had been paid in full to XOOM. Customer service said billing could not find the reference number and they would do an investigation to determine whose account that nearly $200 went into but that I still owned them the full amount or risked having my gas turned off next week. These folks have some issues.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron from Cumming, GA on January 25th, 2024
The worst
Horrible service and billing. the most recent problem amongst many, was when i mailed a check and since they received it late i was still charged a late fee. every time i try to complain they send me to zero energy, a different company. this recently happened with a fellow named Raul (41026).
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leo from Duluth, GA on November 27th, 2023
Awful back office
Signed a two year contract. At the end of the first year we were so frustrated and weary of dealing with Xooms back office and on line support we cancelled our service. They charged a $200 cancellation fee shamelessly. They would not hear of any negotiation. Pathetic customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Roswell, GA on October 19th, 2023
Horrible customer service
My bill was $116, and one month late. No call, no notice sent they cut off my gas with no notice, then tell me I have to wait a week for it be put back on!! Don't waste your time with this Janky company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don't Get This Crappy Service!! Pure Headache from Riverdale, GA on September 28th, 2023
Overpriced and yes, hidden fees.
They charge for the two months in advance. And then blame it on AGL who has nothing to do with the billing. I've never paid any bill for the current bill and the next as well. $80 in the middle of summer when only using my stove is not a deal, but a deal breaker. So, I will pay the penalty, because it is actually cheaper to do that and just move on. I should have never left Scana..... Now I'm back! DO NOT USE XOOM!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Johnny from Dallas, GA on August 8th, 2023