Reviews Overview
The best review categories for XOOM Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
0%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
29%
 
1 Stars
71%
 


Jump To

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal
First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Winston, GA on July 3rd, 2020
Incredibly bad customer service
I pay my bills on-line and always on-time. Due to a mix-up at their end, they thought I was delinquent, and mailed the disconnect notice to my home address. I was out-of-country, and my house/dog sitter did not open my mail. A e-mail would have reached me easily, but instead my service was shut off. I e-mailed proof of payments, and even sent an extra payment, so I had a credit balance. It still took two weeks to get reconnected. This was during winter, and my home had no heat and no hot water while someone tried to live there. Never again will I use Xoom!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Springer from Villa Rica, GA on June 8th, 2020
Non-disclosed costs!!!
Simply put you are responsible for the distributor fee to whomever provides the gas for Xoom energy. For my family this summer this constitues 300% of the price we pay to Xoom energy for gas + xoom energy service fee. Thats right, 3 times the amount we pay for gas and the xoom service fee combined! This amount was not disclosed within our contract nor on any of the energy provider comparison websites. Call to find out the local distribution fees prior to signing a contract because Xoom energy is not forthright about the amounts you will be charged. The lack of disclosure and transparency is simply bad business!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Augusta, GA on September 7th, 2019
Poor Customer Service
I had an issue accessing the online portal to pay my bill, I reset my password multiple times, receiving the message password was sent to you. Waiting for a few days for it, I never received it, and through trying a few different times over a period of days I incurred a late fee. Upon calling in, Xoom refused to refund my late fee on account of their online portal issue. I spoke with a customer service supervisor who said it didnt matter what was reasonable, they would not refund the credit even though Im a new customer and had diligently attempted to pay my bill. I even told the supervisor I would contact Clark Howards team to let them know to please warn people about this poor customer service as I would not want my family or friends to have this experience and the supervisor advised that did not concern them. Please take this into account Im letting others know of this poor service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chagrined from Roswell, GA on July 1st, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The worst
The least transparent company Ive eve worked with. They charge you fees and claim they had no idea about it, but also claim lowest rates. When you call to ask about it the manager has no care and says they have no idea of the different rates the theirs parties cost. How do the managers not know what the third parties cost of the company they work for?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Do It from Atlanta, GA on February 22nd, 2021
The worse just like infinite
Theses gas companies are criminals they offer you low rate and once they get you in and you pay regularly they increase the thermal rates and accuse you of over usage when my usage has not change they said because it's cold but I have space heater that are electric. And we don't really use much heat got natured.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jean Hereford from Marietta, GA on February 2nd, 2021
Service never initiated and no follow up
I signed up for a 12 month plan in September. Received confirmation of my order along with notice could take up to 60days to turn over. Followed up and was informed AGL did not take action to turn on Xoom service. Customer service offered I re enroll now at a much higher rate. No assistance or attempt by Xoom to resolve. Cannot recommend this gas service provider---the obviously have systemic issues within CSR department in aquiring new customers. Do not select this company for your gas service!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer Service Failed To Turn On Service from Dawsonville, GA on January 12th, 2021
Improper Disconnect While in Covid Quarantine
I'm a single father of two girls who always pays bills on time. Xoom emailed me a bill on December 3rd which went to my spam folder, so I was behind by $67.54. They disconnected me on December 30th with no notice. After they disconnected, I received two identical bills in the mail showing a past due balance of $67.54. I explained to Xoom that they disconnected with no notice, and during a time when my children and I were in isolation because they were exposed to Covid by another family member. Xoom asked me to prove the covid isolation and I emailed 6 documents from my pediatrician office and the DPH. Xoom said these were insufficient and even after speaking with the president of customer service, they refused to reverse their mistake. Beware--they have no regard for human safety or customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan R from Marietta, GA on December 31st, 2020
Could not answer basic questions
I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

GAGAS from Ball Ground, GA on August 11th, 2020
Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service
Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CK from Marietta, GA on May 15th, 2020
Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service
Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CK from Marietta, GA on May 15th, 2020
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
They have decent prices, but when a billing issue arose, I had to call 6 times and speak with 6 different people - they never followed up or kept track of open items. They would not let me discuss the billing issue with the billing department. I had to go through customer service reps who did not understand the situation. Eventually, I just had to give up and pay the extra charges even though they were wrong. I decided it was best to pay them the charges and then just never use them again, than keep arguing with customer reps on the phone that did not understand the issue. Would never use them again, even if they had the lowest therm rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Danielle from Marietta, GA on May 12th, 2020
They lost my check when they changed billing locations and charged me a late fee.
I have never had any problems with any of my checks getting lost with my online bill pay. Xoom changed locations and they said I never sent in my payment (but I did). Then they said I would have to pay a late fee even though they understood that I sent in the payment. I complained and they said I would have to have my bank call them to verify it and then they might remove the $10 charge. When my bank called them, Xoom said they couldn't take the call on a recorded line and so the bank just gave me the money for the late fee just to simplify things for me and them. The customer service rep and the customer service manager acknowledged that even if it wasn't my fault, they didn't have the money so the charge would stand. I thought that this was very pore customer service and a huge waste of time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xoom Stinks from Acworth, GA on April 18th, 2020
Awful
Payments not processed for 6 days after receipt. Then charge a late fee. Customer no service says they are entitled to hold payments before processing. Cancelled after 2 months
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Duluth, GA on March 16th, 2020



Recommended Natural Gas Plans