XOOM Energy Reviews

XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

XOOM Energy Rating

Georgia Gas Savings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.

Recommended Natural Gas Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


10 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Incredibly bad customer service

(2.6 / 5)

  I pay my bills on-line and always on-time. Due to a mix-up at their end, they thought I was delinquent, and mailed the disconnect notice to my home address. I was out-of-country, and my house/dog sitter did not open my mail. A e-mail would have reached me easily, but instead my service was shut off. I e-mailed proof of payments, and even sent an extra payment, so I had a credit balance. It still took two weeks to get reconnected. This was during winter, and my home had no heat and no hot water while someone tried to live there. Never again will I use Xoom!

Paul Springer from Villa Rica
June 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal

(2.2 / 5)

  First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.

Jimmy from Winston
July 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(2.2 / 5)

  I had an issue accessing the online portal to pay my bill, I reset my password multiple times, receiving the message password was sent to you. Waiting for a few days for it, I never received it, and through trying a few different times over a period of days I incurred a late fee. Upon calling in, Xoom refused to refund my late fee on account of their online portal issue. I spoke with a customer service supervisor who said it didnt matter what was reasonable, they would not refund the credit even though Im a new customer and had diligently attempted to pay my bill. I even told the supervisor I would contact Clark Howards team to let them know to please warn people about this poor customer service as I would not want my family or friends to have this experience and the supervisor advised that did not concern them. Please take this into account Im letting others know of this poor service.

Chagrined from Roswell
July 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non-disclosed costs!!!

(2 / 5)

  Simply put you are responsible for the distributor fee to whomever provides the gas for Xoom energy. For my family this summer this constitues 300% of the price we pay to Xoom energy for gas + xoom energy service fee. Thats right, 3 times the amount we pay for gas and the xoom service fee combined! This amount was not disclosed within our contract nor on any of the energy provider comparison websites. Call to find out the local distribution fees prior to signing a contract because Xoom energy is not forthright about the amounts you will be charged. The lack of disclosure and transparency is simply bad business!

CJ from Augusta
September 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

(1.8 / 5)

  They have decent prices, but when a billing issue arose, I had to call 6 times and speak with 6 different people - they never followed up or kept track of open items. They would not let me discuss the billing issue with the billing department. I had to go through customer service reps who did not understand the situation. Eventually, I just had to give up and pay the extra charges even though they were wrong. I decided it was best to pay them the charges and then just never use them again, than keep arguing with customer reps on the phone that did not understand the issue. Would never use them again, even if they had the lowest therm rate.

Danielle from Marietta
May 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Could not answer basic questions

(1.4 / 5)

  I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.

GAGAS from Ball Ground
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They lost my check when they changed billing locations and charged me a late fee.

(1.4 / 5)

  I have never had any problems with any of my checks getting lost with my online bill pay. Xoom changed locations and they said I never sent in my payment (but I did). Then they said I would have to pay a late fee even though they understood that I sent in the payment. I complained and they said I would have to have my bank call them to verify it and then they might remove the $10 charge. When my bank called them, Xoom said they couldn't take the call on a recorded line and so the bank just gave me the money for the late fee just to simplify things for me and them. The customer service rep and the customer service manager acknowledged that even if it wasn't my fault, they didn't have the money so the charge would stand. I thought that this was very pore customer service and a huge waste of time.

Xoom Stinks from Acworth
April 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.

CK from Marietta
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.

CK from Marietta
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(1 / 5)

  Payments not processed for 6 days after receipt. Then charge a late fee. Customer no service says they are entitled to hold payments before processing. Cancelled after 2 months

Bob from Duluth
March 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...