Reviews for SCANA Energy

The best review categories for SCANA Energy are the order experience, with an average of 2.6 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 2.5 stars.


Recent Good Review from Cecilia

Great customer service
I live in a new build and GNG mistakenly disconnected my gas service. SCANA very quickly contacted GNG and had them at my home in 30 minutes to reconnect. Really appreciate the fast service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cecilia from Atlanta, GA on February 18th, 2024
Cecilia -I do see where our agent contacted Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) to respond to your no gas order and they were able to work your order the same day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

38 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great customer service
I live in a new build and GNG mistakenly disconnected my gas service. SCANA very quickly contacted GNG and had them at my home in 30 minutes to reconnect. Really appreciate the fast service!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cecilia from Atlanta, GA on February 18th, 2024
Cecilia -I do see where our agent contacted Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) to respond to your no gas order and they were able to work your order the same day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy
Better than Constellation
It was easy and much cheaper than the others
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbie Simeone from Saint Marys, GA on February 5th, 2024
Thank you for the review Debbie and for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy
My experience
Great customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Martine from Augusta, GA on October 5th, 2022
Thank you Martine for taking the time to post a review!
— SCANA Energy
Best price
I loved Gas South but went with the best price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sissy Jane from Woodstock, GA on June 27th, 2022
Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy Sissy Jane!
— SCANA Energy
SCANA Gas Rocks
When we change Tenants, SCANA comes in to provide Gas Service. So far, it seems seamless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Cumming, GA on March 20th, 2022
Thank you Bill for your comments! You may want to consider a Continuous Service Agreement. You can locate it at www.scanaenergy.com/landlords or call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
#1 gas company
I really appreciate the friendly agents who go above & beyond to satisfy customers like myself god bless the staff
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cliftoncole from Smyrna, GA on October 28th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and thank you for being a customer.
— SCANA Energy
Billing Question
Has Scana set up our billing. Was it in my email and I Missed it? I feel like it is time for us to receive a bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mayme Harris from Savannah, GA on December 27th, 2020
Mayme-It appears you have received your bill and we have receved your payment as well. Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy
SCANA
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great from Atlanta, GA on June 1st, 2020
Thank you for the review!
— SCANA Energy
Owner
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Theo Poulokefalos from Conyers, GA on May 11th, 2020
Thank you Theo for taking the time to review!
— SCANA Energy
VS
Ok
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vls from Atlanta, GA on April 18th, 2020
Thanks Vls!
— SCANA Energy


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Review of Scans Energy
I have been using the Savana Energy gas service beginning November 29,2023. The service is so far so good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bizuayehu Hunde from Stone Mountain, GA on February 10th, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy
Very good and caring
Pleasant call and easy to set up servivre
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill N Hals from Atlanta, GA on September 15th, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing SCANA Energy!
— SCANA Energy
Choosing a provider
So far great service no problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sirena Scott from Stone Mountain, GA on June 29th, 2021
Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy Sirena!
— SCANA Energy
Cool,calm and effective
Very efficient and inexpensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ave from Griffin, GA on June 2nd, 2020
Ave-Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy and for the review!
— SCANA Energy
New to Scana
So far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elsie from Canton, GA on April 19th, 2020
Thanks Elsie!
— SCANA Energy
Mitsis Scana review
Account establishment was seamless and I've had zero problems since the beginning. Very happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Theresa Mitsis from Duluth, GA on January 18th, 2020
Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy Theresa!
— SCANA Energy
Great
Great service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Derryll Anderson from Fayetteville, GA on January 14th, 2020
Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy Derryll!
— SCANA Energy
Price Change after Ordering
I thought I was getting the cheapest price, but have seen ads for cheaper than when I signed up. Not too happy about this. Service has been fine, no problem there.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Judith McClain from Woodstock, GA on November 4th, 2019
Rates are updated on the 5th of each month and it looks like you submitted your request back in September. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if you'd like to review. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Review
Good!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Js12 from Marietta, GA on November 4th, 2019
Thank you Js12!
— SCANA Energy
My over outcome
I love the fact that I didn't have a deposit and everything was.so easy to set up service. But 3days later I received a email saying that I have a $150 deposit and I really wasn't happy with the email because before the text I was under the impression that I didn't have a deposit and I felt like that was very mislea on Scana energy behalf.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aquasha Green from Stone Mountain, GA on October 19th, 2019
Aquasha-A credit score is performed to determine deposit requirement. You submitted your order with Georgia Gas Savings who would have advised that SCANA Energy would perform the credit score, if you submitted online, you would have had to accept the Terms and Conditions that include a credit check. If we can review your account further, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday- Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Wished I had known
Rosalia best customer service rep Ive talked with from any company in a long time . I have been paying a variable rate for a long time didnt realize I could have been saving so much money . She helped me go get the best deal and a fixed rate. If I did receive info about this option it didnt catch my attention . This should be promoted better. I have used this company for 10 years . I called because bills are awful . Now I see why . But Rosalia explained everything and there should be more like her
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melanie from Ringgold, GA on April 15th, 2023
Melanie- Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and will share your comments with Roselia's supervisor as well as marketing for your suggestion on promoting rates. We are glad she was able to extend you a great rate and we thank you for being a loyal customer. Please reach out to us if we may be of further assistance.
— SCANA Energy
Location and approval
Scana is good slightly higher than most. They approve all and based on location could be the only option
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scana Customer from Demorest, GA on November 12th, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If we may assist you further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
What is AGL Passthrough? Why wasn't it mentioned in promotion?
Received bill that had an over $40.00 AGL pass through fee. This wasn't explained in the promotion and there's no explanation on the bill. Help me out here. As a brand new customer, I'm not impressed! Would have been okay with the charge if there was some communication on this. Is it a one time charge or a future permanent charge?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unexpected Charge from Acworth, GA on December 26th, 2020
Chris- AGL owns the pipes and meter to provide the gas service and is a monthly charge. You are charged the AGL Pass Through Charges, with no mark-up, no matter which marketer bills you for service. When you signed up, you were requested to review and accept the T&Cs of service and they are listed there, as well as you are sent a written copy that details the components of your bill. You can learn more by clicking on the following link https://www.atlantagaslight.com/residential/pricing-and-rate-plans.html. If you have questions with your SCANA Energy bill, call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
Billing
I didnt realize it is a fixed rate!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shelby Tomlinson from Cumming, GA on December 3rd, 2019
Yes, you are guaranteed the lowed fixed rate for the duration of the term you selected. This avoids fluctuation in the price you pay per therm each month. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if you would like to review.
— SCANA Energy
Switched pricing on me, than applogise!
I signed a contract for .40x per therm and once I received my billing statement, they charged me .55 per them. Lady on the phone was combative. She checked my contract after giving me an ear full. Stay out.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawn from Roswell, GA on July 13th, 2019
Shawn-We are sorry to hear this, and we recently did change the way the rate displays on the welcome email and letter. It also appears they gave you a lower rate in a future call. Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns and we will review the call for opportunities to review with the rep.
— SCANA Energy
Billing
I moved in Feb 25th in my home. But I was billed starting from 22nd . I dont know how so many therms were used I am the only person in my house $306 bill is outrages I went from paying Spire $17 a month to Scana $306 it is ridiculous. I am changing companies as soon as possible .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mrs. Adusah from Snellville, GA on April 26th, 2019
We will be glad to review if you would like to call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Good in average but price too high!
Good in average but price too high!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Luca from Decatur, GA on December 17th, 2018
Luca-We'll be glad to review your pricing options. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
Newly signed up
Have only received my first bill. Selected Scana because of price rate offer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M. KELLY from Roswell, GA on May 11th, 2018
Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy M.Kelly! Please let us know if you need anything.
— SCANA Energy
Too expensive
I wish the cost was less I hardly cook I never spent a whole day at home and my bill was so high I almost fainted
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Waveney from Conyers, GA on February 14th, 2018
We'll be glad to review your account. If you are on Facebook, you can send us a private message at facebook.com/scanaenergy and be sure to include the name on the account and service address. You may also email us direct at ContactUsSCANAEnergy@scana.com.
— SCANA Energy
Satisfied customer
I am a recent new customer with Scana Energy and I must say I was impressed from the start. From the moment I called to set up service the customer service was fast and easy. The representative was very helpful and answered all my questions and concerns. I felt their fixed vs varied billing was confusing aside from the representative explaining it to me, it was not a very easy concept to understand or choice to make without knowing what kind of bills to expect in the future. The associate did however advise and direct me on the best options in my case and overall I have been happy with the service. No complaints here.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Veronica from Snellville, GA on March 24th, 2017


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Discounts that didn't happen
I thought we were getting a discounted price for senior rates. Until I researched the rates for senior discounts and notice that it wasn't being applied to our account. I called and they told me that it had been notated on the account but never put into action! That was definitely unsettling for me, since being a customer since 2019. So for at least the past 2 years we've have been what they consider senior age (over 65) and have been getting over charged.... I asked for a discount or credit for over 2 years of being overcharged. Well all they could offer me is waiving the fee for starting the contract over from 2 months ago when it was renewed and not charging me the early cancellation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ms. Randle from Ellenwood, GA on September 28th, 2023
We are sorry to hear this and after review of your account, you turned 65 while you were on an existing fixed rate plan. Regulations around fixed pricing prevents us from making automatic changes to anyone's rate without consultation. Thank you for taking the time to send us your concerns and we will review this process to make it easier for our senior customers to understand their options on pricing plans and receiving discounts.
— SCANA Energy
Converting was a nightmare.
Converting from Constellation was a nightmare. I cant tell you how many things went wrong and how much incorrect information I was given.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Afrma from Atlanta, GA on April 8th, 2023
We are sorry to hear this and it appears your order with SCANA Energy was a turn on and we are glad to have you as a customer. If there's something we may review with your account, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Experience
Bad, high bill and fees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L from Atlanta, GA on November 18th, 2022
We are sorry to hear this. If we can review your account with you, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Did not receive sign on bonus
When signing up for scana I was to receive a signing bonus to reduce my monthly gas bill for several months. this did not happen
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanda Wright from Winston, GA on June 15th, 2022
Wanda - We are sorry to hear this and will be glad to review. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday -Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Fees and more fees
Due to me working less hours due to covid I had fallen behind on my payments and there was a disconnection in my service. I reached out to the state for assistance before disconnection but never received a response back . After making my pass due payment I had to call scana and was informed I had to call bill matrix to make a $150 fee then called back and a nother respresentative informed me I would be billed a $75 fee for reconnection. I really don't understand why it was too many feed and so complicated to get services reconnected. Disconnection did not take any communication with me,not even a tag letting me know my service was disconnected. I would never recommend scana energy again .my past due bill+ $225 in fees ,I made over my past due.$139+225=$364 paid and couldn't even get a reconnection the same day. Terrible .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerra Simmons from Jonesboro, GA on September 13th, 2021
We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your payments and were disconnected. Atlanta Gas Light owns the pipes and meter to provide the service and are responsible for all service requests for the gas providers/marketers. A door notice should have been left when the service was disconnected. We access AGLs scheduling system for your reconnect and are provided the 1st available appointment in your area, which I show has been scheduled. Please be sure you reach out for an arrangement when you receive your notices so we can avoid any future disconnects. If we may review further, call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
None
Not satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ora Willins from Lithonia, GA on February 16th, 2020
We are sorry to hear this Ora. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Bill much higher than anticipated
My bill for the first full month with Scanna was 40% higher than my previous provider. It was not even that cold so I am not happy I switched so far. I guess now I am trapped until my agreement time is up. Also, when I switched I wish they had counseled me to check my previous provider to see if I was under contract. So, not only did the bill from Scanna come in higher I had to pay my previous provider a penalty for ending my service with them prematurely.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cathie Bray from Roswell, GA on January 19th, 2020
Cathie-Reviewing your account, it apears you may have forgot to pay the first bill and the balance was brought forward to your next bill, which would explain the higher bill. If we may review further, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262 and we do thank you for signing up for service with us!
— SCANA Energy
Very disappointed with Scana, been a customer since 2006, rates were acceptable. Now retired bills are so high I am worried I will be without heat before winter is over. Had to go to Tallatoona for help as bills are higher than ever. I had problem last winter and called, nothing was done, budget billing excessive. I would like to speak to someone in regard to excessive bills.
See above
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Bodkin from Rome, GA on January 18th, 2020
Mary-We are sorry to hear this and see you did receive funds from Tallatoona towards your bill. Since you qualify for these funds, you qualify for SCANA Energy's Regulated Provider which offers reduced rates on your gas bill. To learn more, call SCANA Regulated at 1-866-245-7742.
— SCANA Energy
Scana
I have had some problem understanding this proposed discount.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Atlanta, GA on January 14th, 2020
We'll be glad to review your rate plan James. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Terrible Customer Service
This company sent me a bill for early December when my service was not switched on until 12/12. I requested my account to be recalculated as I did not feel I should pay for charges before my service start date. Instead of resolving the issue, they decided to leave the charges claiming they created my account before the start date so I should pay even though I didn't have service.
Once my contract is over, I will definitely switch from this company. They have poor business practices and terrible customer service. They should not qualify as a billing company in GA with such poor customer service. E-mailing and phone call do not work with this company. They will argue with you when they know it's unfair to charge a customer for service before their start date. I paid the charges, but I will continue to fight this issue as I have wasted a lot of time and effort dealing with this issue. Very disappointing company to say the least.
Their rates were great, but you get what you pay for in service. Stay far away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Marietta, GA on January 14th, 2020
Brian-We are sorry you feel this way. There are 4 components that make up your bill; natural gas consumption, customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charges (which would have been the same no matter which marketer billed you for your service), state and local taxes, and in your case, on your first bill, a one time $7.50 connection fee for switching providers more than one time in a 12 month period. It actually appears the gas had been turned off, so fortunately, you were not charged the $60 connection fee for AGL turning the service back on and you were also not charged for natural gas consumption since the gas was off. We will be glad to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

57 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Auto renewal,fixed rate to variable scam
I had been a loyal Scana customer for a while on autopay. As the contract renewal approached I received a notice 3 months before expiration reminding me it was coming. That was the last bill I got by mail before expiration. I was NOT signed up for paperless for this exact reason. Autopay was taking care of the payments during the busy Christmas season. I didnt realize my fixed rate had automatically switched to their highest variable rate until I saw the ransom price they had charged my account! Over a %200 increase! I immediately called customer service and ask for some help with this ridiculous bill to no avail. She did offer me a renewal contract with a higher price than I could get from other providers. She also reminded me that since it was the second week of the month in January , Scana would be able to bill me another ransom bill. My January bill was $545 dollars vs about $180. Do not do business with these people. The automatic renewal scam is used by many industries now to take advantage of busy consumers. All I can do is change companies and file a complaint with the public service commission about this practice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joey Garner from Gainesville, GA on February 15th, 2024
We are sorry to hear this and that you have switched to another provider. In addition to the bill displaying the time remaining on the fixed rate plan, we mailed you the renewal letter in October with the option to reply by mail with your selection, and advised if you didn't renew by November 26th, the account would be dropped to the variable rate plan. I do see that you called to review and unfortunately, we do not apply a rate retroactive once the account has been dropped to the variable plan, but to offer a fixed rate going forward. We are in compliance with the Terms and Conditions of service around fixed rate plans and renewal notices. If we may review further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262, Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am- 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Turned Gas Off for Loyal Customer of Many Years
I would never recommend this company. I have been with them for many years and because I absentmindedly forgot to pay a $54 overdue bill, they shut my gas off in November. Heartlessly told me, a senior, that Id have to pay $150 deposit plus $75 reconnection fee to have my service restored. I went to another company, paid less and because of my credit, paid no deposit. Scana you have lost a great long time customer over your ruthlessness. I have the money to pay but it saddens me to know you do this same thing to people who are struggling or to the elderly who may have forgotten. May your greed be your downfall.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I Jackson from Atlanta, GA on November 9th, 2023
We are sorry to hear this. When services are disconnected and there is not a security deposit on the account, we will require the deposit to secure the account. The $75 reconnect fee is for Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) to restore the service and check and light your natural gas appliances. I'm sorry the agent did not work with you to waive the deposit. If we may review further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
More Bad News
After being on the phone several hours today with SCANA they agreed to waive the reconnection fees for a disconnection that never should have happened. They said they won't be able to reconnect my gas today and can only do that on Friday(48 hours after disconnection). Normally they give a 4-hour window for reconnection and someone 18+ has to be present for the technician to do the reconnection...tomorrow they could only give me an 8-hour window for reconnection (8am-4pm). I will have to miss a whole day of work waiting on the technician to turn my gas back on. SCANA says they will not credit me back for my day of missed work. All of this for a disconnection that never should have happened. The full payment they were requesting was delivered before the time they specified in the notice. Now all this is my problem apparently....buyer beware!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William H. from Jefferson, GA on September 7th, 2023
We are sorry to hear this and understand your frustration. Atlanta Gas Light owns the pipes and meter to provide your natural gas service and they are responsible for service connections. Unfortunately, they do not offer same day appointments. We are provided the first available date and time slots and schedule accordingly. We apologize for the inconvenience and I see where some credits have been applied to your account. Please call us if we may assist you further.
— SCANA Energy
Don't Do Business With Scana
On September 6, 2023, Scana Energy disconnected my gas over a small $50 past due bill, even though the next bill wasn't due until September 11.

I have called Scana, and the supervisor claimed that "anytime a gas bill is past due, you can be disconnected." When I told her I have 45 days in Georgia, the supervisor said it is 45 days from when the gas was used. A lie.

Additionally, Scana never notified me by mail, phone, or e-mail that my service would be disconnected 15 days before the disconnection date as legally required. The supervisor claims I was sent a letter, but I received nothing. Another lie.

They also should have made the Georgia-required good-faith effort to make personal contact with me two days before disconnection by certified mail, phone, or email. No phone calls, no e-mails, no certified letters.... It seems that breaking the law is part of the daily routine at Scana.

The worst part is that I have been their customer since the 90s, and this is how they treat me over a small $50 past due amount. You would think that Scana would do the simple thing of sending an email notification before disconnecting your service. But it seems they want to keep customers in the dark about their disconnection date to increase their bottom line by charging enormous reconnection fees, which total $225. A truly evil company.


A complaint has been filed with the Georgia Public Service Commission
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kris from Hiram, GA on September 7th, 2023
We are sorry to hear this Kris and take this very seriously. We will review and respond to the complaint filed with the Georgia Public Service Commission.
— SCANA Energy
Terrible Customer Service
Inadvertently missed paying July bill customer service told me to pay the full amount by the August due date. Paid in full two days before the due date and my gas was disconnected on the same day. I called back today and another associate told me that they could disconnect at any point once a due date was passed. Why did two different associates tell me two different things? I could have paid the first associate over the phone but she told me to just pay by the August deadline. Terrible communication and customer care.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

William H. from Jefferson, GA on September 6th, 2023
We are so sorry to hear this. We reviewed your accounts and see the reconnect fee and deposit are waived and will review the calls with the representatives you spoke to for conflicting information you may have received. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
— SCANA Energy
Is Scana is doing what's suitable for its customers
Just curious if Scana is doing what's suitable for its customers. I received a bill today for $631.46 2.222 per TM. the average rate right now is .63 to 78 per tm for a fixed rate. I get it. I should have signed up for a fixed rate, but I also think that the whole process is kind of a scam having to sign up for a new rate every 12 to 36 months just give me good service at a reasonable market price. I expect the company that I am doing business with not to just take advantage of me by charging me over 200% more than the current market TM rate. I called the Scana support line and talked to a manager asking for them not to take advantage of a customer that pays every month on time, and they said sorry, nothing we can do I am under the philosophy that pigs get fat, and hogs get fired. so I had to fire them today. I am posting this so others can see how Scana takes care of its loyal customers before they sign up for their service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Atlanta, GA on January 27th, 2023
We responded to your comment on Facebook as well. We are sorry you feel this way and that you have considered a switch away. Consumers are frustrated how high energy costs have been over the past year, including the price at the pump. Selecting a fixed price per therm helps avoid the fluctuation in price when the cost to purchase natural is the highest we've seen in several years, and we had the artic blast come through in December. Please call us back if you want to reconsider the fixed price offer the representative reviewed with you on Friday.
— SCANA Energy
All apologies and no resolution
Just received my SCANA bill and it is 3 times the norm, they say the fixed rate ran out and so they have to charge a variable rate which is exorbitant. Never received their notice of renewal by mail and calling the customer service line is a waste of time, even with a manager. Just a bunch of minions who say No and apologize. This happened before and begrudgingly they adjusted the rate going forward, this time they refuse because I cancelled their service. On to the PSC to file and official inquiry.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ken from Roswell, GA on January 20th, 2023
We are sorry you feel this way. Your bill dated 12/16/22 was your last bill with the fixed rate plan as displayed on Page 3 under Current Charges. A notice was mailed 10/12/22 as a reminder your fixed rate would expire in December. The renewal letter was mailed on 11/06/22 to renew by 12/06/22. Since you did not renew, the account was dropped to the variable rate per the Terms and Conditions of establishing a fixed rate plan. Your switch to another provider was effective 01/01/23. If you would like copies of the T&Cs, your renewal notices, or to review further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262.
— SCANA Energy
Not a timely switch!
I opted to switch to Scana in October. Only after it went through was I informed it would not take affect until end of December. I felt a bait and switch happened, since I had to pay a variable rate for two months on my current contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tracy from Marietta, GA on January 2nd, 2023
We are sorry to hear this. Market switches are processed by AGL on the 19th of each month for all of the marketers. If you submitted your request and was processed prior to the 19th, your effective date is the 1st of the upcoming month. Switches processed after the 19th, will not be effective until the following month. For example, a switch received and processed on 12/19 would have have an effective date of 01/01/2023. If the switch was received and processed on or after 12/20, the switch would not be effective until 02/01/2023. If we may review further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262.
— SCANA Energy
Not willing to honor rates
Scanna sent me a letter to renew service with specific rate. I returned correspondence agreeing to fixed rate plan for 3 years. The just sent me a letter saying I had signed up for a substantially higher rate with a variable plan. I called and told them thats not what I signed up for. The response was, well, their rates had gone up. I responded that their offer was binding, and the reason I chose a fixed plan. Then their story shifted saying they never got the correspondence I returned. Totally a con game being played by Scanna
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BOB from Alpharetta, GA on September 8th, 2022
Bob - we are sorry to hear this and sounds like the card was not received in time and you were dropped to a variable rate plan. Rates have gone up considerably in the past two months and it is frustrating for everyone. If we can review further, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. We're available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am -5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Service Terms trap
It appears to me SCANA deliberately sets traps for customers, to keep customers paying after their contract ends. SCANA attempts to get customers to opt-in to a continuous fixed rate plan, after their initial plan expires. SCANA will automatically enroll you in a plan and then send its customers letters saying they opted into their auto renewal program, and must pay an early termination fee to cancel. I'd steer clear of SCANA. If I can save one person a headache, my review would've been successful. There are many other options...choose one the others!
If a company offers great service and rates, they don't need to set traps for their customers. Customers want to continue doing business with that company, because of its customer centric approach. AVOID SCANA!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan Golden from Fayetteville, GA on July 2nd, 2022
We are sorry you feel this way Morgan and apologize if you had any misunderstanding on how auto-renewal works. You receive notification 60 days prior to the rate renewing and the opportunity to contact us if you would like to review other rate plan options as well as opting out of auto renewal. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy