All 2 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All SCANA Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
None
Not satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ora Willins from Lithonia, GA on February 16th, 2020
We are sorry to hear this Ora. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Bill much higher than anticipated
My bill for the first full month with Scanna was 40% higher than my previous provider. It was not even that cold so I am not happy I switched so far. I guess now I am trapped until my agreement time is up. Also, when I switched I wish they had counseled me to check my previous provider to see if I was under contract. So, not only did the bill from Scanna come in higher I had to pay my previous provider a penalty for ending my service with them prematurely.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cathie Bray from Roswell, GA on January 19th, 2020
Cathie-Reviewing your account, it apears you may have forgot to pay the first bill and the balance was brought forward to your next bill, which would explain the higher bill. If we may review further, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262 and we do thank you for signing up for service with us!
— SCANA Energy
Very disappointed with Scana, been a customer since 2006, rates were acceptable. Now retired bills are so high I am worried I will be without heat before winter is over. Had to go to Tallatoona for help as bills are higher than ever. I had problem last winter and called, nothing was done, budget billing excessive. I would like to speak to someone in regard to excessive bills.
See above
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Bodkin from Rome, GA on January 18th, 2020
Mary-We are sorry to hear this and see you did receive funds from Tallatoona towards your bill. Since you qualify for these funds, you qualify for SCANA Energy's Regulated Provider which offers reduced rates on your gas bill. To learn more, call SCANA Regulated at 1-866-245-7742.
— SCANA Energy
Scana
I have had some problem understanding this proposed discount.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Atlanta, GA on January 14th, 2020
We'll be glad to review your rate plan James. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Terrible Customer Service
This company sent me a bill for early December when my service was not switched on until 12/12. I requested my account to be recalculated as I did not feel I should pay for charges before my service start date. Instead of resolving the issue, they decided to leave the charges claiming they created my account before the start date so I should pay even though I didn't have service.
Once my contract is over, I will definitely switch from this company. They have poor business practices and terrible customer service. They should not qualify as a billing company in GA with such poor customer service. E-mailing and phone call do not work with this company. They will argue with you when they know it's unfair to charge a customer for service before their start date. I paid the charges, but I will continue to fight this issue as I have wasted a lot of time and effort dealing with this issue. Very disappointing company to say the least.
Their rates were great, but you get what you pay for in service. Stay far away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Marietta, GA on January 14th, 2020
Brian-We are sorry you feel this way. There are 4 components that make up your bill; natural gas consumption, customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charges (which would have been the same no matter which marketer billed you for your service), state and local taxes, and in your case, on your first bill, a one time $7.50 connection fee for switching providers more than one time in a 12 month period. It actually appears the gas had been turned off, so fortunately, you were not charged the $60 connection fee for AGL turning the service back on and you were also not charged for natural gas consumption since the gas was off. We will be glad to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Setting Up Account Difficult
We have had Scana previously, but opted for another marketer with better pricing. This contract year, Scana had better pricing so we changed. Since I keep our credit frozen through all 3 major providers we were told we had to unfreeze and were given a number to call which we did. After at least an hour and two calls, the credit was unfrozen for 24 hours. Apparently Scana missed the window and we were told they would not open the acct. I just said I am not going thru this again so I didn't. The next billing from the old provider was $6.00 which said that we would get a bill from Scana which we did. There was zero communication.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor Communication From Billing Depart from Alpharetta, GA on November 3rd, 2019
We are sorry to hear you had this experience and we will be glad to review the account and process with you. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Watch your first bill
I was really happy that I switched over to SCANA Energy until I received my first bill. It was for 1 day and was $49.31. The meter reading on the bill was 0, so they ended up charging me all the monthly fees and taxes for that one day! I couldn't believe this!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donna Satterlee from Atlanta, GA on January 19th, 2019
Donna-Atlanta Gas Light Company (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service. The charge for the use of their system is billed to you as AGL Pass Through Charges on your monthly statement and are not prorated. You will receive these monthly charges no matter which marketer provides your service. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may be of further assistance.
— SCANA Energy
Fixed rate plans are not available in Richmond Hill, GA
Please consider making a change on this website to show that fixed rate plans are no longer an option if you live in Richmond Hill. In 2017 I received a letter from SCANA stating that a fixed rate plan is no longer a renewal option and I was placed on a variable rate plan. Apparently unless you live near the Atlanta metro area, a fixed rate plan is not an option any longer. My monthly bill moved from $73/mo in 3017 to $96 now. I will be looking for a fixed rate plan with another company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LS from Richmond Hill, GA on November 12th, 2018
Thank you for your post LS. In the past we did our best to maintain a pricing structure that offered consistent fixed pricing options across the Atlanta Gas Light service territory. However, the interstate transportation and storage costs associated with delivering the natural gas in your area of the state are higher. As a result, we no longer offer fixed pricing to service locations in your area.
— SCANA Energy
SCANA just doubled their rates in Augusta
Just got a letter from SCANA that their new rate plan is 1.2490 per therm. "A fixed rate plan is no longer a renewal option." I have been paying 0.569. This is a 2X increase! I have been a customer for 19 years. Disappointed in SCANA's handling of this increase; supposedly the letter went out to all Augusta customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mahi from Augusta, GA on November 6th, 2018
Mahi-In the past we did our best to maintain a pricing structure that offered consistent fixed pricing options across Atlanta Gas Light's service territory. The interstate transportation and storage costs associated with delivering the natural gas in your area of the state is higher. As a result, we no longer offer fixed pricing in your area.
— SCANA Energy
Not happy so far
First bill was high compared to Georgia Natural Gas. If this keeps up it will be cheaper to switch back. Informed me of a military discount after I signed up. So far not so good.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave L. from Douglasville, GA on August 4th, 2018
Dave-We are sorry to hear this and see you have switched away. We reviewed your bill, and the monthly bill consists of natural gas consumption charge, you had selected the promotional rate of $0.429 per therm, $6.95 customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charge (amount will be the same no matter which marketer you choose and varies each bill) and state and local taxes. We are sorry to see you go and if you'd like to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy


All SCANA Energy Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
12 Month Bill Credit
12 month
Bill Credit
$0.549 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • 12 month term
  • 6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.559 / therm
    1 Month Intro Rate
    1 month
    Intro Rate
    $0.289 / therm
  • Available to new residential accounts
  • No contract is required
  • There is a $5.95 monthly customer service charge
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    $0.549 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No bill surprises!
  • 36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    $0.529 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 18 Month Bill Credit
    18 month
    Bill Credit
    $0.549 / therm
  • Low Rate for a Year and a Half!
  • No Bill Surprises till 2021!