All 1 Star Reviews

43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All SCANA Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Too high
Ive been with scanna since 2008 and my bill has gone from two digit payment to three digit..their explanation is Im being charged to cover what I use in winter ..it summer no Im paying 113 for gas..why its hot who uses heat like that in the summer at 90 degress if I could I find another supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jones from Lithonia, GA on June 29th, 2021
Ms. Jones-Thank you for sharing your concerns. Your budget billing plan has not increased in the past year and you have 4 months remaining until your budget billing plan will go through anniversary. We monitor your budget billing amount through-out the year. If the amount you are paying is not enough to cover the balance for actual usage, we will increase it to avoid you having a large balance at anniversary. If you were overpaying, we would decrease the budget billing monthly amount. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may review further.
— SCANA Energy
Energy company without a soul.
They are some money driven that they disconnected my service out of an unpaid balance of 53.48. Single mother of two small children with special needs. So sad!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M. C. from Decatur, GA on June 14th, 2021
We are sorry to hear this and as a courtesy, we have credited the $150 security deposit that was charged to your account. If we may review anything further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Not having the right rate
I was a Scana Energy Customer for the past 15 years I called for renew rate I spoke to someone about an offer that I received from another company they aggree to gave me the rate before I had a 0.399 therm and the offer were 0.299 therm from the other Company they agree for the offer when I received my first he came out with a rate of 0.4299 therm I called them to complaint about the rate they told that's its I ask them if they taught that I was stupid I had 0.399 therm and renew for a higher rate they didn't want to do anything I was so mad to them by being a good customer not even missed a payment for 15 years and this is my reward I had to live them and will never recommend your company to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yvenane Gray from Conyers, GA on May 27th, 2021
Yvenane-We are really sorry you feel this way. The supervisor reviewed your call and we matched the rate you were being offered by another provider. If we can review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Scana Energy are thieves, AVOID
When my rate plan expired, because I didn't sign up for a new plan, they quadripled my rate, and did NOT NOTIFY me!!!! When I complained, they laughed at me!!! They are the worse!!!!! Avoid at all cost!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DKD from Marietta, GA on May 17th, 2021
DKD - we are sorry to hear this and are required to provide you with rate renewal info with options to renew, as well as any rate changes. We will be glad to provide you copies or review further. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Stay away, unless you want to pay more and be disrespected
Scana is one of the most expensive gas provider in the area. Every time my fixed rate would expire I had to call and threaten to leave to get lower competitors rate. Last time I got different rate on the phone and different in actual. When I called I was told that I had to rely what they told me and if I wanted to listen the call recording I had to obtain court subpoena... so, you cant even find the truth with them. And Georgia gas commissioners office is been less than helpful...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Levan from Norcross, GA on May 3rd, 2021
Levan-We are sorry to hear this and would like the opportunity to review. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
No Choice But to Fire SCANA
I have the same problem as many here. I was auto enrolled in the variable rate after my fixed rate expired. However, I completed and submitted the fixed rate renewal form that was mailed to me. I called customer service and the reps were unable to help, even after claiming to speak with a supervisor. Beyond that I never received written notification of any new rate plan as SCANA states in many responses to other similar complaints. SCANA could fix this if they wanted to, so I see no other choice than to switch providers, as this is unacceptable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brown Family from Acworth, GA on April 14th, 2021
We are sorry to hear this and I'm sure someone would be able to confirm and would have updated the rate card if received. We also keep copies of the rate confirmation letters any time the rate on your account has changed and can mail you a copy. If we can review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
SCANA Scam
I believe Scana automatically enrolled me in a plan that renews automatically. I'd never enrolled in an auto renewal plan, even when I'd had an account with Scan previously. In my most recent plan with Scana I enrolled in an 18 month plan. When my plan expired mid year 2020, I remained with Scana even with a higher priced plan because all plans tend to be higher mid year. I'd always changed plans/providers closer to winter, when the best rates are available. I looked back at my enrollment email received from Scana in 2018, and it doesn't mention anything about me being enrolling to auto-renew my plan. Scan claimed they'd sent me mail via US Mail, explaining that my plan would auto -renew. I found this odd given I'd selected email correspondence on my Scana account profile. Scana had delivered my bill each month via email for 18 months, but says they sent an auto-renewal notice via US Mail. Scana continued after the 18 months period to send my bill vis email. When I switched providers in Nov '21, Scana sent me a bill for $237, with an entry of $200 ETF. When I contacted Scana about the ETF they sent me an auto-renewal notice via email. The same auto-renewal notice that they claimed to have sent via US Mail. I'm not sure why Scana chose to stop sending correspondence via email, especially given I'd always received email correspondence - my preferred method as selected in my account profile. In an attempt to resolve the issue, I filed a complaint with the BBB. Scana stated that each bill had an entry on it, indicating I was enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. That's not something I'd look for given I'd never enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. I don't believe to this day that I would've enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. Scana agreed to a $100, no term specified fee to resolve. I made a payment toward the $100 fee and Scana cleared my payment account information, and charged me a $10 late fee because I didn't pay the entire $100. Scana agreed to a $100 no term specified resolution, which I have documented. All I will pay is $100, but again, the late fee for not paying the entire $100 at once, goes to the lacking integrity of this company. Avoid them if possible. It's worth paying a little more.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan A from Fayetteville, GA on February 24th, 2021
Morgan-we are sorry to hear this. Auto-renewal is an opt-in option by the customer when signing up online, or if called in, confirmed by the representative, with confirmation sent via email and written, as required at sign-up and during renewal. We will be glad to review further as well as credit a late fee. You may contact us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Don't Go With Scanna
After a year Scana will put you on a "variable" rate. They don't mention this rate is 300% higher. Your $75-a-month bill is now $225. When I called they didn't care. I'm not longer with Scana. Never use this company. Any savings you make, they'll claw back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Decatur, GA on February 18th, 2021
Dave-we are sorry to hear this and sounds like your fixed rate plan expired and you did not renew. We begin sending renewal notices 60 days before your fixed rate expires. If you do not renew, we send you written notification of your new rate plan, as well as what the effective rate is at that time. Rates are published on the 5th of each month for the marketers, and rates will increase or decrease based on market conditions. Establishing fixed pricing helps avoid the fluctuation, especially during the winter months when the demand for natural gas is higher. If we may review further with you, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Evasiveness and outright lying
On Dec 3, 2020 I called Scana to discontinue use of my service since I had sold my house and was closing on Dec 22, 2020. I asked was there anything else I need to do, and was told no. In about two days time my service was up for renewal, and even though I could not renew or was offered a renewal, I was told everything would stay the same. My bills were averaging $60 a month. Much to my surprise I received my last bill and it was $260!!! When I called to speak to customer service they told me that was correct. So instead of honoring the current therm they choose to gouge me for the last 25 days. So the customer service did not inform me of the rate hike is she had I would have changed to another company for the remaining time. Instead of informing me of the hike she just told me everything would be the same. I am happy to pay my $60 monthly fee but refuse to pay this outright robbery and deceit. I would like for Scana to call me and work out this charge.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barbara Paresi from Atlanta, GA on February 17th, 2021
Barbara- We are sorry to hear this and someone will be glad to review. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262, representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm or email us at SCANAEnergyContactUs@SCANAEnergy.com.
— SCANA Energy
SCANA is gouging customers during a pandemic!
I have been a loyal customer since 2013. I have enrolled in their flat rate plans a few times now. I just received 2 months of bills that total more in 2 months than I paid in entire year. $400+ and $509 for January 2021. As I called them to sign up for another 3 year term in a flat rate, I asked them as a loyal customer to give me credit towards the last bill (I hadn't paid this $509 yet as I just got the bill). I was told by 2 of their customer services reps that they cannot give me more than a $150 credit. They tried to cite that "deregulation" prevent them from doing this. We all know that is absolutely a lie. As if deregulation sets any standards on how a company or this company can refund or credit a company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gassedout from Alpharetta, GA on February 13th, 2021
Michael-we are sorry to hear this and that you declined the fixed rate and credit. Rates are published by the marketers on the 5th of each month. Variable rate plans can increase or decrease each month based on market conditions. If you would like to reconsider the offer, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy


All SCANA Energy Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.589 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • 12 month term
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.589 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No bill surprises!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.569 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No Bill Surprises!