All 1 Star Reviews

37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All SCANA Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
SCANA Scam
I believe Scana automatically enrolled me in a plan that renews automatically. I'd never enrolled in an auto renewal plan, even when I'd had an account with Scan previously. In my most recent plan with Scana I enrolled in an 18 month plan. When my plan expired mid year 2020, I remained with Scana even with a higher priced plan because all plans tend to be higher mid year. I'd always changed plans/providers closer to winter, when the best rates are available. I looked back at my enrollment email received from Scana in 2018, and it doesn't mention anything about me being enrolling to auto-renew my plan. Scan claimed they'd sent me mail via US Mail, explaining that my plan would auto -renew. I found this odd given I'd selected email correspondence on my Scana account profile. Scana had delivered my bill each month via email for 18 months, but says they sent an auto-renewal notice via US Mail. Scana continued after the 18 months period to send my bill vis email. When I switched providers in Nov '21, Scana sent me a bill for $237, with an entry of $200 ETF. When I contacted Scana about the ETF they sent me an auto-renewal notice via email. The same auto-renewal notice that they claimed to have sent via US Mail. I'm not sure why Scana chose to stop sending correspondence via email, especially given I'd always received email correspondence - my preferred method as selected in my account profile. In an attempt to resolve the issue, I filed a complaint with the BBB. Scana stated that each bill had an entry on it, indicating I was enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. That's not something I'd look for given I'd never enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. I don't believe to this day that I would've enrolled in an auto-renewal plan. Scana agreed to a $100, no term specified fee to resolve. I made a payment toward the $100 fee and Scana cleared my payment account information, and charged me a $10 late fee because I didn't pay the entire $100. Scana agreed to a $100 no term specified resolution, which I have documented. All I will pay is $100, but again, the late fee for not paying the entire $100 at once, goes to the lacking integrity of this company. Avoid them if possible. It's worth paying a little more.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Morgan A from Fayetteville, GA on February 24th, 2021
Morgan-we are sorry to hear this. Auto-renewal is an opt-in option by the customer when signing up online, or if called in, confirmed by the representative, with confirmation sent via email and written, as required at sign-up and during renewal. We will be glad to review further as well as credit a late fee. You may contact us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Don't Go With Scanna
After a year Scana will put you on a "variable" rate. They don't mention this rate is 300% higher. Your $75-a-month bill is now $225. When I called they didn't care. I'm not longer with Scana. Never use this company. Any savings you make, they'll claw back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Decatur, GA on February 18th, 2021
Dave-we are sorry to hear this and sounds like your fixed rate plan expired and you did not renew. We begin sending renewal notices 60 days before your fixed rate expires. If you do not renew, we send you written notification of your new rate plan, as well as what the effective rate is at that time. Rates are published on the 5th of each month for the marketers, and rates will increase or decrease based on market conditions. Establishing fixed pricing helps avoid the fluctuation, especially during the winter months when the demand for natural gas is higher. If we may review further with you, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Evasiveness and outright lying
On Dec 3, 2020 I called Scana to discontinue use of my service since I had sold my house and was closing on Dec 22, 2020. I asked was there anything else I need to do, and was told no. In about two days time my service was up for renewal, and even though I could not renew or was offered a renewal, I was told everything would stay the same. My bills were averaging $60 a month. Much to my surprise I received my last bill and it was $260!!! When I called to speak to customer service they told me that was correct. So instead of honoring the current therm they choose to gouge me for the last 25 days. So the customer service did not inform me of the rate hike is she had I would have changed to another company for the remaining time. Instead of informing me of the hike she just told me everything would be the same. I am happy to pay my $60 monthly fee but refuse to pay this outright robbery and deceit. I would like for Scana to call me and work out this charge.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barbara Paresi from Atlanta, GA on February 17th, 2021
Barbara- We are sorry to hear this and someone will be glad to review. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262, representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm or email us at SCANAEnergyContactUs@SCANAEnergy.com.
— SCANA Energy
SCANA is gouging customers during a pandemic!
I have been a loyal customer since 2013. I have enrolled in their flat rate plans a few times now. I just received 2 months of bills that total more in 2 months than I paid in entire year. $400+ and $509 for January 2021. As I called them to sign up for another 3 year term in a flat rate, I asked them as a loyal customer to give me credit towards the last bill (I hadn't paid this $509 yet as I just got the bill). I was told by 2 of their customer services reps that they cannot give me more than a $150 credit. They tried to cite that "deregulation" prevent them from doing this. We all know that is absolutely a lie. As if deregulation sets any standards on how a company or this company can refund or credit a company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gassedout from Alpharetta, GA on February 13th, 2021
Michael-we are sorry to hear this and that you declined the fixed rate and credit. Rates are published by the marketers on the 5th of each month. Variable rate plans can increase or decrease each month based on market conditions. If you would like to reconsider the offer, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Beware of Scana Energy, it's a customers' rip-off
I switched to another company from Scana. They always find a way to rip you off. No easy and clear switching terms. I switched at the right time, before mid month. But it starts from following month. OK. I have to figure out how to avoid that next time. Next, I have been put on the highest variable price per therm in the market. So, they try to get you with long term fixed price deals ,to rip you off when you leave and, probably, get all your savings back. This may be known to many of you, but just be careful. Scana right now has the highest variable price rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mcccc from Atlanta, GA on February 11th, 2021
Market switches for the marketers occur once a month if you switch before the 19th of the month, your service will be effective on the 1st day of the following month. If after the 19th, it won't be effective until the next month. Rates are published by the marketers on the 5th of each month. Variable rate plans can increase or decrease each month, similar to when the price of gas at the pump increasing/decreasing for your car. We're sorry to see you go and that we weren't able to keep you as a customer. If we may review further, call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
Pushed their variable rate or 12 months fixed rate after requesting a 6 month plan
Beware of this company: they tend to push certain products. Wanted a 6 months fixed plan, representative acted as if they didn't offer that and only offered 12 months or higher or a variable rate.
2. They suck you in with a low variable rate and the fear of the $150 fee to break their fixed rate. Then in the colder/winter months they skyrocket their price.
This was my experience. Conveniently when I called to complain, they couldn't find the recording where I initially requested the 6 months fixed rate - they could only find the later recording where I decided to go with the variable rate rather than being tied to their 12 months. Their practice is extremely unethically.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jackie Johnson from Conyers, GA on February 10th, 2021
Jackie - we are really sorry to hear and sounds like you may have applied through an affiliate partner where 6 month pricing is currently not offered. If you would like us to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
WOW
If you gonna give somebody a promosonial rate to get customers give it to the for like a yr. like every other company nott just a month thats messed up. Thats why I'm no long with you. And I'm sure every other custom that has left your company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Cedartown, GA on September 30th, 2020
We're sorry you feel this way and show your switch to us was canceled. The intro rate is offered by the majority of marketers and for consumers that may not be sure if they want to commit to a fixed rate at the time of sign-up. If we can be of further assistance, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Billing is horrible
We had automatic payment set up, every single month we had issues with them taking our payment. So we would have to go in on-line and submit our payment manually. Finally had it with them when they cut our gas for non payment, called them to after paying to reset my gas. They said it was my card that rejected payment, when infact it was directly from our bank account, they had no clue what they where talking about. And they still wanted to charger $75 plus a $150 deposit. Money was not the problem, it was their fault but some how it was our fault. After I told them I would change providers they didnt care. I would never go back with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Efren from Gainesville, GA on September 1st, 2020
We are sorry you feel this way. Automatic credit card payments are processed through BillMatrix and appears the card was being declined and an email was sent by BillMatrix direct to you to advise. SCANA Energy continued to send your monthly statements, as well as payment and disconnect reminders. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Scana busers.
Scana, gas company, more abuser, they have the abuse to say, $ 300 for early termination, every day more millionaires, with the abuse, without god or law, they are the ones that have the world in absolute poverty. gas bandits. they are disgusting.
 
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thomas Ovalo from Norcross, GA on July 20th, 2020
We are sorry to hear this Thomas. All Marketers will charge an early termination fee if you switch providers or request a different rate plan before the end of your fixed rate term. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may review further or provide copies of the terms of your rate plan. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Not my old provider, Ouch.
My previous gas company with whom I was really satisfied with, was no longer interested in keeping my business so I switched to Scana. I asked a lot of questions and felt good about the move, that rates were similar and customer service would be equivalent. Immediately, I became aware that I was being charged just under $4 to pay my bill over the phone, so I opted to go to Kroger each month and pay $1.50 in order to pay my bill. My previous gas company (of 8 years) used to call me in advance of renewal and make sure I locked in my rate and we would just roll right into the next year. This was an exceptional way of doing business and it just didn't occur to me that wouldn't be the case with my new provider. Didn't think to ask that question before switching.

After my first year with Scana, I missed my renewal letter and when I called to check on rates and lock in, I found out I was being charge inhumane rates which automatically switched over from fixed, to variable when I did not reach out to Scana to lock in- Even the customer service agent, when she told me what I was paying, choked on her words. I explained how my former provider used to handle renewals, and she said, 'we only call long term customers' to be sure they lock in their rates. My bill (winter months) was exorbitant. My entire experience with Scana was one about money and ways that they could just keep charging and gouging me. The insane extra amounts of what I paid to Scana due to lack of customer service or willingness to make right would have certain impacted my quality of life during covid, or anytime.

I found a new service provider and have been treated well. Information has been consistent and I do not have to pay money to pay my bill. They too call to make sure their customers lock in their annual rates and, it is prominently recorded on my calendar too. I'm still a bit sick at the length of time this was happening before I realized, the old way of 8 years with my previous company wasn't the way with Scana operated and that they were more than happy that I was blind to my situation. I'm sad about the poor business practices. I called several times before I switched and they offered a small token to keep me on board, but it was a crass and disrespectful offering compared to the new rate and customer relationship that I have already established with my new provider.

Customer loyalty has to begin to matter at some point.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Roswell, GA on June 12th, 2020
Mary-we are sorry to hear this. We have several payment options with no payment fees and with fixed rate renewals, several notices via bill message and in the US mail are sent, and at times, we do make outbound reminder phone calls. If you don't renew, you are dropped from fixed pricing to variable, and your bill and a letter in the mail is sent to you to notify of the rate change. We are sorry to see you have switched to another provider and if you'd like to review with us further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy


All SCANA Energy Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.549 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • 12 month term
  • 1 Month Intro Rate
    1 month
    Intro Rate
    $0.399 / therm
  • Available to new residential accounts
  • No contract is required
  • There is a $5.95 monthly customer service charge
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.549 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No bill surprises!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.539 / therm
  • Subject to credit requirements
  • No Bill Surprises!