All 1 Star Reviews

43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All SCANA Energy Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Beware of Scana Energy, it's a customers' rip-off
I switched to another company from Scana. They always find a way to rip you off. No easy and clear switching terms. I switched at the right time, before mid month. But it starts from following month. OK. I have to figure out how to avoid that next time. Next, I have been put on the highest variable price per therm in the market. So, they try to get you with long term fixed price deals ,to rip you off when you leave and, probably, get all your savings back. This may be known to many of you, but just be careful. Scana right now has the highest variable price rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mcccc from Atlanta, GA on February 11th, 2021
Market switches for the marketers occur once a month if you switch before the 19th of the month, your service will be effective on the 1st day of the following month. If after the 19th, it won't be effective until the next month. Rates are published by the marketers on the 5th of each month. Variable rate plans can increase or decrease each month, similar to when the price of gas at the pump increasing/decreasing for your car. We're sorry to see you go and that we weren't able to keep you as a customer. If we may review further, call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
Pushed their variable rate or 12 months fixed rate after requesting a 6 month plan
Beware of this company: they tend to push certain products. Wanted a 6 months fixed plan, representative acted as if they didn't offer that and only offered 12 months or higher or a variable rate.
2. They suck you in with a low variable rate and the fear of the $150 fee to break their fixed rate. Then in the colder/winter months they skyrocket their price.
This was my experience. Conveniently when I called to complain, they couldn't find the recording where I initially requested the 6 months fixed rate - they could only find the later recording where I decided to go with the variable rate rather than being tied to their 12 months. Their practice is extremely unethically.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jackie Johnson from Conyers, GA on February 10th, 2021
Jackie - we are really sorry to hear and sounds like you may have applied through an affiliate partner where 6 month pricing is currently not offered. If you would like us to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
WOW
If you gonna give somebody a promosonial rate to get customers give it to the for like a yr. like every other company nott just a month thats messed up. Thats why I'm no long with you. And I'm sure every other custom that has left your company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Cedartown, GA on September 30th, 2020
We're sorry you feel this way and show your switch to us was canceled. The intro rate is offered by the majority of marketers and for consumers that may not be sure if they want to commit to a fixed rate at the time of sign-up. If we can be of further assistance, please call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Billing is horrible
We had automatic payment set up, every single month we had issues with them taking our payment. So we would have to go in on-line and submit our payment manually. Finally had it with them when they cut our gas for non payment, called them to after paying to reset my gas. They said it was my card that rejected payment, when infact it was directly from our bank account, they had no clue what they where talking about. And they still wanted to charger $75 plus a $150 deposit. Money was not the problem, it was their fault but some how it was our fault. After I told them I would change providers they didnt care. I would never go back with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Efren from Gainesville, GA on September 1st, 2020
We are sorry you feel this way. Automatic credit card payments are processed through BillMatrix and appears the card was being declined and an email was sent by BillMatrix direct to you to advise. SCANA Energy continued to send your monthly statements, as well as payment and disconnect reminders. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Scana busers.
Scana, gas company, more abuser, they have the abuse to say, $ 300 for early termination, every day more millionaires, with the abuse, without god or law, they are the ones that have the world in absolute poverty. gas bandits. they are disgusting.
 
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thomas Ovalo from Norcross, GA on July 20th, 2020
We are sorry to hear this Thomas. All Marketers will charge an early termination fee if you switch providers or request a different rate plan before the end of your fixed rate term. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may review further or provide copies of the terms of your rate plan. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.
— SCANA Energy
Not my old provider, Ouch.
My previous gas company with whom I was really satisfied with, was no longer interested in keeping my business so I switched to Scana. I asked a lot of questions and felt good about the move, that rates were similar and customer service would be equivalent. Immediately, I became aware that I was being charged just under $4 to pay my bill over the phone, so I opted to go to Kroger each month and pay $1.50 in order to pay my bill. My previous gas company (of 8 years) used to call me in advance of renewal and make sure I locked in my rate and we would just roll right into the next year. This was an exceptional way of doing business and it just didn't occur to me that wouldn't be the case with my new provider. Didn't think to ask that question before switching.

After my first year with Scana, I missed my renewal letter and when I called to check on rates and lock in, I found out I was being charge inhumane rates which automatically switched over from fixed, to variable when I did not reach out to Scana to lock in- Even the customer service agent, when she told me what I was paying, choked on her words. I explained how my former provider used to handle renewals, and she said, 'we only call long term customers' to be sure they lock in their rates. My bill (winter months) was exorbitant. My entire experience with Scana was one about money and ways that they could just keep charging and gouging me. The insane extra amounts of what I paid to Scana due to lack of customer service or willingness to make right would have certain impacted my quality of life during covid, or anytime.

I found a new service provider and have been treated well. Information has been consistent and I do not have to pay money to pay my bill. They too call to make sure their customers lock in their annual rates and, it is prominently recorded on my calendar too. I'm still a bit sick at the length of time this was happening before I realized, the old way of 8 years with my previous company wasn't the way with Scana operated and that they were more than happy that I was blind to my situation. I'm sad about the poor business practices. I called several times before I switched and they offered a small token to keep me on board, but it was a crass and disrespectful offering compared to the new rate and customer relationship that I have already established with my new provider.

Customer loyalty has to begin to matter at some point.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill from Roswell, GA on June 12th, 2020
Mary-we are sorry to hear this. We have several payment options with no payment fees and with fixed rate renewals, several notices via bill message and in the US mail are sent, and at times, we do make outbound reminder phone calls. If you don't renew, you are dropped from fixed pricing to variable, and your bill and a letter in the mail is sent to you to notify of the rate change. We are sorry to see you have switched to another provider and if you'd like to review with us further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
My provider for 30 days during April but billed for 2 months AGL and customer service charges
I have received 2 bills but only had coverage from April 1st through April 30th. Have requested an explanation and for the erroneous bill to be corrected but have not had any luck with SCANA.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan Redmond from Atlanta, GA on May 19th, 2020
Ryan-we are sorry to hear this and a representative will be glad to review your account with you. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm.
— SCANA Energy
Still not active
The transfer has still not taken place. Very disappointed with the slow response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carol Christie from Roswell, GA on April 27th, 2020
Carol-If you submitted a switch to SCANA Energy, they are only processed through Atlanta Gas Light on the 20th of each month. For example, if you applied on April 1, your switch to the new marketer would be effectiv on May 1. If you applied on April 21st, your switch would not be effective until June 1. We'll be glad to review your account. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy
Scana is a rip off
I had a tenant vacate my rental house so I signed with Scana to keep heat in the house while I renovated and sold the property. I signed for $0.37 per therm. Did not lock in since I expected on a couple months of svc. At the end of the 1st billing cycle it converted to a variable rate. I expected it could go up by a few cents/therm. It went from 37 cents to $1.39/therm. They did not infom me of the potential magnitude of increase when I signed. Up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pitiful Customer Treatment from Lawrenceville, GA on April 11th, 2020
We are sorry to hear this. The introductory variable rate is a very low rate for one full billing cycle then it updates to the variable rate plan that is higher. If we may review further, please call customer service at 1-877-467-2262. Representatibes are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm.
— SCANA Energy
Rip off c
I think it is very sad that a company as large as SCANA ENERGY takes adva have of their customers by chargi g them a few to pay them for there service. Give me a break you are already making money off of us so why should we have to pay you to be your customer?
Another thing it is part of YOUR business to delivery your product to us. We shouldn't have to pay an AGL Pass Through charge. That is on you. Plus you probably write it off on your taxes. HOW ABOUT GIVING YOUR CUSTOMERS A BREAK
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carol from Savannah, GA on March 21st, 2020
Carol-We are sorry you feel this way. Your bill consists of 4 charges - natural gas consumption, customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charges, and state and local taxes. The AGL Pass Through Charges are regulated by the Georgia PSC. AGL owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service, the charge for the use of their system are the AGL Pass Through Charges. You will incur these charges no matter which marketer bills you for service. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.
— SCANA Energy


Recommended Natural Gas Plans