Recent Bad Reviews


Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (65 reviews)



Don't Do Business With Scana

(1.8 / 5)

  On September 6, 2023, Scana Energy disconnected my gas over a small $50 past due bill, even though the next bill wasn't due until September 11.

I have called Scana, and the supervisor claimed that "anytime a gas bill is past due, you can be disconnected." When I told her I have 45 days in Georgia, the supervisor said it is 45 days from when the gas was used. A lie.

Additionally, Scana never notified me by mail, phone, or e-mail that my service would be disconnected 15 days before the disconnection date as legally required. The supervisor claims I was sent a letter, but I received nothing. Another lie.

They also should have made the Georgia-required good-faith effort to make personal contact with me two days before disconnection by certified mail, phone, or email. No phone calls, no e-mails, no certified letters.... It seems that breaking the law is part of the daily routine at Scana.

The worst part is that I have been their customer since the 90s, and this is how they treat me over a small $50 past due amount. You would think that Scana would do the simple thing of sending an email notification before disconnecting your service. But it seems they want to keep customers in the dark about their disconnection date to increase their bottom line by charging enormous reconnection fees, which total $225. A truly evil company.


A complaint has been filed with the Georgia Public Service Commission

Kris from Hiram
September 7th, 2023

We are sorry to hear this Kris and take this very seriously. We will review and respond to the complaint filed with the Georgia Public Service Commission.

SCANA Energy Responds September 7th, 2023
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Accounting nightmare

(1.6 / 5)

  horrible experience. Sent payment thru bill pay, XOOM claimed they did not receive payment. We provided proof from the bank via copy of check showing their bank/name. Weeks later they sent a disconnect notice, we called again provided copy of checks, they said thats not good enough, we need copy of bank statement...we blacked out info they did not need sent in, weeks later after many calls still not resolved, finally 2.5 months in we received a notice in the mail the account was finally credited, but demanding $30 in late fees!!! Still fighting this with them. DO NOT USE THESE FRAUDS

Craig from Alpharetta
April 9th, 2024

XOOM Energy Logo

XOOM Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience as a new customer

(1.6 / 5)

  When I called yesterday and was needing to get my account number and couldn't get any assistance.
I was really upset and asked to speak with a supervisor. Once I spoke with a supervisor I was really not feeling very valued as a new customer. And I was very clear that my information was entered incorrectly and I was made to feel like I was the one that gave the information incorrectly and I was told by the supervisor that If they were going to listen to the phone call and call me right back of which that supervisor did not do. 3 and a 1/2 hours later. After not hearing from that seat back again so that I could obtain my account number which I should have not had to call back. I know that it didn't take over 3 hours to listen to that. Initial account set up to get what needed to be Obtain from that conversation when setting up the account. My social security number because you ran my credit report. I'm being told that I gave my wrong social security number. When I know that I didn't. I don't like being told that I did something wrong when somebody clearly entered the wrong information because they couldn't obtain. Correctly what I said secondelete.I don't know how you're emailing me but then tell me you don't have my email address. The supervisor clearly had an attitude and then wondered why I had an attitude with her after her attitude. After not hearing from that supervisor after assuring me.She was going to call back and not hearing from her after 3 hours.I then spoke with Vanetta who was more than helpful and quite accommodating. Vanetta was able to give me my account number so that I can go ahead and set app my account.Which it shouldn't take a rocket scientist to be able to help assist a new customer with setting app an account by getting them.Their account number this was beyond ridiculous. In addition, the first so-called supervisor then called me back with another attitude which gave me another attitude back with her. I would like a regional manager to call me back. Because I don't like this entire process and how it went down. And if this is how it's got to be treated as a new owner, you'll have a severe problem with your entire organization.

Janelle Scogin from Hiram
March 26th, 2024

Georgia Natural Gas® Logo

Georgia Natural Gas®


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Surprise $150 deposit, even with exceptional credit history

(1.6 / 5)

  I wasted a lot of time signing up for service today, before I decided to cancel and hopefully never encounter this company again. I gave them info for a credit check. I have been at the same address for 24 years, and have a long term exceptional credit rating of 830-845, with no late payments EVER with anyone, including utilities. I was told that my credit had been reviewed and they needed a security deposit of $150. I asked for a manual review, because I thought surely this must be a mistake. I was still declined and they asked me to send proof of payment with my current provider for 3 months. I sent 6 months and quickly got an email that stated "after review", I needed to pay a security deposit of $150. Such a scam. No other gas provider in GA behaves this way with customers transfering in good standing from another gas provider. Steer clear.

Julia wasted her time from Atlanta
February 20th, 2024

XOOM Energy Logo

XOOM Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Couldn't even get past the terrible customer service to sign up

(1.6 / 5)

  I tried to switch from my current provider to XOOM Energy to save some extra money on my gas bills. The sign up process was lengthy and required a $150 deposit. They said you could waive the deposit with proof of payment of last 3 utility bills. After sending my payment history (perfect) with my current provider, this proof was declined and I still had to pay the deposit. After calling to customer service, they could not explain what was wrong with my proof of payment history and said they could not do anything further. I have a near perfect credit score and pay all my bills. It may sound trivial but there is no reason they should have me put up a deposit. It just showed me what I was getting into with XOOM for the next 12 months... not worth the savings to deal with these people. I'm going back to my current provider and happy to pay more.

Kman from Atlanta
February 19th, 2024

XOOM Energy Logo

XOOM Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Repeated same information eight times

(1.6 / 5)

  I spoke with a rep who made me repeat and repeat. I was on the phone over an hour. She finally said it was complete. The next day another rep called and repeated the order questions and said it was incomplete from before. I didnt know if service would work or not.

Ed from Acworth
June 15th, 2023

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cant get it right

(1.6 / 5)

  I tried to change my service to constellation and received rejections for two weeks because they could not find the account with AGL. At one point, I gave them so much information there was not possible way they couldnt set up the account. The following day, their agents called and said they could not set up the account. This company is full of inept fools if they cannot do something so simple as set up an account.
The real kicker is that I received SIX (6) phone calls in 2 minutes from Constellation telling me the account couldnt be setup.

Joe from 30908
May 31st, 2023

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible!

(1.6 / 5)

  They never put my order through to Atlanta Gas Light resulting in my gas being shut off in the middle of winter. Even though their failure caused my gas to be switched off there was no urgency in getting my gas back on, so I had to wait days for it to be turned back on. Run away as fast as you can!

Jacob from Decatur
May 29th, 2023

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misinformation and lack of customer respect.

(1.6 / 5)

  At the time that I signed up for GNG I was told that the monthly service charge ranged from $5.99-$7.99/month based on an individuals credit rating. When I received your contract I saw that my charge was to be $7.99. I called and spoke to a customer rep who after placing me on hold twice to confer with someone that the fee was based on Experian, that GNG took their advice and that I would have to call them for an explanation. Considering my FICO rating of 811, on April 3rd. I sent a letter to your president, Mike Braswell, querying this. To date I have had no reply of any nature to either this or my follow-up letter of May 19, yet I have received your bill for eight days service with both a $7.99 service charge and a second, unexplained "gas charge" of $10.75. So much for a GNG welcome and customer service.

Robert S. Pino from Marietta
May 24th, 2023

Georgia Natural Gas® Logo

Georgia Natural Gas®


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Like pulling teeth to sign-up

(1.6 / 5)

  A long and laborious call to get signed-up and no confirmation that we were ever finished and the process was successful.

Jrl2442 from Atlanta
April 28th, 2023

Georgia Natural Gas® Logo

Georgia Natural Gas®


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions