Disconnect Fees and Problems (45 reviews)



No help

(1 / 5)

  Unfortunately I'm stuck with them my experiences have been mixed I'm a single father with 3 children living in my home and living in this pandemic has been tough on everybody, during this time gas south has disconnected my service 3 times forcing me to pay the entire balance which forces me to not be able to pay either part of my rent or buy less food, I have had only one experience when they actually helped, just got off the phone with customer service and she put me on hold so long I had to hang up, I think they know that you can't live without so they don't really care. I pray that none of my children get sick before I can get my service restored

W.Mccullough from Atlanta
February 10th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Improper Disconnect While in Covid Quarantine

(1 / 5)

  I'm a single father of two girls who always pays bills on time. Xoom emailed me a bill on December 3rd which went to my spam folder, so I was behind by $67.54. They disconnected me on December 30th with no notice. After they disconnected, I received two identical bills in the mail showing a past due balance of $67.54. I explained to Xoom that they disconnected with no notice, and during a time when my children and I were in isolation because they were exposed to Covid by another family member. Xoom asked me to prove the covid isolation and I emailed 6 documents from my pediatrician office and the DPH. Xoom said these were insufficient and even after speaking with the president of customer service, they refused to reverse their mistake. Beware--they have no regard for human safety or customer service.

Jonathan R from Marietta
December 31st, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolute worse company ever .

(1 / 5)

  Gng is the absolute worse company Ive ever delt with . No other bills have I ever had problems with . Always on time no matter what . Right off from the start setting up with gng the representatives already told me different things repeatability. I just went with it because where I live this is the only available gas company that reaches in my area . The only thing that is connected to gas is my heat everything else is electric . Some how months before even touching my gas I was already getting charged for usage. This month is the first month Ive used the heat and with that being said its way over priced if Im already being charged for nothing . My bill was due on the 9th and due to them never being able to tell me when it is I was 2 days late , the first time I have EVER been late on anything like this . I called to pay my bill and of course payed my late fee which was 87$ ... as well as went ahead and signed up for auto pay to make sure I didnt miss it . I even had an email sent to my phone showing I signed up for auto pay that same day, had my card number taken and the lady took my payment with a thank you so much ms hazelrigs have a great day. Fast forward 2 weeks later and I get on my gng app and it says I owe A WHOPPING 208$ + 55 dollars for usage just within 2 weeks . In distraught and disbelieve I call them and the lady stresses to me that all she sees is the payment I made 1 month ago and kept repeating thats all she sees like a smart elec. when I expressed my concern that my card number was given to one of there representatives and I was told my payment went through but did not she kept repeating herself and said she didnt even see where I started my auto pay .
THEN of course , it never fails I get disconnected or hung up on and had to go through the automotive system and wait time all over .
After about an hour of craziness I get on the phone with a gentleman that confirms and sees where I did in fact start auto pay so I ask him does he see where I made my 87 $ payment . He tells me no and at this time Im completely upset and ready to proceed with setting up an appointment to disconnect my gas . I rather freeze then have to deal with them any longer and scam me . The man tells me he can wave the 200$ which I assumed that meant he would get rid of it due to an error of me not getting notified about another payment supposedly honestly making it up as he was going along. When its all said and done he throws in a couple more things and all the sudden he cant fix it and wont after getting my hopes up he could .
I DO NOT RECOMMEND . Ive spread the word to all my family members as well as close friends including my friend that was with me that heard me make the payment that day and they are positive they will never be joining gng.

Do better please from Carrollton
November 23rd, 2020

Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5921065 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.

Responds November 24th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No consideration; Worst company

(1 / 5)

  They have no consideration for humanity. They will turn your gas off without needing you there but when youve paid them in full and its time to be reconnected, they need access to your home. Had the wrong phone number listed so never received a called about the gas being disconnected. Im 81 years old and that have left with without gas for days.

L.M. from Snellville
September 30th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Service Ever

(1 / 5)

  They will cut you service off without notification by phone even with automatic payment setup. They would not take back the $25 disconnect fee and it takes 5 business days to reconnect. Shanesha is who I got to talk to and she would not work with me at all. Infinite Energy please listen to the phone call I had with her! She was aweful.

Disconnected without being contacted from Marietta
September 18th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Company is bad

(1 / 5)

  I canceled service May 6th they put me on the phone with person in another country that cant understand English therefore it didnt get canceled now theyre trying to say I owe over $120. Its not my fault I kept getting disconnected and it hey dont understand English !!!!!!

This company stinks from Ringgold
June 29th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be careful if you auto pay and lose your credit card

(1 / 5)

  I lost my credit card and contacted Gas South to change the payment method through my Bank Account. On May 15 I got an email confirming that payments would now be coming straight out of my bank account. Then I got a letter (not an email) dated May 22 advising that they couldn't process the $33.41 check payment received on May 15, 2020, and that my new balance would include a $30 returned check fee. They advised I'd have to pay immediately to avoid being disconnected. I went into their Manage.GasSouth.com site immediately and paid $120 to cover the supposed overdue payment, returned check fee and anything other fee you might decide to add on. And again I signed up for auto payment through my bank account. The overdue matter was a mistake made by Gas South, but, do you know what, I didn't feel like arguing, but instead will change to another company and tell all my friends how how handle business. The lost card had also been used for other auto monthly payments, but those companies emailed me and were paid immediately with no fine or made up fee. Your Customer Service sucks. You can keep the $30. Maybe give it to some poor soul who lost their job through the Pandemic - fat chance. Your acting like a dictatorship, you thoughtless people.

Julie Sharman from Dallas
June 2nd, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company

(1 / 5)

  Horrible company! They will send you a disconnect notice after only being 1 week late! And during a pandemeic to boot! If I could give 0 stars I would. Go with someone else!

Anonymous from Alpharetta
April 16th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just as bad as every other gas company.

(1 / 5)

  Service disconnected the first time - after I had signed up for "autopay". Service disconnected second time, after again singing up for "autopay". Overcharged, hit with reconnection fees, then the rep set up an entirely new account, but remained billing me under first account. Autopay now corrected. My bank statement showed debits in excess of $250. Service disconnected 3rd time. Now they're writing me a reimbursement check in the next 45 days, so I will have to fork out almost $600 for 2 months of service.

Andrew from Lookout Mountain
February 8th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scana Treats Veterans Like Trash

(1 / 5)

  Scana Energy is a nightmare to deal with. My disabled veteran father had Scana Energy and was planning to switch to a new provider. I called to find out when his fixed rate expired and the representative told me that he was welcome to switch providers and that his fixed rate was expired. He went ahead and switched and they sent him a $150 early disconnect bill. Suffice it to say he didnt pay. I called scana repeatedly to explain the situation. I talked to managers who assured me that the bill would be taken care of and not to worry. Two years later it shows up on his credit report as a collection that hadnt been paid month after month. Scana has single handedly tanked his perfect credit through lies and deception. Thank you Scana. You really treat our vets with the respect that they deserve.

J Harbour from Woodstock
February 4th, 2020

Yvenane-We are really sorry you feel this way. The supervisor reviewed your call and we matched the rate you were being offered by another provider. If we can review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds May 27th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions