Disconnect Reviews


Disconnect Fees and Problems (51 reviews)



Fees and more fees

(2 / 5)

  Due to me working less hours due to covid I had fallen behind on my payments and there was a disconnection in my service. I reached out to the state for assistance before disconnection but never received a response back . After making my pass due payment I had to call scana and was informed I had to call bill matrix to make a $150 fee then called back and a nother respresentative informed me I would be billed a $75 fee for reconnection. I really don't understand why it was too many feed and so complicated to get services reconnected. Disconnection did not take any communication with me,not even a tag letting me know my service was disconnected. I would never recommend scana energy again .my past due bill+ $225 in fees ,I made over my past due.$139+225=$364 paid and couldn't even get a reconnection the same day. Terrible .

Gerra Simmons from Jonesboro
September 13th, 2021

We are sorry to hear you are having difficulty with your payments and were disconnected. Atlanta Gas Light owns the pipes and meter to provide the service and are responsible for all service requests for the gas providers/marketers. A door notice should have been left when the service was disconnected. We access AGLs scheduling system for your reconnect and are provided the 1st available appointment in your area, which I show has been scheduled. Please be sure you reach out for an arrangement when you receive your notices so we can avoid any future disconnects. If we may review further, call us at 1-877-467-2262.

SCANA Energy Responds September 14th, 2021
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

low price and you get what you pay for

(2 / 5)

  Due to serious health issues in the household we ended up on disconnect notice. Moderately easy online payment option was removed due to the disconnect notice. Long menu tree to long wait to speak with non-native English speaker (had to repeat multiple sentences due to mispronunciation and weird syllable inflections; not an accent thing, clearly a lack of knowing the words except by reading them thing) to ANOTHER wait to use an automated system "to protect my personal information" and then YET ANOTHER long wait to speak to the representative again. I researched and compared plans during the waits. I'll be paying slightly more per therm with a lower monthly fee and 6 month term.

Corey from Marietta
December 29th, 2020

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low price and you get what you pay for

(2 / 5)

  Had some serious issues and ended up on a disconnect notice. ONline payments were taken off due to the disconnect notice. Long menu tree to get a long wait to speak a non English speaking (understandable if you listen very closely and they repeat every third sentence 2-3 times) representative. Then, "to protect your private information" you go an automated system where you wait AGAIN for an automated service where you enter all the data on the wonderful cell phone keyboard, and then you go back and wait YET AGAIN for the representative. I researched and compared plans during all that wait time. I'll be changing providers.

Corey from Marietta
December 29th, 2020

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GNG representative boasts that they turned off customers service for being penny shortage.

(2 / 5)

  My bill was approx. $231.00. I paid 97.91 on June 11th. I received a disconnection notice on the June 14th. On the 18th of June I paid 100.00. I always pay online. My final charges were 95.70, which I intended to pay July 6th, my payday. I received a bill July 5th with new charges plus pass due, 95.70. Leading me to believe that I would not be disconnected, since I had paid $100 of a 133.00 bill. Much to my surprise, by 2:00 pm my service was shut off. Needless to say I was very angry. I had made a good faith effort to pay my bill and customer service rep bragged that they just turned off service on a customer for a penny. How shameful!!! Additionally, Im paying $80.00 extra in fees even though I paid 3/4 of my bill. When I called GNG after paying the 100.00 the automated system did not say I was going to be disconnected, the system told me my balance. Once again leading me to think everything was ok. So much for being a long time customer.

A penny short from Tucker
July 7th, 2018

Georgia Natural Gas Logo

Georgia Natural Gas


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service and communication

(1.8 / 5)

  I lost my small business due to the pandemic, and my service was disconnected when I got behind on my bill. I was offered a prepaid plan to get service restored, at 3x normal price-per-therm. The prepaid plan was described as a flat "budget bill-type" monthly amount plus any overage from the previous month, but that's not the case--the prepayment changes every month. I was given a bill credit for the first two bills, but wasn't told about the reconnection fee, which wasn't charged until the third bill. Now I've been disconnected again even though I paid half the amount due, and there was no notice about the disconnection. I was out of town, arrived home late on a Friday night to a cold house and can't get reconnected for 4 days. (And I'd paid the second half of the past-due bill the day after the disconnection.) At least this time, I was told about the $60 reconnection fee. I had a perfect payment record with GNG for 8 years prior to the pandemic and I'm appalled at their lack of flexibility and horrible communication. I'm currently searching for another gas marketer to try to schedule a switch before the reconnection appointment.

Julie from Decatur
January 23rd, 2021

Good morning. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 6063873 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.

Georgia Natural Gas Responds January 25th, 2021
Georgia Natural Gas Logo

Georgia Natural Gas


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Boo on you

(1.8 / 5)

  I missed a couple of bills because they went to Junk Mail in email after signing up for electronic reminders. I noticed it 2 days before disconnection and reached out to them to tell them my bank required 3 days to get the money to them which I had scheduled. After being a 100% on time paying customer for 31 straight months they disconnected my service over $112. They must have needed that to re-up their sponsorship at the Gwinnett Arena. I can't imagine what less fortunate people are dealing with in these times.

I get you can't miss but their excuse was they robocalled me which by default came in as a Spam call on my phone and got deleted. They should know all of this stuff happens....guess what you can do, knock on the door before you disconnect me on a day that is 50 degrees and has a low tonight of 40. Merry Christmas a-holes...signed up for another service already!!!!

My mistake but their bad from Gainesville
December 28th, 2020

Infinite Energy Logo

Infinite Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unexpected high cost

(1.8 / 5)

  I have a grill and use very little gas. My first bill was $73. That was to be expected because there was a $60 activation fee. Second invoice had no usage. I was charged $31 including a pass through charge of $23. I was expecting a minimum charge of $5.95 + taxes. So we will get disconnected as soon as possible. Totally not what was expected.

Larry Wywrot from Springfield
February 18th, 2020

Larry-We are sorry to hear this. Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your natural gas service. The charge for the use of their system is listed on your monthly bill as AGL Pass Through Charges. There are several components that make up these charges. AGL charges are billed to the marketer and passed on to the customer with no mark-up. You will incur these charges no matter which marketer bills you for service. If we may review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262.

SCANA Energy Responds February 19th, 2020
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should be called Scam ya and not Scana

(1.8 / 5)

  While this company will soon be called Dominion Energy, it is the biggest scam. This company disconnected my services in below freezing weather in February without being 30 days behind. The bill was for $90. Yes; it was an oversight on my part and I admit. However, I remitted the $90 payment immediately, but I was told that I not only had to pay the $90, but the new bill of $90 had to be paid, plus $75 reconnect fee and because I was NOT initially equired to pay a deposit based on credit, I now had to pay $150 deposit BEFORE I could get my services restored. So, for $90, I am required to pay $405 in freezing temperatures and the earliest that my services can/could be turned on is in 3 BUSINESS days. NO company should turn off services in the dead of winter. This is inhumane and poor customer service. IF you are seeking a gas company...LOOK somewhere else. I certainly have.

Scam ya not Scana from Norcross
March 5th, 2019

We are sorry to hear you had this experience. Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service. The charge for the use of their system appears on your bill as AGL Pass Through Charges and are responsible for processing service requests for all of the marketers. There are rules in place that prevent them from disconnecting service during cooler temperatures. The marketers also use their scheduling system to submit requests and are provided the first available appointment for each service area. We would be glad to review further if you want to call SCANA Energy at 1-877-467-2262 or email direct at SCANAEnergyContactUs@scana.com.

SCANA Energy Responds March 18th, 2019
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.8 / 5)

  The simple truth is that I opted for the pay as you go plan I'm a state employee who is paid semi monthly which is twice a month. informed that to the marketer gas south the representative who set me up stated this plan is ideal for you lied. I received the bill and paid the bill on 12/18/17 The service was disconnected on 01/11/18 called to see what could be done for reconnection to occur paid 232.75 on 01/12/18 was informed service order would be completed 01/17/18 between 8am-4pm no one called to update to show courtesy or came. I called gas south to hold the phone line for 2 hours to be told the next available date is Monday 01/22/18 and I'm not over looking the weather. The coldest days on record single digits this is outrageous on both parties gas south and Atlanta gas and light shame on both and I hope your family's don't have to rely on your service because they would be without. I have been without heat, hot water and the inability to cook food. I have had to buy heaters to try and heat the home which keep tripping the breaker box which blew the microwave had to purchase another microwave so I able to heat water for my family and to top it off microwave food for the duration of this horrible experience just to be told I have to wait and additional 5 days for service to be restored and sorry for the inconvenience this is a reflection on not only the marketer but the distributor as well . Lastly the marketer gas south decides to send me an email to soften the blow yet again failed they couldn't even get my name right they addressed me as Sabrina and my name is Sonya that showed me truly the level of concern so whomever has a opportunity to read this review be mindful of your zip code it might not be a priority to expedite the process in a timely manner.

Sonya from Atlanta
January 18th, 2018

Gas South Logo

Gas South


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Concern for Customers & Poor Account Management

(1.6 / 5)

  I called Georgia natural gas to set up a payment arrangement and spoke with someone in customer service who took care of setting up the arrangement. The following day my gas was disconnected. Once I returned home I called Customer service and was on the phone 46 minutes most of that time on hold. The customer service agent would periodically check back with me to say that she had someone on the line. The final time she returned she asked if I wanted to set up reconnect shin and I told her I was confused because I thought thats what she had been working on since it was turned off by mistake. She said she wasnt able to have someone come tonight, but that someone could come tomorrow to reconnect however I would have to be home from the hours of 8 to 4. I explained to her that that would mean I would have to take off from work. She said I could call Atlanta gas light which is the distributor to see if there was anything they could do. I called as soon as we hung up the phone and they said there was absolutely nothing on their end that could be done that I would need to speak with Georgia natural gas. So I can call Georgia natural gas and ask to speak with a manager or supervisor. I was put on hold for an extended time By the first agent and when I hung up to call back I was then hung up on from the next agent. When I did finally speak with the manager they said that they did not see a reconnection notice for the following day, but for the day after that. She offered me a bill credit and I explain to her that that was not what I was wanting that all I wanted was the gas to be turned back on immediately since it was a mistake that was turned off in the first place. She said there was nothing she could do but send an email to Atlanta Gas Light to see what they could do. Each company is telling me to call the other and I still have no gas! They have admitted that it shouldnt have been disconnected but no one is saying they are sorry and that they will fix their mistake. I spent over two hours on the phone this evening and still got no answers or any genuine attempt to help. So now because of their mistake Im looking at no hot water for me and my family for two days and having to take a whole day off of work to be here for them to reconnect. Its not like this is cable TV were talking hot water and heat. The worst part is that no one apologized or said we made a mistake and we will make it right. They did offer to waive the reconnection fee of $60 as a courtesy. Im confused how thats a courtesy to me when it was their mistake? The only courtesy that Im asking is for it to be turned on as simply as they turned it off.

Catherine from Gainesville
March 9th, 2021

We have been in contact with the customer to discuss and resolve their concerns.

Georgia Natural Gas Responds March 10th, 2021
Georgia Natural Gas Logo

Georgia Natural Gas


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Recommended Suppliers: