Charge/Fee Reviews


Problems with Fees and Charges (66 reviews)



My first bill

(3.4 / 5)

  I switched to Georgia Natural because of the promotion, even with your monthly service charge was $1.00 more. However, what I couldn't & still don't understand, why my charges for one day of service was $74.16. I still would like an answer.

Emma J. Fountain from Atlanta
March 17th, 2022

We wanted to thank you again for taking the time to speak with us today about your account. Please feel free to reach out to us if you need anything else. We appreciate your business!

Georgia Natural Gas® Responds March 18th, 2022
Georgia Natural Gas® Logo

Georgia Natural Gas®


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not sure switch was worth it.

(3 / 5)

  The therm price is lower but additional fees add it right back up.

So-So from Hampton
March 12th, 2021

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My First Contact

(2.8 / 5)

  The first Constellation customer service person didn't know much about my first bill and could not explain details of the AGL charges.

? from Atlanta
February 2nd, 2020

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pay attention to fees

(2.8 / 5)

  Watch out for hidden "customer service" fees. Our fees, not made obvious when signing up for a great per-therm rate, amounted to well over half of our natural gas costs from Infinite Energy. Very glad we made the switch - other gas providers happily cover the extortionate cancellation fee.

Mike from Athens
January 29th, 2020

Infinite Energy Logo

Infinite Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your first bill

(2.8 / 5)

  I was really happy that I switched over to SCANA Energy until I received my first bill. It was for 1 day and was $49.31. The meter reading on the bill was 0, so they ended up charging me all the monthly fees and taxes for that one day! I couldn't believe this!!!!

Donna Satterlee from Atlanta
January 19th, 2019

Donna-Atlanta Gas Light Company (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service. The charge for the use of their system is billed to you as AGL Pass Through Charges on your monthly statement and are not prorated. You will receive these monthly charges no matter which marketer provides your service. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may be of further assistance.

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service

(2.4 / 5)

  This company sent me a bill for early December when my service was not switched on until 12/12. I requested my account to be recalculated as I did not feel I should pay for charges before my service start date. Instead of resolving the issue, they decided to leave the charges claiming they created my account before the start date so I should pay even though I didn't have service.
Once my contract is over, I will definitely switch from this company. They have poor business practices and terrible customer service. They should not qualify as a billing company in GA with such poor customer service. E-mailing and phone call do not work with this company. They will argue with you when they know it's unfair to charge a customer for service before their start date. I paid the charges, but I will continue to fight this issue as I have wasted a lot of time and effort dealing with this issue. Very disappointing company to say the least.
Their rates were great, but you get what you pay for in service. Stay far away from this company.

Brian from Marietta
January 14th, 2020

Brian-We are sorry you feel this way. There are 4 components that make up your bill; natural gas consumption, customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charges (which would have been the same no matter which marketer billed you for your service), state and local taxes, and in your case, on your first bill, a one time $7.50 connection fee for switching providers more than one time in a 12 month period. It actually appears the gas had been turned off, so fortunately, you were not charged the $60 connection fee for AGL turning the service back on and you were also not charged for natural gas consumption since the gas was off. We will be glad to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds January 14th, 2020

I am done calling and wasting my time on this issue. I have said what I needed to say and my review is accurate. Your company should be ashamed of such poor business practice. A customer should never be charged until they have service. Especially when you are disconnected from the situation. If you read your respond, you will see you have confined my frustration. The gas was switched off and I still incurred charges. The gas shouldve never been switched off. This was ATL Gas and Light who switched it off and messed up your record reporting. Instead of resolving, you exposed yourself confirming my discomfort. I was charged when I didnt have service until 12/12. Dont worry, I believe karma will catch up to this company

Brian Replies January 14th, 2020
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Experience

(2.2 / 5)

  Bad, high bill and fees

L from Atlanta
November 18th, 2022

We are sorry to hear this. If we can review your account with you, please call us at 1.877.467.2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds November 18th, 2022
SCANA Energy Logo

SCANA Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  November 20, 2021



I truly hope that all is well and I prefer to contact a company in praise of their excellent customer service than with this insulting situation. I was transferred to your company from Infinite Energy and I feel very betrayed by Gas South due to the fact that I have put my trust in your company and that I have been paying my bill on time. My bill was due on November 9, 2021 and I pay it by phone on November 2, 2021. After paying my bill with Gas South I got another text saying that they did not received the payment and I pay again on November 13, 2021 and I have confirmation numbers for both payments.


I contacted my Bank and no payment was posted by Gas South to them even though I had money in the bank account and I have my bank statement to prove it. I also made other payments by phone that same day and they were posted to my account. I realized that Gas South is playing games with me to charge late fees that are fabricated.

I am please requesting to address this situation with your company to resolve this in an amicable fashion.


Respectfully,



Niki E. Nightingale

Niki Nightingale from Stone Mountain
December 1st, 2021

Gas South Logo

Gas South


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Problem

(2.2 / 5)

  I was on auto billing and it was suddenly stopped. I didn't realize a problem for a while and Gas South person on phone didn't know but said it was probably because they quit using my type of CC (Discover). I gave them another (MasterCard) and thought problem fixed. It wasn't. They then said that my bank would not take it for a monthly deduction. (There was no problem with my charging shopping items on it.) Then they wanted my checking acct. info and I told them I wasn't about to give them my checking info with the way this was being handled so far. Then they made me call each month to pay and included a cc fee on top of the gas charges. In the end, I wound up paying each month on the same cc I initially had listed for auto pay (Discover). A friend told me they probably changed computer systems and it kicked out my auto pay which started the whole problem but I feel they handled the remainder of the problem terribly. I vowed I would never use them again and would express my problems on social media. P.S. Discover card gives us a credit rating of 789!

Margaret Tritt from Gainesville
February 8th, 2021

Gas South Logo

Gas South


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas South Billing is Unreliable

(2.2 / 5)

  Gas South cannot be trusted to send out electronic bills timely. Last month, they sent the bill at 3:39 AM the day before it was due and then proceeded to screw up the online payment I made. My wife paid that as well as the February bill and zeroed out the account. Low and behold, on the bill recieved January 27 by e-mail, they showed there was an even higher bill sent 4 days before it was due to be paid with an inaccurate balance due. It did not show credit for the prior amounts paid and tried to charge me late fees.
I complained to Gas South directly, but they did nothing right. I'm going to see about switching to another gas service since it is obvious I can no longer trust gas souths billing process anymore. I've had the service for over a year, never had a billing problem until December 2019.

cnb from Dallas
January 31st, 2020

Gas South Logo

Gas South


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions