Disconnect Reviews


Disconnect Fees and Problems (45 reviews)



Terrible online functionality and customer service for bill payment

(1.4 / 5)

  Most utilities are easy to pay online. The Constellation system is clunky and unreliable. Our service was almost disconnected due to their failure to set up credit card billing properly. Long holds and unreliable customer service. GasSouth has been much, much better.

Brad from Decatur
December 15th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest Practices

(1.4 / 5)

  I ordered GNG service because of the special that they advertised in my new neighborhood. I also registered for automatic payments. When my first bill arrived, there was a statement in all caps **DO NOT SEND PAYMENT**. In smaller letters the statement was "your payment will be deducted from your credit card" or something like that, so I did not send payment. When my next bill arrived, it stated that I had a past due amount and I was being charged a late fee. I also received a disconnect notice. This was after following their direction of not sending a payment since I had signed up for autopay. When I called the rep, they told me that there is a glitch in their system and payments are not automatically deducted until the second bill. She credited me the late fee. However, the next bill I noticed that my rate had been increased by half. When I called I was told because I had received a disconnect notice. Even though I explained to the rep that the only reason I received the notice was because of the glitch in their system. The woman acted like it was my fault and in her "graciousness" she would offer to give me a credit that was less than the increase they had caused and give me an increased rate from the original agreement I had with them. After 40 minutes of this rep not helping I was allowed to speak with the manager who understood what I was saying and corrected everything. My issues are 1. they have a problem billing that they know about yet they don't fix it 2. They have a problem but the customer service rep tries very hard not resolve the problem 3.People after me are going to have the same issue but may not be as persistent as I am to get what they deserve. I will not be continuing with them after my contract is up.

Unhappy in ATL from Lawrenceville
March 28th, 2020



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No heart

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a customer for over 12 years, i always paid my bill, never got disconnected. Lately, i had a sugary and i was in bed for a while, one mornings i woke up feeling very cold, i found out that my gas was cut off...i called, paid over the phone and explained me situation...nothing worked, i was without gas (heat) for several days, sick in bed...bad customer service, no one to talk with.

Loyal customer from Atlanta
November 13th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reconnecting Is a Nightmare

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been with Scana for over 2 years. My service was disconnected on 8/2, bill was paid the morning of 8/3. I called customer service on 8/4 to inquire why service hadn't been reconnected, and was told that I can't get a service tech out to my house to reconnect until 8/7! Additionally, I'm being charged another $150 for the reconnect, as if I'm a new customer. The customer service reps were unhelpful and kept repeating the same lines over and over again:
"They DO NOT reconnect on the same day"
"They DO NOT provide service on the weekend"
"They can only send a tech out the next available date, only in 4 and 8 hour windows"
However, "If there is a gas leak, a tech can come out immediately to disconnect, but are unable to reconnect"

I've never had this happen before when there was a disconnect, and according to the customer service agent, "it is the responsibility of the customer to call after a disconnect to make arrangements for a reconnect. Scana does not reach out to the customer, even though the customer will need to be at home during the time of the reconnect. If after 10 days of no communication from the customer, Scana will automatically cancel the account! " CRAZY

Guess you better make your payments on time, because if not, you're looking at a 4-5 day wait!

Something has changed in Douglasville! from Douglasville
August 4th, 2018

Brian-We're sorry to hear you were disconnected and it appears your service is billed through SCANA Energy's Regulated Provider. Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your natural gas service. AGL is responsible for performing service requests for all of the marketers. We access their system and are provided the first available appointment for any type of service request. Someone at least 18 years old is required to be at home for the technician to restore the service, enter the home and relight the natural gas appliances. We do make outbound calls prior to disconnection, written notification 5 days before the service is disconnected, and since you are registered for an on-line account, you received an email payment reminder as well as an email disconnection notice. If you do not restore the service within 10 days, Atlanta Gas Light will send a final meter reading to close the account so you do not continue to be billed for monthly recurring charges. If you would like to review further, please call SCANA Regulated at 1-866-245-7742. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds September 26th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid this company

(1.4 / 5)

  DO NOT......I repeat....DO NOT... go with a company called Infinite Energy (gas utility service)!!! They are not coordinated with their e-Bill process. I received an e-Bill on the 16th, (FOR THE MONTH OF DECEMBER 2016) which got to me late btw. Today is the 20TH. The bill was supposedly due on the 5th (of THIS month), according to the service rep. And you disconnect my service?!?!?! Then when I call, you tell me there is nothing you can do, because you have to wait on AGL to turn it back on!!! I've NEVER heard of service getting turned off in the same MONTH of billing.... And yes, The account is fully up to date.....beyond pissed..... STAY AWAY FROM INFINITE ENERGY!

Daniel from Tucker
December 21st, 2016

Hi, Daniel, sorry we're seeing this so late, but we wanted to check in with you. I'm not sure I follow the chain of events here, but we do track all of our email correspondence and can look into this for you. We send a couple of notices when an account is past-due and try to call when a customer is at risk of having service disconnected because we know it can be a bit of a process to turn service on again--unfortunately the utility, AGL, does do that for us, and there's not much we can do about their schedule other than trying to keep service from being interrupted. Sorry to hear your experience fell short, and if you'd like us to look into this, please let us know.

Responds April 27th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy company without a soul.

(1.2 / 5)

  They are some money driven that they disconnected my service out of an unpaid balance of 53.48. Single mother of two small children with special needs. So sad!

M. C. from Decatur
June 14th, 2021

We are sorry to hear this and as a courtesy, we have credited the $150 security deposit that was charged to your account. If we may review anything further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

Responds June 16th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.2 / 5)

  We have been a GA Natural Gas customer for 2 years. We had been set up as an automatic bill payer for the entire duration of our service. For a reason that GA is unable to discern (not a rejected pmt, expired card, etc.) the payments stopped processing. This was an error on GNG not us. They claimed they sent ONE letter to us about disconnecting (which we never got) and called one time- but were unable to identify what number they called and did not leave a VM. No email communication was sent. They cut off our service on a night that the temp dropped to 32 degrees. We have a small infant and with no notice had to find a way to heat his room and also were unable to bathe him or cook dinner. They can't get anyone out until 4-8pm the following day. This is ridiculous during a pandemic where we are unable to work in an office or even shower/stay at a friends house due to quarantine. This is not how you treat customers. Completely unacceptable.

Hailey from Smyrna
November 18th, 2020

Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5910207 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.

Responds November 18th, 2020


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Complicated billing practices

(1.2 / 5)

  Been customer for years with auto pay due to many military deployments. I received a disconnect notice today. After waiting on hold for 48 minutes, Michael, whom was not very cler told me the company moved and all the auto pay customers were kicked out the system. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told they were not in the office. With all the fraud going on it is hard to believe a company of this size has moved and all auto pay customers are kicked out. I'm going to pay what I owe, I'm no longer going with auto pay and I'm looking or another provider. I guess long time customers don't matter. All I wanted was a clear legibly explanation and/ or speak with a supervisor. There was no apology for their mistake. I'm being taken for granted.

Allison H. from Riverdale
June 25th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Responds September 17th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Predator company

(1 / 5)

  I had never had issues with utility companies until I had trouble with gas south. After leaving them I swore I would never do business with them again. Then Gas South bought my existing energy company and the underhanded tactics were started. I had a season plan with bills around 130. My final bill jumped 400 dollars. When I did not pay immediately, my gas was disconnected (it was scheduled to be turn off at this time) and I was charged additional fees. I was told by there legal department I had a final amount. I paid the inflated final amount. two days later I was sent an additional bill and I am still being billed. Gas South is a terrible company.

george from Atlanta
June 30th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company, horrible experience

(1 / 5)

  Background: I set up auto-pay from the beginning using their service, the auto-pay was always working until there was one day, the gas was disconnected, I had no idea what's wrong with it, thinking about there might be an outage, I submitted a ticket and also emailed their customer service asking for a reason. Nobody replied to me, then a day after, I called their customer service, they told me there was a problem happened on auto-pay, so the payment did not go through for 2 months, then they disconnected my gas. They charged me a $60 re-connection fee and a $25 deposit to get me re-connected. I immediately paid the 2 months payment manually when the customer service told me the auto-pay was not working.

What did I do? I trusted their auto-pay system, but there was a problem. I trusted the customer service would know the problem is caused by their system, not me, but they did not take the responsibility. I trusted them that they would send me a notification if the payment did not go through, they didn't even send one and did not even respond to my ticket. What do they need? They just need their customers to pay for their fault.

Then I decided not to go further with this horrible company, and they charged me an additional $60 termination fee and a non-explanation base fee. How comes? The last month was already my last month in the contract, and the customer service told me that there will be no more fee charged if you close your account, your renewal will be automatically canceled. But their customer service cheated me! Their customer service also framed that I never used auto-pay, and I sent them the monthly email proof, and they never respond to me! See they do not need proof, they need $$$.

How horrible, my husband and I even doubt if they disconnect customers' auto-pay on purpose and charge them reconnection fee or termination fee to make money. These bad guys, are greedy not only make money from their normal gas provide but also their bad customer service. What can we do? We do not want to spend time on these rogue, we can only tell others these experiences, tell them that this company is not going to be responsible for their fault.

Guys please DO NOT use this company, DO NOT enroll in their auto-pay because that little discount will not cover your further trouble (both money and time) cost on them. Tell your friends and families to get away from them so your life will be so much easier!!!

Linda from Atlanta
April 7th, 2021

Good morning. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 6243023 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.

Responds April 8th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions