Home > Read Reviews > Scana Energy

SCANA Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for SCANA Energy are their billing & account management system, rated at 3.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.6 of 5.

SCANA Energy Rating

Georgia Gas Savings Score:


( 4.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About SCANA Energy

SCANA Energy began serving residential and commercial customers in 1997. They are a subsidiary of SCANA Corporation, a trusted source of energy in the Southeast for more than 160 years. SCANA Energy serves more than 475,000 households and businesses across Georgia.

36 Reviews for SCANA Energy


Good rate - communication - meh

(4.2 / 5)

  I checked these guys out having moved to ATL from Houston. We have deregulated Electricity in Texas, but not Natural gas. Anyway I signed up for the intro rate and waited to get hooked up. NEVER HEARD FROM ANYONE AT SCANA. I had to call Scanna to make sure my connection was scheduled. A bit of a pain. but it all worked out. Happy so far.

Happy w/ Scana from Buckhead
August 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCANA Energy Review

(4 / 5)

  The only problem I had in the change from GA Natural Gas to SCANA was during the interim month after canceling our account with GA Natural Gas and when our service began with SCANA, GNA trippled our per therm, costing us an extra $20 for that month. I assume GNA had the right to do so but I thought it poor that they did so.

Dawn Stubblefield from Marietta
April 28th, 2018

Dawn - We thank you for switching to SCANA Energy! Please let us know if we may ever be of assistance to you.

SCANA Energy Responds May 2nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Newly signed up

(3.8 / 5)

  Have only received my first bill. Selected Scana because of price rate offer

M. KELLY from Roswell
May 11th, 2018

Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy M.Kelly! Please let us know if you need anything.

SCANA Energy Responds May 15th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Report card: A-

(3.8 / 5)

  Nothing exciting to report for my 1 1/2 year relationship with SCANA energy. I have not had to needlessly suffer whenever I had to call customer service like other people relate to me. They were always polite and valued my time. They know it is the last thing I would choose to be doing.

Green H. from Norcross
November 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's Decent

(3.8 / 5)

  Overall, I have not had any serious problems with the company. They have okay customer service, sometimes it can take a while to get a representative on the phone but it all works out in the end. Prices are pretty good and the company is reliable.

Its pretty cool. from Savannah
October 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(3.8 / 5)

  I am new to Georgia and signing up with SCANA was an easy experience. The customer service was exceptional and I was very informed about the services that this company provided.

Kamisha Gipson from Jonesboro
September 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(3.6 / 5)

  I wish the cost was less I hardly cook I never spent a whole day at home and my bill was so high I almost fainted

Waveney from Conyers
February 14th, 2018

We'll be glad to review your account. If you are on Facebook, you can send us a private message at facebook.com/scanaenergy and be sure to include the name on the account and service address. You may also email us direct at ContactUsSCANAEnergy@scana.com.

SCANA Energy Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I am a recent new customer with Scana Energy and I must say I was impressed from the start. From the moment I called to set up service the customer service was fast and easy. The representative was very helpful and answered all my questions and concerns. I felt their fixed vs varied billing was confusing aside from the representative explaining it to me, it was not a very easy concept to understand or choice to make without knowing what kind of bills to expect in the future. The associate did however advise and direct me on the best options in my case and overall I have been happy with the service. No complaints here.

veronica from Snellville
March 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Okay Company

(3.6 / 5)

  Scana is a good company. Their rates are high but no more than the rest.

Sara from Atlanta
December 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Intro Rate danger

(3.4 / 5)

  Signed up for the .19 per therm intro rate. After 2 months rate increased to .56. Expected a nice low bill. Got slapped with one that was $156.00. Not what I expected. Not cool. Called up customer service. They offered to switch me to a fixed plan. So I switched to fixed.

Beware of the promotional rate from Savannah
September 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid like the plague!

(2.6 / 5)

  I was a customer of SCANA energy for 2 years in an apartment I shared. The rates varied greatly and the customer service reps never gave me a direct answer of why this would happen when we lived consistently the same way. Upon the end of our lease at the apartment Consumers continued to bill us despite the fact our lease had ended and we had provided them with a proof of the end of our lease. We had to pay two more bills than we should of, and threatened to send our bills to collections during the period of time we spent trying to get the issue resolved. If you have the opportunity to use another company, I would recommend that you do so!

Karen Lott from Savannah
November 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not happy so far

(2.4 / 5)

  First bill was high compared to Georgia Natural Gas. If this keeps up it will be cheaper to switch back. Informed me of a military discount after I signed up. So far not so good.

Dave L. from Douglasville
August 4th, 2018

Dave-We are sorry to hear this and see you have switched away. We reviewed your bill, and the monthly bill consists of natural gas consumption charge, you had selected the promotional rate of $0.429 per therm, $6.95 customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charge (amount will be the same no matter which marketer you choose and varies each bill) and state and local taxes. We are sorry to see you go and if you'd like to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thankfully, time to find another supplier.

(1.8 / 5)

  Last year, when I forgot to update my pricing plan, it doubled. With autopay, I didn't realize it until months later. I called to change and the CSR was very nice, but really didn't seem to care much (I get it, it's just a job). I was careful this time and noted the date for rate update in my calendar. Today, I went to secure the rate (which wasn't the cheapest, but wasn't too bad), and noticed that the customer service charge is "between $5.99 and $9.99." So I online "chatted" with another CSR who didn't really care much either, but she couldn't tell me the exact charge. First of all, I find it very odd that I have to pay a fee (to ANY company), for the pleasure of doing business with them, but most odd that they cannot tell me exactly what the fee is/will be. When I told the CSR that all of the other gas suppliers clearly listed their CSR fee, she disagreed and said they do not. Really? I'll find another supplier this week.

Rick from Hiram
August 10th, 2018

Rick - I'm sorry to hear you feel this way and think you may be referring to another company, as we don't have on-line chat and we disclose our customer service charge. SCANA Energy's customer service charge is $6.95 and is listed on our web-site, https://www.scanaenergy.com/rates-sign-up/residential-rates. You may receive a $1.00 discount on the customer service charge if you select our auto renewal rate plan, and an additional $1.00 if you sign-up for paperless billing and an automatic payment option such as bank draft or credit card. If you would like to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Our representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reconnecting Is a Nightmare

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been with Scana for over 2 years. My service was disconnected on 8/2, bill was paid the morning of 8/3. I called customer service on 8/4 to inquire why service hadn't been reconnected, and was told that I can't get a service tech out to my house to reconnect until 8/7! Additionally, I'm being charged another $150 for the reconnect, as if I'm a new customer. The customer service reps were unhelpful and kept repeating the same lines over and over again:
"They DO NOT reconnect on the same day"
"They DO NOT provide service on the weekend"
"They can only send a tech out the next available date, only in 4 and 8 hour windows"
However, "If there is a gas leak, a tech can come out immediately to disconnect, but are unable to reconnect"

I've never had this happen before when there was a disconnect, and according to the customer service agent, "it is the responsibility of the customer to call after a disconnect to make arrangements for a reconnect. Scana does not reach out to the customer, even though the customer will need to be at home during the time of the reconnect. If after 10 days of no communication from the customer, Scana will automatically cancel the account! " CRAZY

Guess you better make your payments on time, because if not, you're looking at a 4-5 day wait!

Something has changed in Douglasville! from Douglasville
August 4th, 2018

Brian-We're sorry to hear you were disconnected and it appears your service is billed through SCANA Energy's Regulated Provider. Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your natural gas service. AGL is responsible for performing service requests for all of the marketers. We access their system and are provided the first available appointment for any type of service request. Someone at least 18 years old is required to be at home for the technician to restore the service, enter the home and relight the natural gas appliances. We do make outbound calls prior to disconnection, written notification 5 days before the service is disconnected, and since you are registered for an on-line account, you received an email payment reminder as well as an email disconnection notice. If you do not restore the service within 10 days, Atlanta Gas Light will send a final meter reading to close the account so you do not continue to be billed for monthly recurring charges. If you would like to review further, please call SCANA Regulated at 1-866-245-7742. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disconnected

(1 / 5)

  My service was disconnected for being two days late I forgot to pay lpaid my bill in full and then they said I had to pay a 150.00 dollar deposit and a70.00 reconnection fee .what a rip-off I talked to the service rep and he acted like he did not care I have been with this company for about 15 years but I am going to find another gas provider.Do not do business with this company or they will rip you off

Eugene Blackman from Atlanta
October 14th, 2018

Eugene-We are sorry to hear your service was disconnected and do see notices and an email reminder was sent prior to disconnection. We do appreciate you being a customer and if you'd like us to review further, please contact us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unprofessional, Untrustworthy, Unconcerned

(1 / 5)

  I made payment arrangements and it was agreed upon that I would pay my balance in full on the 7th of March, my gas was disconnected on March 1st while I was home. The technician that came out did not knock on the door nor did he/she leave a note on the door. I called and spoke with the customer service at 8pm who rushed me off the phone and stated several times that they were closed and that if my payment went through then my service will be reconnected on Tuesday March 6. I stated that I have little kids in my house. So, is there any way I can have it reconnected sooner. She stated that's the only time that she has available, so now I have to go without gas for 4.5 days. She then asked if had water and lights, my response was yes. Question, what does that have to do with my gas being reconnected? I will be looking for a different service provider very soon. This is my first time experiencing this with this company and I have been with them for 3 years, never had to make payment arrangements nor had to deal with a company not honoring their word. Nor giving me any kind of notice before they disconnect my service. When I say NOTHING, I mean, no call, no letter in the mail, and sure no notice on the door when it was disconnected. I went to cook dinner and no gas. Very disappointed at this company.

Disappointed Customer from Douglasville
March 1st, 2018

We are sorry to hear this and we would be glad to review your account. Please be aware that Atlanta Gas Light (AGL) performs the service requests for all marketers and we are provided the first available appointment in their scheduling system and they don't provide same day service. If you are on Facebook, you may send us a private message at facebook.com/scanaenergy and be sure to include the name on the account and the service address. You may also email us direct at SCANAEnergyContactUs@scana.com.

SCANA Energy Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Updated: 12-13-2018
Example Bill
loading...