Home > Read Reviews > Scana Energy

SCANA Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for SCANA Energy are their billing & account management system, rated at 3.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.4 of 5.

SCANA Energy Rating

Georgia Gas Savings Score:


( 4.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About SCANA Energy

SCANA Energy began serving residential and commercial customers in 1997. They are a subsidiary of SCANA Corporation, a trusted source of energy in the Southeast for more than 160 years. SCANA Energy serves more than 475,000 households and businesses across Georgia.

48 Reviews for SCANA Energy


Easy Savings Switch

(4.4 / 5)

  Looking to save money on gas rate and Georgia Gas Savings made comparison very easy.

Gary from Atlanta
December 28th, 2018

Thanks for your review Gary!

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas Provider change

(4.4 / 5)

  Good as of now.

Jeron Sr. from Decatur
July 7th, 2018

Thanks Jeron! Please let us know if you need anything.

SCANA Energy Responds July 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scana in atlanta

(4.4 / 5)

  I haven't had too many problems with them, which is a good thing but one time I did have a question about my bill and they kept transferring me like they didn't know who I should talk too, simple question too

Daniel from Atlanta
October 29th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far, it's great.

(4.2 / 5)

  Not received any billing yet but assume all will be good.

Spoonie from Riverdale
February 1st, 2018

Spoonie - You may call us at 1-877-467-2262 if you would like to see when your bill will generate.

SCANA Energy Responds February 8th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rate - communication - meh

(4.2 / 5)

  I checked these guys out having moved to ATL from Houston. We have deregulated Electricity in Texas, but not Natural gas. Anyway I signed up for the intro rate and waited to get hooked up. NEVER HEARD FROM ANYONE AT SCANA. I had to call Scanna to make sure my connection was scheduled. A bit of a pain. but it all worked out. Happy so far.

Happy w/ Scana from Buckhead
August 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCANA Energy Review

(4 / 5)

  The only problem I had in the change from GA Natural Gas to SCANA was during the interim month after canceling our account with GA Natural Gas and when our service began with SCANA, GNA trippled our per therm, costing us an extra $20 for that month. I assume GNA had the right to do so but I thought it poor that they did so.

Dawn Stubblefield from Marietta
April 28th, 2018

Dawn - We thank you for switching to SCANA Energy! Please let us know if we may ever be of assistance to you.

SCANA Energy Responds May 2nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Newly signed up

(3.8 / 5)

  Have only received my first bill. Selected Scana because of price rate offer

M. KELLY from Roswell
May 11th, 2018

Thank you for choosing SCANA Energy M.Kelly! Please let us know if you need anything.

SCANA Energy Responds May 15th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Report card: A-

(3.8 / 5)

  Nothing exciting to report for my 1 1/2 year relationship with SCANA energy. I have not had to needlessly suffer whenever I had to call customer service like other people relate to me. They were always polite and valued my time. They know it is the last thing I would choose to be doing.

Green H. from Norcross
November 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's Decent

(3.8 / 5)

  Overall, I have not had any serious problems with the company. They have okay customer service, sometimes it can take a while to get a representative on the phone but it all works out in the end. Prices are pretty good and the company is reliable.

Its pretty cool. from Savannah
October 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(3.8 / 5)

  I am new to Georgia and signing up with SCANA was an easy experience. The customer service was exceptional and I was very informed about the services that this company provided.

Kamisha Gipson from Jonesboro
September 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(3.6 / 5)

  I wish the cost was less I hardly cook I never spent a whole day at home and my bill was so high I almost fainted

Waveney from Conyers
February 14th, 2018

We'll be glad to review your account. If you are on Facebook, you can send us a private message at facebook.com/scanaenergy and be sure to include the name on the account and service address. You may also email us direct at ContactUsSCANAEnergy@scana.com.

SCANA Energy Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I am a recent new customer with Scana Energy and I must say I was impressed from the start. From the moment I called to set up service the customer service was fast and easy. The representative was very helpful and answered all my questions and concerns. I felt their fixed vs varied billing was confusing aside from the representative explaining it to me, it was not a very easy concept to understand or choice to make without knowing what kind of bills to expect in the future. The associate did however advise and direct me on the best options in my case and overall I have been happy with the service. No complaints here.

veronica from Snellville
March 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Okay Company

(3.6 / 5)

  Scana is a good company. Their rates are high but no more than the rest.

Sara from Atlanta
December 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Intro Rate danger

(3.4 / 5)

  Signed up for the .19 per therm intro rate. After 2 months rate increased to .56. Expected a nice low bill. Got slapped with one that was $156.00. Not what I expected. Not cool. Called up customer service. They offered to switch me to a fixed plan. So I switched to fixed.

Beware of the promotional rate from Savannah
September 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good in average but price too high!

(3.2 / 5)

  good in average but price too high!

Luca from Decatur
December 17th, 2018

Luca-We'll be glad to review your pricing options. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262.

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your first bill

(2.8 / 5)

  I was really happy that I switched over to SCANA Energy until I received my first bill. It was for 1 day and was $49.31. The meter reading on the bill was 0, so they ended up charging me all the monthly fees and taxes for that one day! I couldn't believe this!!!!

Donna Satterlee from Atlanta
January 19th, 2019

Donna-Atlanta Gas Light Company (AGL) owns the pipes and meter to provide your gas service. The charge for the use of their system is billed to you as AGL Pass Through Charges on your monthly statement and are not prorated. You will receive these monthly charges no matter which marketer provides your service. Please call us at 1-877-467-2262 if we may be of further assistance.

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCANA just doubled their rates in Augusta

(2.8 / 5)

  Just got a letter from SCANA that their new rate plan is 1.2490 per therm. "A fixed rate plan is no longer a renewal option." I have been paying 0.569. This is a 2X increase! I have been a customer for 19 years. Disappointed in SCANA's handling of this increase; supposedly the letter went out to all Augusta customers.

Mahi from Augusta
November 6th, 2018

Mahi-In the past we did our best to maintain a pricing structure that offered consistent fixed pricing options across Atlanta Gas Light's service territory. The interstate transportation and storage costs associated with delivering the natural gas in your area of the state is higher. As a result, we no longer offer fixed pricing in your area.

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid like the plague!

(2.6 / 5)

  I was a customer of SCANA energy for 2 years in an apartment I shared. The rates varied greatly and the customer service reps never gave me a direct answer of why this would happen when we lived consistently the same way. Upon the end of our lease at the apartment Consumers continued to bill us despite the fact our lease had ended and we had provided them with a proof of the end of our lease. We had to pay two more bills than we should of, and threatened to send our bills to collections during the period of time we spent trying to get the issue resolved. If you have the opportunity to use another company, I would recommend that you do so!

Karen Lott from Savannah
November 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not happy so far

(2.4 / 5)

  First bill was high compared to Georgia Natural Gas. If this keeps up it will be cheaper to switch back. Informed me of a military discount after I signed up. So far not so good.

Dave L. from Douglasville
August 4th, 2018

Dave-We are sorry to hear this and see you have switched away. We reviewed your bill, and the monthly bill consists of natural gas consumption charge, you had selected the promotional rate of $0.429 per therm, $6.95 customer service charge, AGL Pass Through Charge (amount will be the same no matter which marketer you choose and varies each bill) and state and local taxes. We are sorry to see you go and if you'd like to review further, please call us at 1-877-467-2262. Representatives are available Monday - Friday 7am - 8pm and Saturday 8am - 5pm.

SCANA Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fixed rate plans are not available in Richmond Hill, GA

(2 / 5)

  Please consider making a change on this website to show that fixed rate plans are no longer an option if you live in Richmond Hill. In 2017 I received a letter from SCANA stating that a fixed rate plan is no longer a renewal option and I was placed on a variable rate plan. Apparently unless you live near the Atlanta metro area, a fixed rate plan is not an option any longer. My monthly bill moved from $73/mo in 3017 to $96 now. I will be looking for a fixed rate plan with another company.

LS from Richmond Hill
November 12th, 2018

Thank you for your post LS. In the past we did our best to maintain a pricing structure that offered consistent fixed pricing options across the Atlanta Gas Light service territory. However, the interstate transportation and storage costs associated with delivering the natural gas in your area of the state are higher. As a result, we no longer offer fixed pricing to service locations in your area.

SCANA Energy Responds January 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Updated: 02-14-2019
Example Bill
loading...