Home > Read Reviews > Georgia Natural Gas

Georgia Natural Gas Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Georgia Natural Gas are their billing & account management system, rated at 4.0 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 3.0 of 5.

Georgia Natural Gas Rating

Georgia Gas Savings Score:


( 4.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Georgia Natural Gas

Founded in 1998; a financially sound and stable corporation owned by two preeminent energy providers, AGL Resources and Piedmont Natural Gas, operating as an LLC in the Southeast under the name SouthStar Energy Services.

41 Reviews for Georgia Natural Gas


Neutral

(4 / 5)

  I haven't had any problems yet with the gas company in my apartment. Hopefully do not plan on having any future problems either. The prices could be a bit better especially during the winter when we are using the gas the most.

genera moore from Atlanta
October 13th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Georgia Natural Gas

(3.6 / 5)

  I would highly recommend Georgia Natural Gas to any of my family and friends. They have acceptable payment plans, im always satisfied with my bill. And to top it off they have great customer service.

MLR from Atlanta
November 11th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok, Not Great. Also not the worst

(3.6 / 5)

  I had Georgia Natural gas for about 2 years. They were fine, until a nasty winter and my gas was off for a couple days. Then my rates got way jacked up, and I have no idea why. I switched to Scanna, and have since been bathed in the warm glow of their natural gas embrace. There bills are cheap.

Savio from Macon
September 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Georgia Natural Gas

(3.4 / 5)

  I feel that my gas bill is extremely high considering I'm not at home most of the day (work 8 hours a day) . My gas bill should not be so much (300.00). There is no one else at home and I find it to be unfair.

Jacqueline L. Wade from Decatur
December 20th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service, Horrible Rates

(3.2 / 5)

  After being with GNG for over 2 years, I can say that I'm ready for another provider. Customer service is excellent! Agents have nice tones, are problem solvers, and easily accessible. However, GNG's rates are atrocious. Their promotional offers are average, but must be found through utility company referrals. After the initial offer, be ready to pay at least a $1 rate.

Star from Atlanta
January 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Georgia Natural Gas

(3.2 / 5)

  Overall GNG is meh. They have outdated pay options. We had to call in to pay for a couple of months because setting up the card online using their system is a bit of a hassle. They aren't the cheapest either; however, the people are nice and patient.

Georgia Natural Gas : meh from Mableton
October 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power is great

(3 / 5)

  My experience went well. Evrytime i needed an answer to a question they were always there.

Autumn from Monroe
November 9th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dependable service but Customer Service could be nicer.

(3 / 5)

  It was horrible to set up but thankfully after it was we didn't need to speak with anyone. The staff isn't the most friendly. The service continues uninterrupted and that is exactly what we needed. Enough talking to people having bad days. Georgia Natural Gas allows you to simply sign up and forget about it.

Jan Stehner from Augusta
November 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AGL is better then electric, but not as good as solar

(3 / 5)

  My experience with AGL has been neither outstanding nor subpar. When a company has little to no competition, their incentive to be better is not a factor, so I feel that they are about average.

Georgia Girl from Habersham County
October 27th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's a fine natural gas company.

(3 / 5)

  I think they are fine for a natural gas company. Our bill can be expensive in the winter but that's to be expected. Natural gas isn't my first choice over electric but they are good in a pinch.

E Smith from Athens
October 24th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gross incompetence in resolving billing/payment issues

(2.2 / 5)

  Currently owed a credit balance. Have been told three times that the check is in the mail. Have not received it. Doubt I ever will.

One address, one house, one gas meter .... three accounts (my former husband, the new homeowners, and me) all associated with the service at one address at the same time.

I requested discontinuation of service on 11/14/17 because House was sold and closing was scheduled for 11/15. Provided forwarding address for final bill. Received a HUGE bill and disconnect notice. I contacted GNG at which time GNG threatened to cut-off service if I did not pay the current amount due by phone even though I did not live there and had paid already. GNG had credited my former hisbsnds inactive acct. instead of my acct. They said they could not debit his acct and credit my acct for the payment; however, that is exactly what they did.

I have been told three times that they would refund my overpayment, but as of today I have received nothing but credit balance statements.

Gross incompetence in accounting practices and billing resolution.

J Davis from Dawsonville
December 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Could be better

(2.2 / 5)

  On hold for long periods of time

Redd from Austell
March 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GNG representative boasts that they turned off customers service for being penny shortage.

(2 / 5)

  My bill was approx. $231.00. I paid 97.91 on June 11th. I received a disconnection notice on the June 14th. On the 18th of June I paid 100.00. I always pay online. My final charges were 95.70, which I intended to pay July 6th, my payday. I received a bill July 5th with new charges plus pass due, 95.70. Leading me to believe that I would not be disconnected, since I had paid $100 of a 133.00 bill. Much to my surprise, by 2:00 pm my service was shut off. Needless to say I was very angry. I had made a good faith effort to pay my bill and customer service rep bragged that they just turned off service on a customer for a penny. How shameful!!! Additionally, Im paying $80.00 extra in fees even though I paid 3/4 of my bill. When I called GNG after paying the 100.00 the automated system did not say I was going to be disconnected, the system told me my balance. Once again leading me to think everything was ok. So much for being a long time customer.

A penny short from Tucker
July 7th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Early Termination Fee

(2 / 5)

  There were no explanation about early termination fee - except that terms and conditions were sent. A better offer came in from Gas South and I called to change - now I have a bill that includes early termination fee. In future, I will much more careful. I will not be doing business with GNG in future. moved to Gas South for better service and rates.

Malachi from Marietta
January 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I had problems

(2 / 5)

  At first I liked the look of the company,but when I went to try and make an order I had numerous problems with setting up the plan I wanted and the agent I spoke to did not seem to know what to do.

Teah from Atlanta
December 13th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas

(1.4 / 5)

  Very disappointed in the service that I received last week understand it was the holidays but I had to be without gas for over a week me and my children and here it is really winter so freezing freezing freezing it took them over a week to get it cut back on that's just not right

Not happy from Watkinsville
December 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  Been with GNG for 15 years. I had a fixed rate when I signed up and never received any notices to renew or change. I was confused that my bill was going higher and higher each month and decided to check out other companies. On April 15 I called Scana and was given a lower fixed rate and signed up. On April 16, I received an Email from GNG offering a lower per Therm and 12-month Fixed Plan IF I stayed with them as they had received a request from Scana for a switch in providers (Scana uses their pipelines). It was only then that I found out I was on a varible rate! I wanted to stay with GNG so I called GNG because I didn't want to change after 15 years and customer service stated I didn't have to do anything like calling Scana because my service would not start with Scana until May 1, 2018. Mind you, Scana had already contacted them. I decided to call Scana anyway. This was on April 20. Scana said they couldn't cancel my order because it had already gone in. May 21, I received a bill for $100.00 cancellation charge from GNG after she knew FULL well before she took the order I couldn't cancel with Scana.GNG is shabby and treats their customers like puke. The State of Georgia does not have a Utility Commission for grievances so they do what they want to customers. Now I am paying 2 GAS Bills per month a budget reconciliation bill of $800.00 from GNG and regular billing from Scana. Never missed a payment in over 15 years and I feel like they took me for my $100.00. Will never EVER deal with them again. Their customer services rep. need to be told it's ok if they don't know the answers to questions. They act as if and tell you anything and the customer loses in the end. They misled me and I feel it was on purpose. GNG KNEW on 4/16/2018 that Scana would not cancel my service when I entered service with them and the Customer Service Representative lied about I "didn't have to do anything" when I asked specifically if I should cancel Scana service! I know what was said to me!

Sara Wilson from Lithonia
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long time customer but it doesn matter to them

(1.2 / 5)

  Ive been with Georgia natural gas for over 20 years. 2 years ago I got into the guarantee billing program after two years of being in it instead of automatically renewing they did not. They said I was supposed to call but they didnt tell me that when I was on the phone with them. My monthly bill got up to $237 then I called to try to get some help with getting back into the guaranteed billing program But I still had to pay that bill plus more because it takes one to two billing cycles to get back in. So even though you might be a long-time customer and theres nothing they can do to help me and so Im switching companies.
You try to do things to make things simpler. If it was something you subscribe to your automatically in until you call to end it but not in this case so that seems to be a way that they can try to get more money out of you if you forget to do that.

Connir Gaddis from Canton
March 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lack of respect for people's time

(1.2 / 5)

  I made a mistake in trusting Ga Gas for my new service. I ordered the service, then they gave me eight hour window for me to wait for them to turn the gas on. I contacted the other Gas Marketers. They told me their time window is only two hours.
I have phoned three times trying to get to someone who will give me an approximate time-within two hours-of their arrival. No one show respect for us and give me an approximate time. After three phone calls, they are still only giving me an eight hour window.
Next time I get service, I will hire a different Gas Marketer. Georgia Gas has been very disrespectful. If I told a customer of my employer I couldn't give them a time within two hours, I would be fired. Georgia Gas doesn't respect their customers.

Georgia Gas doesn't have respect for Customer's time from Tucker
November 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My Experience!

(1 / 5)

  Service Rep was not helpful at all. She really needs some serious customer service training. I have never lived anywhere that I had to have natural gas for heating. I was home 3 -4 days each week and kept temp set at around 65 when I was home and off when I was not home. I live in South GA so we have very little cold weather. I live alone and do not understand how my bill could possible be so high. Around $300 for one month and almost the same for another month. Before next winter I will have all electric heating.

MB from Waycross
April 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Updated: 12-14-2018
Example Bill
loading...