Don't be duped
I renew my gas plan at the end of November. On Nov. 3, 2020, Gas South gave me a rate of 44 cents/therm for a fixed rate plan. I compared prices using the PSC rate publication and called various companies. When I decided to remain with Gas South, after many years as a customer, they refused to honor the rate they gave me. They do not contest that they gave me the rate. They simply said that they can change their offers at any time.
They did not tell me that the rate was only good for the duration of the phone call.
This is an abhorrent business practice, and I urge all consumers to beware of Gas South. This company did not disclose relevant information to customers about its rates.
I live in Stone Mountain, GA. I was a customer of Gas South for at least 16 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Does Not Disclose Relevant Price Info from Stone Mountain, GA on November 26th, 2020
Excellent
I called in today to push my bill date back by one day. Tamika was so extremely helpful and has exceptional customer service skills. She let me know options on getting a contract because I wasnt aware my contract expired . She was professional, courteous and even gave me words of encouragement.
I was very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

B. Tolliver from Acworth, GA on October 21st, 2020
Easy Breezy
I signed up on line and it was as easy as 1,2,3!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Abdul from Snellville, GA on September 2nd, 2020
Be careful if you auto pay and lose your credit card
I lost my credit card and contacted Gas South to change the payment method through my Bank Account. On May 15 I got an email confirming that payments would now be coming straight out of my bank account. Then I got a letter (not an email) dated May 22 advising that they couldn't process the $33.41 check payment received on May 15, 2020, and that my new balance would include a $30 returned check fee. They advised I'd have to pay immediately to avoid being disconnected. I went into their Manage.GasSouth.com site immediately and paid $120 to cover the supposed overdue payment, returned check fee and anything other fee you might decide to add on. And again I signed up for auto payment through my bank account. The overdue matter was a mistake made by Gas South, but, do you know what, I didn't feel like arguing, but instead will change to another company and tell all my friends how how handle business. The lost card had also been used for other auto monthly payments, but those companies emailed me and were paid immediately with no fine or made up fee. Your Customer Service sucks. You can keep the $30. Maybe give it to some poor soul who lost their job through the Pandemic - fat chance. Your acting like a dictatorship, you thoughtless people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie Sharman from Dallas, GA on June 2nd, 2020
No help during covid-19 virus
I have a past due bill with gas South. I called to try and make arrangements to pay on the bill month. I was told that if I don't have the bill paid off by the end of July it will still be turned over to collections. I thought people were trying to help others out during the covid-19 situation. I will never use gas South nor will I ever recommend it to anyone ever again. They tell me I have to pay 272 each month or it will be turned over to collections I've been working hard to build my credit up and keep it there now because of this is going to be destroyed thanks for nothing Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Carruth from Dallas, GA on May 14th, 2020
No help during covid-19 virus
I have a past due bill with gas South. I called to try and make arrangements to pay on the bill month. I was told that if I don't have the bill paid off by the end of July it will still be turned over to collections. I thought people were trying to help others out during the covid-19 situation. I will never use gas South nor will I ever recommend it to anyone ever again. They tell me I have to pay 272 each month or it will be turned over to collections I've been working hard to build my credit up and keep it there now because of this is going to be destroyed thanks for nothing Gas South.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Carruth from Dallas, GA on May 14th, 2020
Very bad company. A lot of hidden fees.
I would like to give a "0" zero stars. Unfortunately there is no zero option. This company is so bad. This company put all their fingers and toes in their mouth for money. They have a lot of hidden fees they don't tell you. I would not recommend this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kozim from Cumming, GA on April 1st, 2020
Expensive
Been a customer for a few years, when I started getting notices about better rates, they wouldn't budge on their price which was 30% higher per therm. For convenience, I stayed an additional year but was prepared the next year and left at the next renewal. When when I did leave, they stuck me for an extra $10 which I paid, and then another $10 dollars because it wasn't on time. They don't respect or appreciate their customers and seem to be vindictive if you leave.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tyler Smith from Kennesaw, GA on February 18th, 2020
Gas South Billing is Unreliable
Gas South cannot be trusted to send out electronic bills timely. Last month, they sent the bill at 3:39 AM the day before it was due and then proceeded to screw up the online payment I made. My wife paid that as well as the February bill and zeroed out the account. Low and behold, on the bill recieved January 27 by e-mail, they showed there was an even higher bill sent 4 days before it was due to be paid with an inaccurate balance due. It did not show credit for the prior amounts paid and tried to charge me late fees.
I complained to Gas South directly, but they did nothing right. I'm going to see about switching to another gas service since it is obvious I can no longer trust gas souths billing process anymore. I've had the service for over a year, never had a billing problem until December 2019.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cnb from Dallas, GA on January 31st, 2020
Sorry Customer service and company
So they cut of my gas with out disconnection notice on yesterday and want be able to reconnect until Tuesday. Please please stay far away from this company they don't care about their customers. I wish I could give them the lowest grade possible because they are just that pathetic of a company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wanda from Decatur, GA on January 24th, 2020







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Gas South are the order experience, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
10%
 
4 Stars
24%
 
3 Stars
12%
 
2 Stars
18%
 
1 Stars
37%
 
2.1 / 5
Overall
2.0 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.6 / 5
Order Experience
2.2 / 5
Customer Service
1.8 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.7 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Gas South

Based in Atlanta, Gas South is a locally owned and operated company currently serving over 250,000 residential, business and governmental customers throughout the state of Georgia.


All Gas South Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. Atlanta Gas Light
No Contract!

Month-to-Month
$0.590 / therm
  • Earn up to $20 in bill credits!
  • No Deposit
  • 6 months
    $0.590 / therm
  • Earn up to $20 in bill credits!
  • No Deposit
  • 12 months
    $0.510 / therm
  • Earn up to $20 in bill credits!
  • No Deposit
  • 12 months
    $1.130 / therm
    12 months
    $1.130 / therm

    Month-to-Month
    $1.470 / therm
    24 months
    $0.550 / therm
  • Earn up to $20 in bill credits!
  • No Deposit