Gas South Reviews

Gas South Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gas South are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 of 5.

Gas South Rating

Georgia Gas Savings Score:


( 4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Gas South

Based in Atlanta, Gas South is a locally owned and operated company currently serving over 250,000 residential, business and governmental customers throughout the state of Georgia.

44 Reviews for Gas South


Gas South is Pretty Good

(3.4 / 5)

  I ordered Gas South and had them for a year. Overall, the experience was OK, I guess. It was about the same as other Gas Providers I've had. They had a real good rate when I first signed up, but they weren't the cheapest guy on the market when I needed a new contract so I went elsewhere. I will say I had to call a couple times and I felt like I waited on the phone FOREVER.

David F. from Macon
August 25th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do the pay as you go if you dont have to

(2.6 / 5)

  My first customer rep made me feel like I was crazy for saying that the bill didnt add up. Once I spoke with the second rep the following month after because it was time to pay again and the price was over what I expected she told me that the first rep didnt explain the bill correctly nor did she charge me the right amount on my first bill which led to a past amount being due in the next months amount. Ive been in the brand new constructed home for less than a month now and have already had to pay $300. Also, please make sure you understand the payment arrangement program. Because you will not get off the pay as you go program if you have to make those arrangements and that should be our number one goal in order to take control of what we spend. I wasnt expecting to use the payment plan but because we wasnt bill correctly I had to in order to make sure my other bills were on time. My husband and I have been paying bills way before we got this home and say that this is the worst way to bill someone. I like to pay for what I use and not what they think Ill use based on others in my area and credited back an appropriate amount to our cards instead of the next months bill. I truly believe its a rip off.

Sharon from Dallas
March 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High price for okay service

(2.6 / 5)

  Never on time to fix anything if something goes wrong, once the problem is fixed the service is fine, but nothing special for the price.

Jimmy Mack from Carrollton
December 24th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nothing Special

(2.4 / 5)

  I have used Gas South for a long time. While there is nothing particularly bad about them, they could use some better customer service. I have called a few times and received the run around with no specific answer ever given. After a while I just give up and move on. Service itself is adequate though.

A. Person from Suwanee
October 9th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gas South Billing is Unreliable

(2.2 / 5)

  Gas South cannot be trusted to send out electronic bills timely. Last month, they sent the bill at 3:39 AM the day before it was due and then proceeded to screw up the online payment I made. My wife paid that as well as the February bill and zeroed out the account. Low and behold, on the bill recieved January 27 by e-mail, they showed there was an even higher bill sent 4 days before it was due to be paid with an inaccurate balance due. It did not show credit for the prior amounts paid and tried to charge me late fees.
I complained to Gas South directly, but they did nothing right. I'm going to see about switching to another gas service since it is obvious I can no longer trust gas souths billing process anymore. I've had the service for over a year, never had a billing problem until December 2019.

cnb from Dallas
January 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing

(2 / 5)

  I've been a gas south customer almost 4 years now. Last month gas south took it upon themselves to charge my card TWICE within a week. Didn't even bother to tell me, I had to find out when I checked my account balance. There was a lot of back and forth between me, my bank & gas south before I got my money back. I was upset to get a bill bc not only did they screw up, but have never even bothered to say they are sorry! Customer service is a JOKE all they want to do is try to switch me to a different rate plan everytime I call smh. Taking my business elsewhere!

Heather C from Atlanta
April 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Historic payment ????

(2 / 5)

  Ive only had gas south for about 5 months but instead of paying my actual bill on the pay as you go i am paying a "Predicticted historical payment" which means all of the prior tenants if their bills were outrageous then since my bill is based on the history my bill is outrageous. Even though i dont even use my heat hardly.!! Any suggestions

Brian Gainesville Ga from Gainesville
January 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor business model

(2 / 5)

  I scheduled an appointment to have my services set up. I was prompted to pick the time-slot during which I was available (morning or afternoon). After scheduling the appointment for the morning I was told that they don't have time slots and that a technician would come by between 8am and 4pm. This required me to take a full day off work in order to meet them.
On the day of the appointment when I called to see if they could narrow down the time window, I was told they have no way of narrowing it down. I then asked if the technician could call on the way to my address and was told that they could only call when they had already arrived. This is a poor business model for a company that wants to start and maintain customer relationships.

Julie B. from Athens
October 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive

(1.8 / 5)

  Been a customer for a few years, when I started getting notices about better rates, they wouldn't budge on their price which was 30% higher per therm. For convenience, I stayed an additional year but was prepared the next year and left at the next renewal. When when I did leave, they stuck me for an extra $10 which I paid, and then another $10 dollars because it wasn't on time. They don't respect or appreciate their customers and seem to be vindictive if you leave.

Tyler Smith from Kennesaw
February 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total bait and switch

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved here from VA (no gas there in our neighborhood only electric...) for an executive transfer & while waiting for my family to join have a small apt less than 1,000 sq ft with only gas heat. Was signed up for .49 term promotion which has now TRIPLED TO $1.29 A therm and a $40 a month pass through rate!! Bill went from $13.06 to new avg of $79!! With less usage!! I run a space heater and keep it at 68 in rest of the aptwhat sort of lie is this rate plan?? My gas is MORE than my electric. Hope I find my house with an electric furnace like I had up northIll never do this again.

So Pissed In Sandy Springs from Atlanta
March 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.8 / 5)

  The simple truth is that I opted for the pay as you go plan I'm a state employee who is paid semi monthly which is twice a month. informed that to the marketer gas south the representative who set me up stated this plan is ideal for you lied. I received the bill and paid the bill on 12/18/17 The service was disconnected on 01/11/18 called to see what could be done for reconnection to occur paid 232.75 on 01/12/18 was informed service order would be completed 01/17/18 between 8am-4pm no one called to update to show courtesy or came. I called gas south to hold the phone line for 2 hours to be told the next available date is Monday 01/22/18 and I'm not over looking the weather. The coldest days on record single digits this is outrageous on both parties gas south and Atlanta gas and light shame on both and I hope your family's don't have to rely on your service because they would be without. I have been without heat, hot water and the inability to cook food. I have had to buy heaters to try and heat the home which keep tripping the breaker box which blew the microwave had to purchase another microwave so I able to heat water for my family and to top it off microwave food for the duration of this horrible experience just to be told I have to wait and additional 5 days for service to be restored and sorry for the inconvenience this is a reflection on not only the marketer but the distributor as well . Lastly the marketer gas south decides to send me an email to soften the blow yet again failed they couldn't even get my name right they addressed me as Sabrina and my name is Sonya that showed me truly the level of concern so whomever has a opportunity to read this review be mindful of your zip code it might not be a priority to expedite the process in a timely manner.

Sonya from Atlanta
January 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The technicians of reconnection

(1.6 / 5)

  I had an appointment today for reconnection. The appointment was from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. it is now 4:06pm and I have to pick onr of my children up from an school function and I've been sitting in the same position all day long and no one has showen up for the appointment to reconnect my gas. I am NOT having a good experience at this moment because, I took off my whole day to accommodate your technicians and now they're telling me that there's no telling when he will be here today .I have done an 8-hour shift waiting on your technician to show and do a reconnection. I do not understand why it takes all day and then some for technicians to come out to reconnect something they cut off so quickly, if that is the case you people need to hire more technicians. I am very dissatisfied today I will not wait all weekend for gas I will not reschedule for another appointment I do not have another day to waste from work waiting on your technicians and like I said I took off of work but you expect your payment if I cannot work how can I make your payment so my experience today is super extremely poor piss-poor... to be exact..

Alma Andrews from Decatur
October 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM IT.

(1.6 / 5)

  I have had the worst experience with this gas company in the 30 short days I've had the service. I just opened a new account with them less than a month ago and never received my first bill. They even cut off my service without notice. Currently looking to change services already. This is utterly ridiculous. PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

hateGC from Atlanta
September 29th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER use gas south

(1.4 / 5)

  Worst rates and service

Rip off from Dallas
February 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad experience

(1.4 / 5)

  Very upsetting when the temperature is below freezing, no show up from the gas company on the day scheduled to connect the gas, and (ice on the cake) have gas connection reescheduled two days later. Terrible experience!!

Michele from Villa Rica
January 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

new homeowner treated like a deadbeat

(1.2 / 5)

  I was really excited to be a new homeowner until the gas company shut off my gas with no warning 3 days after I closed On the house. I called To get the guy hooked up on a Wednesday and they said they wouldn't be out until Tuesday. 6 days with the nightly temp in the 30s with a baby in the house who ended up getting sick and going to the hospital. Happy holidays to you too. What kind of asshole turns off the gas to a quarter million dollar house with never any late bills right before a holiday weekend? I had to step out to visit my daughter at the hospital and missed the guy on Tuesday during your 9 hour window so guess what a few more days with no gas! How about a courtesy call or something. It's 2018 get with the times! I signed a 2 year contract and this is how a new customer is treated? Unbelievable. Any other company would be out of business if they kept up these practices.

Pneumonia2018 from Jonesboro
November 28th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry Customer service and company

(1 / 5)

  So they cut of my gas with out disconnection notice on yesterday and want be able to reconnect until Tuesday. Please please stay far away from this company they don't care about their customers. I wish I could give them the lowest grade possible because they are just that pathetic of a company

Wanda from Decatur
January 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High Rates and No Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  A faithfully customer with Gas South for over 10 years, living in the same house. In December 2019, Gas South sent a bill to me for $300.00. When contacting Gas South, I explain that the property is empty and has been empty for 6 months. The property has been on the market to sale. Prior to leaving the property, I turned water heater pile light off, the oven pile light is turned off, the heater unit in the artic is turned off, and the control on the wall is off. Please explain to me how the bill is $300.00 for one month in a empty house. Gas South Customer Service stated that they still charge for gas transferring into the unit. I told them to cut the Gas Off. The Customer Service Representative stated they would be GLAD discontinue the service immediately.

Trina Taylor from Lithonia
January 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst customer service

(1 / 5)

  6 hours waiting for technician with no phone call. Could only light one furnace because they didnt bring a ladder. Called to ask for a return visit to relight the other one and was told lighting the furnace is a courtesy. So why the heck did I sit there for 6 hours waiting on a bozo with a lighter. Absolutely ridiculous

Clos from Ball Ground
October 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  They will try to get you to sign up with a good price. But their system requires you to over pay by hundreds of dollars over the course of your term that they will "send back" once you've finished using their services. They never send the money back. Whatever "rate" they give you, their little program will get about 2.00 a therm out of you. Which is double what you should be paying. This company is predatory and deceitful, please seek gas services elsewhere.

A Wolf from Macon
June 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...