Reviews for Stream Energy

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.8 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.6 stars.


Recent Good Review from Stewart

No problems with this company
I see a lot of negative ratings, but I have had no problems. Autopay works as it should and prices have been competetive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stewart from Valdosta, GA on July 22nd, 2022


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No problems with this company
I see a lot of negative ratings, but I have had no problems. Autopay works as it should and prices have been competetive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stewart from Valdosta, GA on July 22nd, 2022
Simply The BEST!!!!!
I'm not sure about these other reviews, but my experience with this company was one of the best! Not only were their rates one of the lowest, they also had great customer service and patience. I will definitely recommend this company to anyone. Thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfied Customer from Covington, GA on April 20th, 2021
The Real Deal
After decades with the old gas Monopoly, we switched to Stream in
May of 2008, after a friend recommended them..As a result, weve saved thousands over the past 13 years, by paying a much lower rate than before, & Stream even helped us get a significant Senior discount on our monthly base service charges, that we didnt even know was an option. We gladly recommend Stream to all our friends & neighbors..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Saving BIG In South GA from Valdosta, GA on April 1st, 2021
Love It
I was struggling to pay my Georgia Natural Gas ® bill due to the high rates. My bill on average was $160 a month. I switched to stream through a friend and my new bill is $56! I am so amazed by this. So happy with the savings.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dinah from Stone Mountain, GA on January 28th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Costumer service
My apartment was in a fire on 9/11/208, I called in the week after to cancel my service, however, my service was never canceled, I am not sure why? I spoke to so many customer reps to resolved the problem everyone I spoke to before Ms. Marrie, was being rude and very disrespectful until I email customer service with pictures of my burn apartment building and my statement of when I moved out on 9/11/2018 because of the fire. They were still billing me for the service even though no one was living in the unit because of the fire.

I email customer service with pictures of my apartment building BURN DOWN and the statement of me move out on 9/11/2018 and Marrie Castilon was the only person who helps me out of the 5 or 7 other people I spoke to before. she called me the day after I send my email and my problem was resolved she took care of the outstanding balance of what I was billed for. I am so grateful for her help everyone else I spoke to assume I wasn't telling the truth. Thank Marrie Castilon!!! I am so great full for your help!!! and resolving the issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thia from Smyrna, GA on April 19th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Nickel and Dime, No Customer Relationship
Ive been a customer for Stream prior to the pandemic. I thought I was receiving the best rate, things were going well at the very beginning, and initially signing on, everyone was so friendly...of course, new customer perks. I will say, the house I currently live in is an older home, therefore, I understand higher rates will apply as you hit the winter season. However, I do feel the relationship since 2021 has become a nickel and dime scenario. I have looked numerous times in my email to hunt for price updates when the year membership ends, even just a reminder and here is where you sign up, and they send nothing. They only send your bills. What I mean by this is, Id wished for some kind of update: the fee will go up to this price if you do not renew. Its a total guessing game regarding the exact date things will roll over, and there is no relationship whatsoever. When you do go past that last month or day something rolls over, it feels as though they are happy to receive the extra $$ from you and really dont even try to get you back on the membership fixed rate. It jumps to a much higher fee. You handle everything on your own, and if you call to voice your concern, there is a defensive and almost an our bases are covered type of handling than even just the slightest what can we do or we are so sorry to hear this, lets find you the best rate. Even if I can see the best rate in front of me, that business empathy relationship is sometimes all that I need and am not asking for a free item. I do expect as a loyal customer for better dialogue from your customer service reps. I call and am always left with, why did I even bother. Ive called about this concern in the past.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K from Norcross, GA on March 13th, 2024
They will nickel and dime you on late and disconnect charges
Once you are late with a payment for a day, they will put a $10 late fee on you and send you a letter in the middle of the billing cycle and if you dont pay their $10 late charge immediately, they will put another $10 late charge, and then send you an intent to disconnect letter for which they will charge another $10. This is ridiculous and on a boarder with harassment. I will disconnect from them as soon as my contract is over!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Max from Alpharetta, GA on May 18th, 2023



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

21 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst Company Ever
Please do not ever go to this company. The customer service is absolutely horrible. They tell you several different things and never remember anything. After several years of loyalty to these people, paying my bill on time via auto-pay I advised them that I was canceling the services because of the high cost. At no point during my last conversation was the cancellation process explained. I contacted the new services and Stream told me because I had the new company contact them for a change of service I was charged $150. I started the cancellation process in June and each time was told to pay a certain amount & I would be clear. When talking with them in June I asked them to keep me on autopay until the order was canceled. However, that did not happen. For the months of June, July, and August I was charged over $800. At no time did they tell me or explain to me "their process" as the last representative I spoke to on 9/12/2023 kept saying "It's our process". The representative I spoke to on 9/12/2023 tells me it was told to me over a year ago. Really? There should be a standard statement in reference to cancellation service at any time the customer mentions cancellation. I was told if I had called in the $150 fee would have been waived. Really? If I had known that, do one not think I would not have called? Apparently, I was supposed to know that was part of "their process". Stay away from these people. "Their process" will rip you off. Their per therm is the highest and the customer service is horrible. No consideration for your loyalty. Totally disappointed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marilyn from Decatur, GA on September 12th, 2023
Stay away from Stream Natural Gas
Stay away from Stream Natural Gas. No customer service, shady business practices and only interest is to "cover themselves" from any liability due to THEIR MISTAKES. Georgia has many natural gas marketers and rates are always changing (various companies competing). Before my rate was re-setting, I used Stream's own website to switch Georgia natural gas companies (as I have done many times in past with other GA natural gas marketers). I received a Stream Account Number, congratulatory email welcoming me to their service & restating the competitive rate I had locked in. Due to auto-bill, with my current provider, I just realized couple months later that I am not a customer of Stream (and am getting charged an excessive rate). In order to come to resolution, I reached Stream Customer Service (had to manually go thru 4 different "Stream Customer Service" phone numbers in order to reach the Stream Georgia Customer Care line (none of other Stream customer care divisions could transfer me and gave me inaccurate phone numbers). When finally reached proper Stream customer care, attendant was rude and outlined that their notes show they attempted to call at 3 different times & couldnt reach me, but policy is no vm nor email. Stream noted they needed to do meter check before initiating service & account was cancelled. No documentation, no vm, no email from Stream at all. Stream noted they could help me by getting me started on a new account, but they have no liability to previous issue. Multiple calls to try to find resolution left with nothing. I reached the Georgia Public Service Commission to see about help. They noted that this often happens with Stream. Complaint has been filed. Stay away from Stream!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KurtD from Alpharetta, GA on May 10th, 2023
Horrible customer service
Moved my service and now I get 3 bills a month with diff balances, cut off notices for old address although we paid the bill out prior to moving and nobody speaks clear enough to be understood and if you ask for a supervisor well they disc your call. We are changing our gas service to another company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cathy Wilson from Atlanta, GA on June 9th, 2022
Worst company and costumer service ever
This people are incompetent, they really dont help you at all, they only make an appointment so they can come you your house connect the service a week from the day you call, or the guy shows up and just stays in the car until is time to leave, I definitely do not recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stephany from Lilburn, GA on June 3rd, 2022
Double Charged by Stream Energy
My bill has been out of wack since I started service. I've really never paid much attention to my bill, but no matter how much I paid it never seem to come down.
during the pandemic I fell behind, due to UI benefits not being paid properly, three or 4 months of not getting paid then getting it all at once. I paid what I could but that wasn't good enough. after our UI benefits were cut off I had only my SSDI to live on, my rent cost 875 and bills for gas 150 electric 150 water 150 what was left was very little to buy food I made a payment of 150 on April 1st 2022 a week later my gas was shut off I couldn't understand why my gas was shut off I though I was paying my bill with enough to start bring down my past due I never realized I was paying two bills one to stream and the other two Atlanta Gas and Light seems steam gas is a complete rip off they purchase the gas thru Atlanta Gas and Light then not only charge you for the gas but also charges you for their bill to Atlanta Gas and Light but at no time was I made aware of this even when I had spoke I was never made aware that I was also paying Atlanta Gas and Light when talking to the rep from stream I question why if I'm being charged by Atlanta Gas and Light why am I being charge by Stream he said no your being bill by us and also by Atlanta Gas and Light for what if the gas is being provided by Atlanta Gas and Light what services are the providing that no one in their right mind would pay 148.60 now I am a single guy live on my own and try to keep things at a minimum what I'm being charged is out rages and dishonest it's a scam and costing the people hundred if not thousands of dollars of their hard earned money no more tell Georgia to get rid of these companies need proof I've the got it.
Items double Charged as follows, all these are stream
Stream Energy services 72.19
Monthly charge 6.95 taxes
City sales 1.50
Lol/Marta/Ed 2.37
State and sales tax 3.17
These are Atlanta Gas and Light charges as follows
Base charge 69.56
City tax 1.32
Lol/Marta/Ed 2.09
State sales tax 2.78
For a grand total of 161.93
These charges are reduculess for a single guy and showed I'm being charged double
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert Tharp from Atlanta, GA on April 24th, 2022
Buyer beware
I am trying to sign up with this company. Originally when I moved into my house 5 years ago it was registered with a bad address. I called the 866 number for Georgia to get it changed in their system. The first guy could not help me transferred me to customer services. It was a bad phone line with an operator with an Asian accent. The phone call did something weird about 5 minutes into the call and I lost the lady but the call was still active. I called back and asked for customer service. The lady told me she could update my billing address. I told her I was a new customer no in their system. She tried to look me up in her system anyway. I again asked for customer service. She then told me she needed to put me on hold. Forget it. This company is obviously micro managing their staff. Not worth it bad computers and staff that do not have the power to correct issues.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Cumming, GA on November 10th, 2021
DO NOT USE STREAM
My rate was changed without my permission to the highest rate possible. I went from paying $170 to $876.00 in one billing cycle. They claimed they mailed it to me but I never received it. I was hung up on twice after inquiring. Final got a rep who said she change it back but then said could not change it. Wow! This is par for the course. Stream even turned off my gas and I had a zero balance. Zero! When I called, all I got was an apology and a reconnect fee and was without gas for 3 days. This is a sorry excuse for a company. I was advised numerous times that was being transferred to a supervisor only to be transferred a rep. Fernando, a supervisor said he would switch me back to the original. He said that the bill was wrong and said this is not possible for the bill to be that high. He said he never saw a bill like this, so he opened a ticket. He also said that there was no gas leak and the usage hadnt changed.
I knew something was wrong and had I not called it would have still continued.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Theresa Jordan from Roswell, GA on September 27th, 2021
Sucks
Stream Sucks. Simple as that. The site barely works. For a company as large as Stream, the functionality of the site should be no question. I have to call in every single month to be added back on auto-pay. Every month I hear promise after promise that I was added back. Every month I find out that I was taken off without notice.

I can't add auto-pay through the site. Was there any testing done with the test? Do they have a QA team? Did they go through third-party contractors for this site? It is horrible. It consistently throws errors and all I have heard back from the last 4 to 5 months is that they are updating their systems. I'm a software engineer for a large corporation. Even at the size of my company a simple customer facing site like this wouldn't be hard to make sure functions.

Who ever runs their IT's online dept should be fired. Seriously. I would change providers but they run a legal monopoly within my area and I have no other options but to put up with this shitty company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off Customer from Atlanta, GA on September 21st, 2021
SCAM!!!
I believe Stream is a scam. You cannot pay your bill online. They charge $2.95 to make payment over the phone. The customer service is horrible and they never able to solve the problem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shellz from Union City, GA on August 16th, 2021
Absolutely Horrible
There is no way to pay online. The phone system is a NIGHTMARE. Sometimes you get friendly Texans who have to transfer you to your state (mine is Georgia) but often you get angry outsourced assholes who demand information they do not need. If my apartment complex did not use them, and force me to use them, I would never use this service. Stream Energy is a horrible company to work with, and it's honestly not worth the frustration. If you're looking for a good gas company, try to find one in your state that uses competent people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry from Atlanta, GA on July 14th, 2021
All I can say is scam artists!!
I truly think this is a scam, and taking advantage of people's money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aspin Hall from Jonesboro, GA on July 2nd, 2021
Not the best decision
We switched to STREAM this past season. We feel it may have been a mistake signing on with STREAM and we will most likely pay to break our 12-month contract unless STREAM can get our account information straightened out. Although others who provided reviews, have had their gas cut off, we have not had that issue. Our issues with have been with account services. Our info was entered incorrectly which has caused issues in accessing our account with customer service. STREAM only use SS # for customer verification and that number was entered incorrectly by the representative when I originally signed on. In addition, the website is glitchy, lack of knowledge with customer service representatives, and there is a language barrier with most customer service representatives. The customer service 'managers' do a better job than the representatives but they seem limited as well and a bit short tempered stating they are frustrated with the situation as well. Indicates to me that the problems are more internal. STREAM has been in business since 2004/05 one would think they would have their act together. I would suggest staying away from STREAM for now. There are several other companies in the Atlanta area with similar rates that are worth looking into and have less issues. I wish I had researched reviews prior to signing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K. Hunt from Atlanta, GA on May 12th, 2021
Customer service
The worst customer service ! They was taking my money for an old account which had no balance and not the new one and wont refund me my money . The supervisor was horrible and would not transfer me to his boss . Do not use there services
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Decatur, GA on December 26th, 2020
VERY INCONSIDERATE AND INSENSITIVE COMPANY STREAM
MY HUSBAND SIGNED UP WITH THIS LOUSY COMPANY WITH INEXPERIENCE WORKERS THAT CUT OFF OUR HOT WATER OVER $56.00 THEN WE SET UP APPOINTMENT 11/6/2020 TO RECONNECT SERVICE 4PM-8PM ON THAT DAY AND THEY CANCEL OUR OUR ENTIRE ORIGINAL APPOINTMENT THEN STATED TO US THEY MADE US DIFFERENT APPOINTMENT FOR 11/10/2020 TO RECONNECT THAT WE HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF SO NOW IT WILL BE JUST ABOUT A WEEK WITH NO HOT WATER AND WHEN YOU HAVE NO HOT WATER I AM TOLD YOU HAVE NO HEATER AS WELL I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO DISSATISFIED WITH A COMPANY BEFORE LIKE I AM WITH THIS COMPANY. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS COMPANY.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

INCONSIDERATE COMPANY STREAM from Stone Mountain, GA on November 7th, 2020
HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!!!!!! I HATE THEM!!!!!!
They are fucking rip-offs!!!!!! They will cut your service for a small amount just so they can charge their reconnect fee and at first it was 30 dollar and now they are telling me its 50 fucking dollars!!!! They are fucking rip-offs and I hope this whole fucking company burns to the ground!!!!! They take your money and don't give a fuck about the customers!!!!! I HATE THEM!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FUCK YOU!!!!!!!!!! from Mcdonough, GA on October 30th, 2020
No consideration; Worst company
They have no consideration for humanity. They will turn your gas off without needing you there but when youve paid them in full and its time to be reconnected, they need access to your home. Had the wrong phone number listed so never received a called about the gas being disconnected. Im 81 years old and that have left with without gas for days.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L.M. from Snellville, GA on September 30th, 2020
A customer service experience so bad that it was over before it started
This company put a hard inquiry on my credit report that I didn't authorize. They have me as applying for an installment loan. They denied it despite black in white proof on paper from the bureau. The bureau even told Stream how to go about removing it and they just begrudgingly wouldn't do it. Of course I got it removed anyway. But they do not deserve the privilege that it is to work with the general public and collect their private information. They're a bunch of thugs. On top of that, the whole staff is spanish speaking, which is the wrong attitude to have in this diverse country. They'll take anyone's money but only hire their own. Just terrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erica from Marietta, GA on September 24th, 2020
WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!!
Worst customer service in the world. They hang up on you. They never try to resolve your issues. All they know is MONEY!!! Never sent me any letter for any notifications, no matter plan expiration or new contract since I went to paperless invoices. They keep saying they sent, but actually not. NO EMAIL EITHER! They are super happy to charge you with the flex rate without notifing you and even after you renewed with fixed rate, they will charge you with flex rate for a period as well. If you are on auto-pay, you would be in TROUBLE! If you are not on auto-pay, they will charge you additional fee no matter how you pay them!!! Worst company in the world! Worst customer service in the world! NEVER go to them for any services, so many options, why them?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sunny from Duluth, GA on February 27th, 2020
DO NOT USE STREAM!
Stream is the worse of the worse. They dont care about you, and they wont work with you on nothing. They will take your money and not even care if the service the provide is being provided or not. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE customer service. DO NOT USE STREAM!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Stone Mountain, GA on January 29th, 2020
Horrible Customer Service!!
I work in an industry that deals with people's homes on a daily bases. I would never refer anyone to this company. I was even an agent for Stream. I signed people up for their services!! Because the agents have no idea what they are doing and have mediocre training my gas was shut off for a $40 balance in the middle of winter. PLEASE AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!! If I could give no stars I would........
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ZLWS from Duluth, GA on November 20th, 2019
Crap Company
I just got of the phone with customer service and i was lie too. So i decided to read some review and the first on i see is someone defending the company and saying everyone else is ignorant and dont understand why the have such an extensive long wait for customer service and how big the company was and we should be more understanding. I read alot more reviews and i see that these people how fun legitimate reason to be upset they are paying money to get shitty service and being lie too. My advice is to avoid any future problem by avoiding this company all together to a company that is more customer friendly and have the resources to address the customers needs in a timely manner.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

From Georgia from Tucker, GA on November 6th, 2017