Reviews for XOOM Energy

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.3 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.9 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Billing issues
Every month the billing department receives my check and deposits it but doesnt credit my account for weeks later.
I receive disconnect letters even though I call customer service and email them copies of my cancelled checks.
I have requested a call from the billing department numerous times only to be told they dont return calls.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RC from Marietta, GA on June 3rd, 2022
Not really a deal at all
I used Infinite Energy until they were bought out. My rate with IE was $0.549 and my rate with Xoom Energy was $0.399. Yet my monthly bills arrived $20-40 more expensive than the corresponding month from IE despite having a lower rate. There must have been some added fees in there. I'm not sure, because the bill is very difficult to understand and the website is awful. I do not recommend Xoom.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DMcW from Marietta, GA on May 5th, 2022
Lost payment
I was approved for LIHEAP this winter, the check ($1000) was sent on 12/13/21 deposited on 1/14/2022 and never credited to my account.A copy of the processed check was emailed to the address they provided but when my casemanagercalled they said it was the wrong one. He has gotten nothing but a runaround after several calls, they can't find the check record in their system, or the acccount even though the previous bills have all been paid. So there is a large sum of money they can not find that came from a federal source, I do not understand why the finance deptartment cannot track it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stolen Funds from Stone Mountain, GA on April 21st, 2022
Offered 50 dollar reward card-never sent it
Offered a 50 dollar reward after 2 mos of paid service. We called customer service twice and promised it twice as an Amazon card. Never received. After multiple tries gave up. So dont change because of any promotion from them. You will not get it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Promotion Gift Card Never Received! from Augusta, GA on October 30th, 2021
I should have listened to the negative reviews
I am a new customer to Xoom. I contacted the company about my first bill I received that was for only 2 service days. Starting 9/1 ending 9/3. They charged me the full AGL base passthrough fee of $28 dollars for only 2 service days. When I inquired why my first bill would only be for 2 days or why they could not prorate/credit my bill they said Sorry. Our system automatically starts new service dates on 1st of each month. Okay no problem, but if they know new service starts on the first why would they have their billing system setup to end statements on the 3rd of each month? This means each new customer gets charged the full AGL passthrough fee for only an initial 2 day service period. Seems like a scam and a rip off too me. They tried to tell me it all had to do with the day the meter was read. Okay fine too, but charging people a full base fee for only a 2 day service bill is unethical at best.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Woodstock, GA on September 14th, 2021
Nightmare when switching to Xoom!
Their system when switching is full of pitfalls and errors. I had to call 4x and finally ask to speak to a supervisor to get my service switched when the upcoming deadline was approaching before my rate with my previous provider went up dramatically. Xoom said they were having technical issues switching customers, and even though the customer service reps were friendly, I might as well have been talking to a tree because nothing ever happened to fix the problem until I escalated. Xoom jeopardized my switchover and potentially was about to cost me major amounts of money. Its one thing to advertise lower pricing, but there must be the technical and service abilities to support customers who want to switch. Very bad experienc.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Atlanta, GA on August 15th, 2021
Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal
First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Winston, GA on July 3rd, 2020
Incredibly bad customer service
I pay my bills on-line and always on-time. Due to a mix-up at their end, they thought I was delinquent, and mailed the disconnect notice to my home address. I was out-of-country, and my house/dog sitter did not open my mail. A e-mail would have reached me easily, but instead my service was shut off. I e-mailed proof of payments, and even sent an extra payment, so I had a credit balance. It still took two weeks to get reconnected. This was during winter, and my home had no heat and no hot water while someone tried to live there. Never again will I use Xoom!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Springer from Villa Rica, GA on June 8th, 2020
Non-disclosed costs!!!
Simply put you are responsible for the distributor fee to whomever provides the gas for Xoom energy. For my family this summer this constitues 300% of the price we pay to Xoom energy for gas + xoom energy service fee. Thats right, 3 times the amount we pay for gas and the xoom service fee combined! This amount was not disclosed within our contract nor on any of the energy provider comparison websites. Call to find out the local distribution fees prior to signing a contract because Xoom energy is not forthright about the amounts you will be charged. The lack of disclosure and transparency is simply bad business!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Augusta, GA on September 7th, 2019
Poor Customer Service
I had an issue accessing the online portal to pay my bill, I reset my password multiple times, receiving the message password was sent to you. Waiting for a few days for it, I never received it, and through trying a few different times over a period of days I incurred a late fee. Upon calling in, Xoom refused to refund my late fee on account of their online portal issue. I spoke with a customer service supervisor who said it didnt matter what was reasonable, they would not refund the credit even though Im a new customer and had diligently attempted to pay my bill. I even told the supervisor I would contact Clark Howards team to let them know to please warn people about this poor customer service as I would not want my family or friends to have this experience and the supervisor advised that did not concern them. Please take this into account Im letting others know of this poor service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chagrined from Roswell, GA on July 1st, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

19 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible enrollment experience
Signed up online. When checking on credit for $150 deposit, failed because of credit freeze(didnt know until I signed up with power company). According to their waiver policy, I submitted my invoices from previous company, sent email about lifting credit freeze, etc.. all I got was an email saying my credit was good but decision for deposit was made and couldnt be changed. Called 3 times . Customer service reps were polite but no help. One girl even told me that their goal was to charge everyone with deposit so my understanding is as long as they find any thing missing at any time, they will do it. Cancelled enrollment and move to another company. Experience was day and night.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jing Shu from Cumming, GA on September 13th, 2022
If I could give 0 starts I would.
This is not a company I would recommend. They do not care about their customers. After my year contract ended, they said I would still be able to use the rewards earned. However, they deactivated my account, and when I called to use them. They said they could not help. I asked to speak with a supervisor and they said that I couldn't. ALL supervisors were in a meeting.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sc from Smyrna, GA on September 12th, 2022
Russ
Tried to switch to Xoom. Had to pay $150 even though credit is 830 and am over 65. Xoom used the deposit for account payment instead of deposit. Got an email stating I switched to Xoom. Two months later I had to call them and was not switched, said my application was now outdated. So now gas has skyrocketed and am stuck looking for another company. Xoom are liars and should not be trusted. Even with an acct number did not get switched. Made three phone calls with no help. No one in authority cares.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Russ from Dawsonville, GA on August 18th, 2022
Beware of this company
So after having a meter put in I decided to go with Zoom Energy and I wish Id never spend the time and money on natural gas heater because I havent used any gas yet being summer and my bills averaging $35 $40 a month without using anything and then I paid them and they never claimed they never got the payment. Youre better off going with propane or electric and staying away from natural gas these companies that are D regulated theres no accountability and theres like 12 surcharges on every bill unbelievable Im sorry I ever invested in this.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt Senter from Ringgold, GA on June 1st, 2022
Incompetent billing
By far the worst and most incompetent utility provider I've ever dealt with. I had my first bill sent to me for 4 days worth of usage (in the summer) for 1 person and it was for $2500. Only hot water and the gas stove uses gas. Ive cooked once and took 4 showers in that time period. I spoken to multiple service reps and also had to contact their provider to get a tech out here to ensure there wasn't a gas leak which there wasn't. Their provider told me that there was an accounting issue which I let the reps know, yet whenever following up 2 different reps told me that they had a special reading done and the amount is correct! $2500 for 4 days of usage?!! How is that even rational. I told them they needed to conduct an audit. Then the next rep told me they see that they combined the reading with the last tenant and my bill should be updated in 3 days. I checked my account again and it still wasn't updated the following week so I called back and spoke to the next rep and the next the next rep said oh we did a special reading and the amount is correct. At that point I lost it and told her this is ridiculous I've spoken to so many reps and wasted so much of my time because of your companies incompetency and so finally she put me on a hold and said she sees the error and she'll be calling me back "after doing more research." This company is absolutely horrible.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Georgia Customer from Duluth, GA on May 24th, 2022
Terrible Customer Service
Everytime I call in, they make me answer a 100 questions about my account so I can verify my identity. Their employees are not competent. They will not fix any issues with billing for example removing a late charge when I paid it as soon as I noticed the issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan from Duluth, GA on March 23rd, 2022
Stay away from this mess!
I started enrollment in December 2021. A Rep, Kora, called me to tell me they only needed the statements from previous provider which I submitted via the web site. Kora told me that in 3 days everything was going to be finalized. Received an e-mail to enroll in autopay. Thought everything was fine. Found out they never completed my enrollment when I received a $600 bill from old provider (my average bill is normally $150 during the winter). They did not take any responsibility for this even after the quality department admitted that someone dropped the ball and did not inform me they had cancelled my account as something went wrong on their end. They only continued pushing me to enroll.
Stay away, they might show appealing rates but they outsource their processes which creates confusion. They are very inconsistent and their customer service is a joke.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jen from Roswell, GA on March 10th, 2022
Bad Customer Service
Bad customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

H. from Acworth, GA on November 8th, 2021
Ambushed With High Rates Without Notice
I was on Auto Bill. My contract expired. Didn't notice. Finally after 5 months I logged onto my account, just to find XOOM had more than doubled my therm rate. I called to see if they would backdate my charges to what I was originally paying. I was basically told tough luck and to suck it up. They had the right to change my rate WITHOUT notice. Of course I did not renew.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

WDF from Atlanta, GA on April 1st, 2021
The worst
The least transparent company Ive eve worked with. They charge you fees and claim they had no idea about it, but also claim lowest rates. When you call to ask about it the manager has no care and says they have no idea of the different rates the theirs parties cost. How do the managers not know what the third parties cost of the company they work for?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Do It from Atlanta, GA on February 22nd, 2021