Reviews for XOOM Energy

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.3 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars.

Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not really a deal at all
I used Infinite Energy until they were bought out. My rate with IE was $0.549 and my rate with Xoom Energy was $0.399. Yet my monthly bills arrived $20-40 more expensive than the corresponding month from IE despite having a lower rate. There must have been some added fees in there. I'm not sure, because the bill is very difficult to understand and the website is awful. I do not recommend Xoom.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DMcW from Marietta, GA on May 5th, 2022
Lost payment
I was approved for LIHEAP this winter, the check ($1000) was sent on 12/13/21 deposited on 1/14/2022 and never credited to my account.A copy of the processed check was emailed to the address they provided but when my casemanagercalled they said it was the wrong one. He has gotten nothing but a runaround after several calls, they can't find the check record in their system, or the acccount even though the previous bills have all been paid. So there is a large sum of money they can not find that came from a federal source, I do not understand why the finance deptartment cannot track it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stolen Funds from Stone Mountain, GA on April 21st, 2022
Offered 50 dollar reward card-never sent it
Offered a 50 dollar reward after 2 mos of paid service. We called customer service twice and promised it twice as an Amazon card. Never received. After multiple tries gave up. So dont change because of any promotion from them. You will not get it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Promotion Gift Card Never Received! from Augusta, GA on October 30th, 2021
I should have listened to the negative reviews
I am a new customer to Xoom. I contacted the company about my first bill I received that was for only 2 service days. Starting 9/1 ending 9/3. They charged me the full AGL base passthrough fee of $28 dollars for only 2 service days. When I inquired why my first bill would only be for 2 days or why they could not prorate/credit my bill they said Sorry. Our system automatically starts new service dates on 1st of each month. Okay no problem, but if they know new service starts on the first why would they have their billing system setup to end statements on the 3rd of each month? This means each new customer gets charged the full AGL passthrough fee for only an initial 2 day service period. Seems like a scam and a rip off too me. They tried to tell me it all had to do with the day the meter was read. Okay fine too, but charging people a full base fee for only a 2 day service bill is unethical at best.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Woodstock, GA on September 14th, 2021
Nightmare when switching to Xoom!
Their system when switching is full of pitfalls and errors. I had to call 4x and finally ask to speak to a supervisor to get my service switched when the upcoming deadline was approaching before my rate with my previous provider went up dramatically. Xoom said they were having technical issues switching customers, and even though the customer service reps were friendly, I might as well have been talking to a tree because nothing ever happened to fix the problem until I escalated. Xoom jeopardized my switchover and potentially was about to cost me major amounts of money. Its one thing to advertise lower pricing, but there must be the technical and service abilities to support customers who want to switch. Very bad experienc.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Atlanta, GA on August 15th, 2021
Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal
First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimmy from Winston, GA on July 3rd, 2020
Incredibly bad customer service
I pay my bills on-line and always on-time. Due to a mix-up at their end, they thought I was delinquent, and mailed the disconnect notice to my home address. I was out-of-country, and my house/dog sitter did not open my mail. A e-mail would have reached me easily, but instead my service was shut off. I e-mailed proof of payments, and even sent an extra payment, so I had a credit balance. It still took two weeks to get reconnected. This was during winter, and my home had no heat and no hot water while someone tried to live there. Never again will I use Xoom!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Springer from Villa Rica, GA on June 8th, 2020
Non-disclosed costs!!!
Simply put you are responsible for the distributor fee to whomever provides the gas for Xoom energy. For my family this summer this constitues 300% of the price we pay to Xoom energy for gas + xoom energy service fee. Thats right, 3 times the amount we pay for gas and the xoom service fee combined! This amount was not disclosed within our contract nor on any of the energy provider comparison websites. Call to find out the local distribution fees prior to signing a contract because Xoom energy is not forthright about the amounts you will be charged. The lack of disclosure and transparency is simply bad business!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CJ from Augusta, GA on September 7th, 2019
Poor Customer Service
I had an issue accessing the online portal to pay my bill, I reset my password multiple times, receiving the message password was sent to you. Waiting for a few days for it, I never received it, and through trying a few different times over a period of days I incurred a late fee. Upon calling in, Xoom refused to refund my late fee on account of their online portal issue. I spoke with a customer service supervisor who said it didnt matter what was reasonable, they would not refund the credit even though Im a new customer and had diligently attempted to pay my bill. I even told the supervisor I would contact Clark Howards team to let them know to please warn people about this poor customer service as I would not want my family or friends to have this experience and the supervisor advised that did not concern them. Please take this into account Im letting others know of this poor service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chagrined from Roswell, GA on July 1st, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Terrible Customer Service
Everytime I call in, they make me answer a 100 questions about my account so I can verify my identity. Their employees are not competent. They will not fix any issues with billing for example removing a late charge when I paid it as soon as I noticed the issue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan from Duluth, GA on March 23rd, 2022
Stay away from this mess!
I started enrollment in December 2021. A Rep, Kora, called me to tell me they only needed the statements from previous provider which I submitted via the web site. Kora told me that in 3 days everything was going to be finalized. Received an e-mail to enroll in autopay. Thought everything was fine. Found out they never completed my enrollment when I received a $600 bill from old provider (my average bill is normally $150 during the winter). They did not take any responsibility for this even after the quality department admitted that someone dropped the ball and did not inform me they had cancelled my account as something went wrong on their end. They only continued pushing me to enroll.
Stay away, they might show appealing rates but they outsource their processes which creates confusion. They are very inconsistent and their customer service is a joke.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jen from Roswell, GA on March 10th, 2022
Bad Customer Service
Bad customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

H. from Acworth, GA on November 8th, 2021
Ambushed With High Rates Without Notice
I was on Auto Bill. My contract expired. Didn't notice. Finally after 5 months I logged onto my account, just to find XOOM had more than doubled my therm rate. I called to see if they would backdate my charges to what I was originally paying. I was basically told tough luck and to suck it up. They had the right to change my rate WITHOUT notice. Of course I did not renew.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

WDF from Atlanta, GA on April 1st, 2021
The worst
The least transparent company Ive eve worked with. They charge you fees and claim they had no idea about it, but also claim lowest rates. When you call to ask about it the manager has no care and says they have no idea of the different rates the theirs parties cost. How do the managers not know what the third parties cost of the company they work for?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Do It from Atlanta, GA on February 22nd, 2021
The worse just like infinite
Theses gas companies are criminals they offer you low rate and once they get you in and you pay regularly they increase the thermal rates and accuse you of over usage when my usage has not change they said because it's cold but I have space heater that are electric. And we don't really use much heat got natured.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jean Hereford from Marietta, GA on February 2nd, 2021
Service never initiated and no follow up
I signed up for a 12 month plan in September. Received confirmation of my order along with notice could take up to 60days to turn over. Followed up and was informed AGL did not take action to turn on Xoom service. Customer service offered I re enroll now at a much higher rate. No assistance or attempt by Xoom to resolve. Cannot recommend this gas service provider---the obviously have systemic issues within CSR department in aquiring new customers. Do not select this company for your gas service!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer Service Failed To Turn On Service from Dawsonville, GA on January 12th, 2021
Improper Disconnect While in Covid Quarantine
I'm a single father of two girls who always pays bills on time. Xoom emailed me a bill on December 3rd which went to my spam folder, so I was behind by $67.54. They disconnected me on December 30th with no notice. After they disconnected, I received two identical bills in the mail showing a past due balance of $67.54. I explained to Xoom that they disconnected with no notice, and during a time when my children and I were in isolation because they were exposed to Covid by another family member. Xoom asked me to prove the covid isolation and I emailed 6 documents from my pediatrician office and the DPH. Xoom said these were insufficient and even after speaking with the president of customer service, they refused to reverse their mistake. Beware--they have no regard for human safety or customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan R from Marietta, GA on December 31st, 2020
Could not answer basic questions
I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

GAGAS from Ball Ground, GA on August 11th, 2020
Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service
Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CK from Marietta, GA on May 15th, 2020



Recommended Suppliers: