All 1 Star Reviews

43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All Georgia Natural Gas Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Can't win
So called before winter to get some type of fixed (I am 70, live off ss income) got plan change best one was told 12 month fixed piece, sure sounds good. and then the base charge on my bill doubles???? no one can explain why service for pipes, run of gas changes every month, base price almost doubled, called them they tell that it is not them that charge that can't help you call other company. other company says sorry we don't do the billing can't help you??? so they can't help, I gave customer service 1 star because I spoke with different people one of them I would give a 4 she tried really hard to help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Double Base Charge Fee from Gainesville, GA on January 26th, 2021
Good morning. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 6087673 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Horrible service and communication
I lost my small business due to the pandemic, and my service was disconnected when I got behind on my bill. I was offered a prepaid plan to get service restored, at 3x normal price-per-therm. The prepaid plan was described as a flat "budget bill-type" monthly amount plus any overage from the previous month, but that's not the case--the prepayment changes every month. I was given a bill credit for the first two bills, but wasn't told about the reconnection fee, which wasn't charged until the third bill. Now I've been disconnected again even though I paid half the amount due, and there was no notice about the disconnection. I was out of town, arrived home late on a Friday night to a cold house and can't get reconnected for 4 days. (And I'd paid the second half of the past-due bill the day after the disconnection.) At least this time, I was told about the $60 reconnection fee. I had a perfect payment record with GNG for 8 years prior to the pandemic and I'm appalled at their lack of flexibility and horrible communication. I'm currently searching for another gas marketer to try to schedule a switch before the reconnection appointment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie from Decatur, GA on January 23rd, 2021
Good morning. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 6063873 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
CROOKS
I used GNG when I lived in an apartment in Brookhaven... 5 months ago. Today I received a phone call from a bill collection agency stating that I owe them $273 for my last month of service at a studio apartment I was at for a total of THREE DAYS!!!! I asked why I was not called and why I was being charged such a ludicrous amount and the customer service representative wouldnt tell me why but only where she could send the bill to. I asked if my phone number was on file and why I wasnt contacted before this point, no answer, naturally. Horrible, sorry company. As soon as I get my final bill, I plan to pursue legal action against these shifty crooks. 100% against recommending this lazy company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unsatisfied And Swindled Customer from Atlanta, GA on January 19th, 2021
We have been in contact with the customer to discuss and resolve their concerns.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Avoid at All Costs!
Georgia Natural Gas is a terrible company that redefines words in their contracts to change their common meaning!

"Effective date" has nothing to do with the rate which may take 1-2 billing cycles to be "reflected" by which they mean to actually start. They will not adjust the interim charges to "reflect" the "effective date" like any normal company.

Instead of changing to a better rate, walk don't run to a competitor as they will switch you over to the new rate much, much, more quickly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Atlanta, GA on January 4th, 2021
Our company has made repeated attempts to reach out to this customer and has requested that they contact us back to discuss their concerns. To date we have not received a reply, but would be happy to review the situation with them and work towards resolution.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Archaic website and faulty system that overcharges if you don't pay attenion
1. The website is as glitchy and non-functional as it could get. Could save a lot if you just take the site down, or at the very least make it accessible! But I guess it makes sense why GNG does not want you to log-in to your site, as they can overcharge you per therm and you would never find out if you are not able to login to review the bill.
2. Regarding the overcharge - signed up for $0.307 per therm (fixed rate - 12mo) and just found out that they been charging me $0.499 per therm all year! Again, shows on the bill, which you need to access your account on the website to find out. Every time I tried to check the account, it would not go forward from the log-in screen and then lock the account for 10 minutes at a time. Finally had to call customer service and have them reset the PW and grant me access.
3. Signing up, again thanks to to the "state of the art website" as their call waiting recording falsely claims, the "state of the art" system seems to have created two accounts for the same house while trying to sign-up. Took over an entire week to get that sorted! How are people still signing up with this company is beyond me!
4. If the customer is slightly at fault, the price per them can jump over a dollar or get hit with penalties and ALL kinds of additional
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer That Got Ripped Off from Smyrna, GA on December 29th, 2020
Good morning. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case# 6004495 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Absolute worse company ever .
Gng is the absolute worse company Ive ever delt with . No other bills have I ever had problems with . Always on time no matter what . Right off from the start setting up with gng the representatives already told me different things repeatability. I just went with it because where I live this is the only available gas company that reaches in my area . The only thing that is connected to gas is my heat everything else is electric . Some how months before even touching my gas I was already getting charged for usage. This month is the first month Ive used the heat and with that being said its way over priced if Im already being charged for nothing . My bill was due on the 9th and due to them never being able to tell me when it is I was 2 days late , the first time I have EVER been late on anything like this . I called to pay my bill and of course payed my late fee which was 87$ ... as well as went ahead and signed up for auto pay to make sure I didnt miss it . I even had an email sent to my phone showing I signed up for auto pay that same day, had my card number taken and the lady took my payment with a thank you so much ms hazelrigs have a great day. Fast forward 2 weeks later and I get on my gng app and it says I owe A WHOPPING 208$ + 55 dollars for usage just within 2 weeks . In distraught and disbelieve I call them and the lady stresses to me that all she sees is the payment I made 1 month ago and kept repeating thats all she sees like a smart elec. when I expressed my concern that my card number was given to one of there representatives and I was told my payment went through but did not she kept repeating herself and said she didnt even see where I started my auto pay .
THEN of course , it never fails I get disconnected or hung up on and had to go through the automotive system and wait time all over .
After about an hour of craziness I get on the phone with a gentleman that confirms and sees where I did in fact start auto pay so I ask him does he see where I made my 87 $ payment . He tells me no and at this time Im completely upset and ready to proceed with setting up an appointment to disconnect my gas . I rather freeze then have to deal with them any longer and scam me . The man tells me he can wave the 200$ which I assumed that meant he would get rid of it due to an error of me not getting notified about another payment supposedly honestly making it up as he was going along. When its all said and done he throws in a couple more things and all the sudden he cant fix it and wont after getting my hopes up he could .
I DO NOT RECOMMEND . Ive spread the word to all my family members as well as close friends including my friend that was with me that heard me make the payment that day and they are positive they will never be joining gng.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do Better Please from Carrollton, GA on November 23rd, 2020
Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5921065 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Horrible Service
We have been a GA Natural Gas customer for 2 years. We had been set up as an automatic bill payer for the entire duration of our service. For a reason that GA is unable to discern (not a rejected pmt, expired card, etc.) the payments stopped processing. This was an error on GNG not us. They claimed they sent ONE letter to us about disconnecting (which we never got) and called one time- but were unable to identify what number they called and did not leave a VM. No email communication was sent. They cut off our service on a night that the temp dropped to 32 degrees. We have a small infant and with no notice had to find a way to heat his room and also were unable to bathe him or cook dinner. They can't get anyone out until 4-8pm the following day. This is ridiculous during a pandemic where we are unable to work in an office or even shower/stay at a friends house due to quarantine. This is not how you treat customers. Completely unacceptable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hailey from Smyrna, GA on November 18th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5910207 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
Shut off without warning
We were late in paying our bill by 5 days and we had our gas shut off without any warning. They claimed that a letter was sent in the mail with a warning but we never received it. I called them about turning the gas back on after we paid the bill in full and was informed that the next possible date on their schedule was 5 days away. I told her it would be really nice if we could have it sooner since we didn't have any warning prior to shut off and she put me on hold for 20 minutes. My wife called back later and discovered that we did not have an appointment at all and that there were no notes in the system. The Georgia gaslight company had not even received a request to turn the gas back on. It was like I had not made the call at all! This service person took my call and PRETENDED to schedule a turn on for me with the intent that I would wait 5 days and then have to actually schedule an appointment. All the while I would be without a way to cook food or heat water. As a matter of policy they never make an appoint on the same day that you call.

The bottom line is DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY if you have any possible chance of using a different one.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beware! from Atlanta, GA on November 6th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5887117 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
AVOID THIS COMPANY
There billing system is completely flawed. It will not tell you the actual amount due when you pay your bill through their system. Then they say the total difference is past due and charge a $10 late fee along with shutting your gas off. After an hour on the phone nothing was resolved. I pay all my bills at the same time and this is the only company I have issue with. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! The system literally hides what you owe, the automated system says one number, your actual bill says another and if you call and talk to someone they give you another completely different total. WTH IS WRONG WITH THIS COMPANY!! Im in the top 3% of earners in the nation, it was never a money issue. JB
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Acworth, GA on October 22nd, 2020
Good afternoon. We are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case#5850554 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss the situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas
This company just wants to get you money
When you close the fix rate% 4.99 ended with $1.29 rate when you call for complain about the bill you have to stay on line for 25 minutes with them the end they are said we fix that and give $25 return for next month and 2 more months they charge you for $1.29, the time winter is finished.sorry about this company. they wants all your money they know people demanded to the gas for heating system in winter time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shahnaz.sheibani from Augusta, GA on September 4th, 2020
Good morning, we are concerned about your negative experience. Please email us at customerservice@gng.com with the GGS Case # 5738495 in the subject line. Please provide your contact information so we can reach out to you to discuss this situation.
— Georgia Natural Gas


All Georgia Natural Gas Natural Gas Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Popular Brand
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.479 / therm
  • Save with discounted rate
  • Up to $150 exit fees credited
  • 2 Month Intro Rate
    2 month
    Intro Rate
    $0.299 / therm
  • Save with discounted rate
  • No Service Charge for 2 months
  • 6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.479 / therm
  • Save with discounted rate
  • Up to $150 exit fees credited
  • Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    $1.569 / therm
  • One time $30 welcome credit
  • Save on Discounted rate
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    Pay the same monthly bill amount, regardless of the weather
  • Up to $150 exit fees credited
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.479 / therm
  • Save with discounted rate
  • Up to $150 exit fees credited
  • 18 Month Fixed Rate
    18 month
    Fixed Rate
    $0.479 / therm
  • Save with discounted rate
  • Up to $150 exit fees credited
  • Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    $1.159 / therm
  • Save on Discounted Rate
  • Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    $1.159 / therm
  • Save on Discounted Rate